Skip to content

So, do we just get wee everywhere or what then?? lol

January 6, 2007
by

It’s been a back to normal day today. Rowan asked to do her letters today for the first time in ages. Christmas & G&G’s kind of removed them from her mind I think. Not that I mind – she is only just 2 afterall.. all at her pace at the moment.
We started little letters today – or I should say daddy and Rowan started little letters today. She knows all of her alphabet all by name and most phonetically as well. Speaking with a primary teacher over Christmas I understand that it’s beneficial for them to know the sounds as well as the names for an easier start at reading at school (this is usually how it’s taught apparently) so we are starting on that with the little letters in a slightly more structured way. She’s desperate to learn and asks to do them over and over all the time so it’s just up to her at the moment to show us what she wants to do and when. I’ve bought her a colour poster for her room with numbers and colours (just for when she wakes up in the morning really before we let her loose!).

She can count easily up to 6 and can read up to 12 so we’ve started on shapes and colours and we got some well placed christmas presents to help with that. She coming on leaps and bounds each day and is putting more and more words togther with every step. She added ‘don’t’ to ‘want it’ today making herself verbally clearer (she’s always shaken her head with this so we knew what she meant)… obviously Rowan being Rowan it had to be something centred around the ‘no’ option.. but hey.. development’s development 🙄

Ella still isn’t doing much physically (apart from growing!! 😆 we got out the 9-12 month clothes today and she’s 5 months next week!! 😮 )
We really thought she would roll over really early (or should I say earlier than Rowan did which was 5 months) – and in fact the HVs did too because of her weight – (digression – I do like my actual HV but her assistant has never done much to enamour herself to me – pointedly holding her hand over Ella on the change table at 12 weeks old and saying that bigger babies roll early and I should be careful before I walked away from her didn’t do much to further her standing! I did point out then she wasn’t showing any interest in anything other than her own hands but apparently I shouldn’t go on what happened with my first child because they’re all differnent – oh really! I’m shocked. There was me thinking they were all the same.) .. so although Ella’s showing signs of being interested in what’s behind her she still really hasn’t done anything positive about getting it!

I wonder if this will be Ella – she’s already very capable of shouting for what she wants so is moving really necessary..? – she doesn’t cry for a bottle anymore she grunts and straightens her arms and goes red in the face whilst shooting you the evilist looks!!! “Feed me – feed me now or feel the wrath of Ella!’ It’s amusing to say the least.. or at least it is now we’ve figured out what she means.. it’s not long before it turns into a scream 😀

The only other addition to the family days is Rowan’s toilet training. We’ve been out to buy bedmats today as Rowan’s new favourite pastime is taking her nappy off in bed and weeing everywhere. JOY! 🙄

We were very much in the way of thinking – we’ll let her take the lead in terms of toilet use. She wanted to sit on it ages ago so we got her a little padded loo seat (bless) and she sits on it every night before her bath but it’s very hit and miss (not literally 😀 ). If anyone has any suggestions about this I’m very open minded about what works and what doesn’t. We have no idea really where to start. Her language isn’t quite far enough to explain it to her. If we talk about weeing and wotnot in the loo she just says yes to everything. She is starting to say when she needs a wee but sometimes I think it’s just that she’s already done one so we end up going to the toilet for no reason… hmm ..

So.. do we get rid of nappies in the day and get wee everywhere while we learn or what..?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2007 1:44 pm

    Oh my god. You are making me feel REALLY inadequate!

    I’m going over to my blog to tell people to come and look so they can feel inadequate too!

  2. January 8, 2007 2:02 pm

    er why? because we have wee everywhere??!?

  3. January 8, 2007 7:55 pm

    Letters, numbers, phonics… potty training! ARGH!

  4. January 8, 2007 8:09 pm

    aaahhhhh… trust me – it’s ALL we do and by that I mean *all* not all as in we live for it!! 🙂

  5. January 8, 2007 8:09 pm

    anyway – I read your site !!! You never stop!! SO stop!

  6. January 17, 2007 4:47 am

    Oh my gosh! I so feel your pain! My twins are potty training right now. Ug! But for at least a year I’ve had to put them in one piece outfits that they can’t take off. Otherwise they strip down and run naked. One night I forgot to put a onesie under their pajamas. We found a pile of poo in their toy microwave oven. I have pictures and all on my blog…back in October I think. Good times. 😀

Trackbacks

  1. Just to make sure i manage to make someone feel inadequate …. | Home Educating the Puddle Chicks.

Leave a Reply

