Skip to content

Well, really!!

February 13, 2007
by

Part of my job is sales. Sales calls. Cold sales calls.

Now … I can already hear the collective groan so contain ya’selves.. 😉

I’m not that bad. We’re business to business sales calls, I’m not pushy and I don’t badger people.

Part of the sales routine that I follow is (on the first call) just to introduce myself and ask for the name of the person that deals with what I’m interested in so I can send them something in the post.

Simple.

You’d think most people would be unreceptive – but actually they’re not. Most potential clients do recognise the service I’m offering as something they are using from someone else or are interested in using in the future and are happy to receive information. Usually people will see me for an appointment (which is where the real sales goes on).

I’m good at my job, I’ve been doing it a long time and I don’t approach people that I know won’t be interested for a start.

Secondly – I’m not a mindless sales robot so I don’t push on when the recipient of the call is clearly not interested (I hate that too!) and because our marketing and research is generally effective – I’m never usually going to call someone more than once who doesn’t want to be called.

However – I do have to do the marketing and research calls first. This involves 3 – 4 questions and usually takes about a minute. Tops.

Today’s call.

“May I take the name of the person who deals with your recruitment?”

A name is given or this is where they say no-one really does it – or they recognise what I’m calling about and they’ll say they don’t use / not interested whatever. I’ll go.
I’ve got too many to do to waste my time to be honest.

So.

‘No one really does it’ says Beasty McWitch

‘OK no problem – I’d like to send something in the post just outlining our service, shall I leave it blank or is there someone *you* think may be appropriate, your MD for example?’

‘You can send it to me’

‘OK – thank you, may I take your name please?’

‘I’m not giving you my name’

I start to respond.
Hangs up phone. As I’m speaking.

Nice. 😯

Not necessary really and left me feeling royally annoyed. It’s only my job and I *know* I’m not horrible. I always ask if people have time to talk and she had said YES!! They are a joinery company and I’d love to name and shame her but I won’t. Cos I’m too nice.

So I called back to say – you know – you said I could send you a leaflet – I kinda need your name for that (Not because I actually want to send her anything now but more because I really wanted the opportunity to point out I was actually only following her lead in the call).

I would never normally stoop to this level but she got my back up – it was the end of the day and I wanted to get my own back! 🙄

But she won.

I called back – started to talk. She put the phone down on me.

Defeated. 😐

Now this company is a joinery company. I checked out their website and they make bespoke staircases. The little imp in me would love to call and say that I want to order 40 staircases and then get through to the MD and tell him he won’t get the business cos she put the phone down on my sister the day before!!

Childish I know – but part of me wishes I had the guts to do it – just for the crack!! 😆

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2007 9:16 pm

    Ooooh, shall i do it?

  2. February 13, 2007 9:31 pm

    would be fun wouldn’t it!!! 😉

  3. February 13, 2007 9:56 pm

    Could do….

    I got a map too now 😉

  4. February 13, 2007 10:28 pm

    good fun huh? 🙂

  5. February 13, 2007 11:31 pm

    I can’t believe how rude some people are!

    Merry didn’t mention you were in b2b sales, fancy a bit of work on the side for my other business? 🙂

  6. Mrs HoJo permalink
    February 14, 2007 12:33 am

    The meanie in me would google the name of the md and offer to provide a replacement to answer the phone nicely as the current Ms McWitch failed to abysmally.

    But then i would provaricate about the mad harridan trying to earn a living blah blah

    personally I always politely inform the nice man/lady that wants to give me a free mobile/enema/lobotomy that I am going to hang up as I don’t take cold calls, then it is a race to see who hangs up first. Usually I lose

    xc

  7. February 14, 2007 1:16 pm

    Some people just need someone to take their cr*p out on, right? Geez.

  8. February 14, 2007 8:07 pm

    Claire – if you have a job for me then drop me a line and I’ll send you a price list 😉

    lol

  9. February 14, 2007 8:16 pm

    Greer, talk to Claire 🙂

Leave a Reply

