Skip to content

weird day…

December 30, 2006
by

So I practically watched someone killed today on nearly every channel that exists on television. Saddam Hussein – killed today.. I don’t know what my thoughts are on this except that it can’t really be a bad thing that he’s dead, I understand why it had to be filmed but I kind of feel weird for watching it.

Did I watch it because I wanted to know if I definitely believed he was dead or did I watch it because I WANTED to see someone hanged..? I don’t mean in a psycho way but you know the curiosity that’s there when you know there’s something you want to look at but you don’t want to see anything that you wish you hadn’t. I can’t explain any more than that really.

Anyway – do I feel better for watching it… no. Do I wish he had been spared.. no not really. For a guy that caused the death of thousands of people, I don’t wish he was still alive, I perhaps just wish they hadn’t felt the need to kill him. Is it just me or did life in a cell till you die seem worse than being put to death..? 😐

Look at me being all topical. The final thing I think is really weird is that our kids will learn about today in history lessons 15yrs from now. Eek. I can remember thinking that it was weird that anyone could have been alive in the 1stWW – and how laborious to have to learn the dates of things. They’re gonna be like ‘we have to learn the date Saddam was killed. Who was Saddam?’ Strange 😯

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2006 8:53 pm

    Trouble is, i’m having the sneaking suspicion that the people of the country bred the ruler. I mean, what a bunch of mayhem inducing nutters they all are 😦 And we are just as bad now; i hate the implied sanctimony of some of the newsreaders/politicians.

    I didn’t watch, i don’t know why but it just seemed icky really. It seems so sad that the apparent bright promise of the day they pulled his statue down has ended like this.

    Remember my student not knowing about the berlin wall…. only Fran out of all of mine will remember SH at all. Bizarre.

  2. December 30, 2006 9:43 pm

    yes it v odd. I also hated the news broadcasts but couldn’t not watch, Having said that – not a news addict. Only watched it once and then saw glimpses during the day. It was icky. And.. I think – no matter how tyrant-y the tyrant, he still looked broken and scared. I don’t think that should make anyone feel big or clever. But then – he didn’t murder my family. I don’t know. ALL very debatable .. 😐

  3. January 1, 2007 6:16 pm

    I think the Fox Network might have a tv series of weekly executions if the ratings are high enough for Sadaams.

  4. January 1, 2007 10:06 pm

    That’s pretty funny!! Tune in next week for Spongebob Squarepants! (Couldn’t think of anyone else on the spur).. I want to leave comments on yours sometimes btw but do you have to have an account on your provider ..?

Leave a Reply

