Skip to content

Smoking in public places.. yes?… or no..?

February 18, 2007
by

After reading Jenny’s post about smoking in public places in America, I left a comment. But even halfway through my marathon comment I realised that I would have to write a post about it.

Smoking kills? Does it not? Smoking is also very bad for us even if it does not kill us. Right?

Lung cancer. Throat cancer. Mouth cancer. Low fertility. Bad skin, hair, teeth. Etc.

Smoking has suffered a reduction in venues lately and now is not only banned in a variety of states in America but also now in Scotland and more I would think. This is a spur of the moment post, not a researched one so feel free to correct me if you feel inclined to do so.

So. Smoking is a killer. Smoking even kills those around us who do not smoke. It kills our children, cot death and associated cancers. It can even attack them before they are born, premature labour, low birth weights etc. and yet we have people complaining that they can’t do it around others.

‘I don’t just want to kill myself, I want to harm others too, please!’

Sure. Freedom. Choice. Freedom of choice. Smoke if you want to. Kill your own family if you choose. Watch your skin wrinkle and turn to leather and see those beautiful bags develop around your eyes while your mouth puckers into a cat’s bum.

Beautiful.

But don’t kill me. Don’t kill my kids.

If you’re that desperate to have a fag that you can’t even go an evening without one then as I said at Jenny’s, stay at home, use your oven, cook your own meal, get a bottle of wine and invite some friends round that want to die too.

Smoking and non-smoking divides in restaurants are such a load of shit. BN and I went out for a meal not so long ago and spent an hour in the local pub before we got a call home to a screaming baby (bummer) and after 60 minutes or so in a ‘non-smoking’ area, we stank.

Absolutley stank.

I don’t even smoke and I could probably have given a smoker a hit from breathing in the air through my left sleeve.

So I say ‘YAY’ to no more smoking in public places.

Freedom of choice?

Bollocks to you. It’s your choice to do it in the first place. That is your choice.

Will it really be that inconvenient to do it in your own home?

Besides – when you’re on oxygen and you can barely walk or breathe, your home is the only place you’ll be able to do it anyway .. so you may as well get used to it!

🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2007 5:02 pm

    rofl… i think you should qualify this by saying you are an ex-smoker, my love 😉

  2. February 18, 2007 5:16 pm

    well I *was* saving that part!! 🙂

  3. Mrs HoJo permalink
    February 18, 2007 7:59 pm

    All pubs etc have to go no Smoking as of 1st July this year. Which will be lovely for us.
    If the government really cared about protecting us from passive smoking it would ban it all together, or restrist it to licenced areas. This would bugger up the tax system so…… all the smokers will stay at home and poison their kids instead. Lovely!

    xc

  4. February 18, 2007 8:13 pm

    LOL, very well put!

  5. February 18, 2007 11:28 pm

    Totally with you on this one. I hate, hate, hate smoke – ugh. It was bliss spending 3 weeks in America – no smoking in the Malls, no smoking in the Disney parks (except in minute, hard to find designated area)and best of all no smoking in ANY of the restaurants we ate in!

Leave a Reply

