Skip to content

Sleep sleep sleep

January 31, 2007
by

Things are going well at work now – no forseeable problems or issues at the moment.

So I move onto my problems. Ella is a great sleeper. Brilliant in fact. Compared to Rowan who would not sleep on her own until she was probably 12weeks old and then used to fall asleep on us and get put down asleep.

Ella has got to sleep on her own pretty much from the beginning. I remember Big and I looking at her as she was a few days old, lying on her basket and happy in her own skin until she’d fall asleep after maybe ten minutes. As she got older and a routine began to emerge I practically gave up every single evening of my maternity leave (it felt like) sitting upstairs with her and teaching her to get to sleep on her own, properly.

I call it properly because I mean, not so knackered that she would fall unconscious, but taking her up when I knew she was tired enough to sleep and leaving her babbling (tiny reassuring cuddles if she actully got upset which wasn’t often to be honest) and over the course of a month’s really hard work – she got to the point where she almost seemed to trust me that she was tired and after a couple of minutes she would just give in and fall to sleep. πŸ™‚

It was great. By three months she was sleeping 11 till 7 every night and we could not believe our luck. Seriously. There was no bragging or gloating from this house. We were just grateful for the sleep.

When you’ve had a baby like Rowan – trust me – you’re grateful for a baby that sleeps at all.

So where is it all going wrong? πŸ˜•

To be fair – not much is going wrong except that she seems to be revolting against her own routine.

Normal day vs Ella’s new day

7.15 : Ella wakes up and feeds up for an hour then sleep for an hour
5.30 : Ella wakes up and feeds
11.30 – midday : Milk plus some fruit puree, baby rice then long sleep somewhere between end of feed and 2.30 top up
10.30 – 11 : Milk plus some fruit puree, baby rice no discernible long sleep most days but still appears occasionally.
2.30 : Milk
2 – 2.30 : Milk then short sleep somewhere between 4 – 5.30
5.30 ish : Milk plus baby rice
6pm : Sleep!!!?? Where did that come from?
6.30 – 7.30pm : Milk plus baby rice
9.30 ish : Milk feed top up (she was down to 4-6 oz)
8.15 ish : Milk top up (now back up to 8oz and only sleeping through till 5.30ish)

Now clearly I can see where the problems are – but I don’t know how to fix it. Don’t let her sleep at 6 you shout … but have you ever tried to stop a baby from sleeping if they really want to – it would be like trying to hold a balloon full of water with chopstix!!

Impossible. When they are actually fallling unconscious with tiredness and their head is resting on their own shoulder.

You cannot keep them awake if they’re knackered. I’m sorry you just can’t. And if by some miracle you manage it – you just try feeding that pissed off baby with anything but milk and you say ‘How d’ya do’ and shake hands with a screaming baby that has gone beyond any kind of cuddle. It’s a whole new can o’ worms there.

I need advice. She can get to sleep on her own. I’m not having any issues there. I’m having issues with a baby that wakes up at 5.30 and that I can’t leave to scream because I have a 2 yr old 12ft away who I want to stay asleep until 7.30.

We know she can do it. She has slept from 7 till 7 with a dream feed at 10 no problem. She has slept from 10 till 7 when she’s been awake in the evening.

Any suggestions?

Anybody?

Friends I have met already and lurkers, come out of lurkdom if you’re there and share your wisdom. Teach me and tell me how you did it.

Because we. are. stumped. πŸ™‚

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Mrs HoJo permalink
    February 1, 2007 12:52 am

    um.. I’m assuming my last comment was teaching you to suck eggs then ;o) so will ponder this properly and give you my soberest (is that a word) attention tomorrow.

    Something to look forward to then

    xc

  2. Mrs HoJo permalink
    February 1, 2007 12:54 am

    how long has she been going with her new routine, roughly?

    xc

  3. February 1, 2007 6:38 pm

    no not at all!! any advice is always welcome! I think I must have been writing as you were commenting!
    I do look forward to your advice – she’s been doing this new routine for about a week and a half…

  4. February 1, 2007 9:03 pm

    I don’t even believe you.

    πŸ˜‰

  5. February 1, 2007 9:13 pm

    Flawed – what do you mean…?

  6. Mrs HoJo permalink
    February 1, 2007 9:39 pm

    Good news then, A week and a half is not long enough to get her into a real habit, if you had been on holiday and wanted her to stay up late and sleep in, for example, you would go back to your preferred routine at home.

    It looks to me like Ella has got into the habit of sleeping for a short while and wanting to go through the whole routine of milk/food/sleep again when it is possible that during the day she may need to either re-settle without feeding.

    Is she ravenous at 5.30 am or is she being wolen up by a noise outside and is not managing to settle herself, in which case if it was me I would take her as far away from Rowan as possible and tuck her in, in a dark room, as though it was the usual thing to do. If she even lasts 15-20 mins then she is learning to fit in with you again. And she hasn’t woken Rowan which is just as important.

    If she is hungry I would do a boring feed, dark room, not talk to her at all, nothing to stimulate her, then pop her back as soon as you can, if she is fed and clean, leave her there for as long as you can or until she would usually get up, then open curtains and chat and play and wake her up with fun. The little monkeys soon learn when we will entertain them and when we are dull and not worth waking for. Hopefully.

    At around 10am, if possible, I would do something that wears her out. Swings, push round the park, play date, whatever works for you, then a meal like she used to have at 11.30 so hopefully she will sleep and have milk at 2.30 ish again.

    At 4 pm I would put her down for a short nap whether she wants to or not, even if she isn’t down for long, it is getting her into the habit again, dark room, routine you usually follow for a nap. Then I would try to follow her old routine for milk and rice, with milk at the end of her day.

    This all starts again in the morning again until gradually she settles again.
    It just seems (to me :o)) that perhaps her afternoon is quite long without sleep so maybe she collapses around 6 and messes up her nights sleep?

    Only guess work obviously, so ignore me totally if you like ;o)

    xc

  7. July 31, 2009 9:53 pm

    just re-read this because I have a friend whose 5 month old has started waking up really early after sleeping through… and this made me smile πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

