Skip to content

Fab day today

February 21, 2007
by

Ahh… fab day.

Work went well.. all going swimmingly there and got home to see Rowan in a great mood and Ella really tired – she was in bed by 7.15 which is not much earlier than normal but still .. after a long day at work I only feel a little bad to say it was nice to put her down that bit earlier and spend some proper time with Rowan.

Sat eating a family tea and was able to pay 100% attention to Rowan rather than having to occupy Ella as we ate.

It was good. 🙂

Where’s the catch?

Well.

The only slight drawback is that Ella is still waking up early hours of the morning and needing attention and assistance to get back to sleep. Weird because after tea, bath, bottle she gets put to bed and goes to sleep alone with no issue.

She’s not hungry, we’re not feeding her at 4am and she’ll go back to sleep if she’s cuddled – usually after about 40 minutes.
She never really cries so much as that if I try to put her down – she implies that would end up with crying and because it’s 4-5am and Rowan is asleep in the next room, I am slightly restricted in how loud I can let her get!!

Plus there’s that whole thing of ‘if I cuddle her she goes to sleep quicker than if I don’t’. I have weaned myself off just picking her up and taking her to bed. She’s asleep in seconds (which is great because I’m knackered!) then but invariably I can’t stay awake and then I end up putting her back to bed about an hour later when I ‘come-to’ with loss of feeling in my right arm!!!

This would be fine except I get the impression she started to wake up ready for the bed cuddle with me. And clearly, that’s just not the objective!

Well, not as far as I’m concerned anyway! 🙄

So that’s stopped. Two nights ago, I just cuddled her on the edge of the bed, and last night she didn’t wake till 5am which is over an hour later than the pattern of the last week and was asleep by 5.40. I like to think this is because I was stricter on how I dealt with her.

I can’t see that anything I’m doing is actually getting any results. It seems I can influence it slightly but it never actually manages to get her to sleep through till 7.

Frustrating because I know she can do it. If she doesn’t sleep through till 7 (which she *does* do about twice a week) then when she’s gone back to sleep, she never wakes up till 8ish. Even then she tends not to want food for half an hour or so.

Definitely not hungry.

So.

Again.

Any suggestions?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2007 10:48 pm

    I have got a 3 year old and a 2 year old, 3 year old was a nightmare sleeping but ok now (ish) 2 year old kicks me and partner out of respective beds (ours and hers) sometimes she ok sometimes she not!! Onlookers say be strict e,t,c but when its continual you just wanna have sleep so often we do play to her COMMANDS! btw I read her a story 10pm , all peaceful @ 10.45.

  2. February 22, 2007 1:02 am

    Nutty – since I can’t find an e-mail address, I’m writing here…

    I can’t figure out what “Shreddies” are in the U.S. – Is it “Shredded Wheat”? (My friend Maff near Manchester makes fun of U.S. breakfast cereal names because they are all so literal.

    Seriously, make sure I get it right because I am going to suck down a whole box the first day I get this figured out.

    Best,
    OTJ

  3. Mrs HoJo permalink
    February 22, 2007 5:49 pm

    Trouble is it takes time, sounds like you are doing everything right, it just needs lots of rather dull repetition and patience, which after all these years I have rather less of! Last time our eldest was sick in the night he got dumped in the lounge with a bucket, slept on the sofa and i went back to sleep having dumped his sheet in the bath! Poor chap, still he got better soon!

    xc

  4. February 22, 2007 5:58 pm

    OTJ – I’m gonna do a post on ww for you – bare with me whilst I take some photos 🙂

  5. February 22, 2007 5:59 pm

    as for sleep … just got home and I feel like I could fall unconscious…

Leave a Reply

