Skip to content

Pretentious…. moi?

February 24, 2007
by

πŸ™‚

Was that Only Fools or Fawlty Towers I can’t remember..

Ya know, pretentious means to be affected or false in order to impress …. so when I came across this blog and saw the comments my innocent little meme had provoked, I was a little confused….

… and yes… never one to shy away from a direct (or indirect) confrontation.. I had to retaliate..

I can’t really see where in my words I created that impression. (Or why the interest to be honest… I’m like totally flattered dudes!!! πŸ™‚ )

So.

Background on the meme.

It was a bit of fun and derived from a conversation in a pub once (about 6 years ago I think) where that was the *exact* wording we used…

We were a little tipsy and it was good fun.

It held good memories for me. So I recreated it – in it’s entirety.

“…..Which is, I think you’ll agree, a question as potentially disturbing as it is difficult. Why can’t I listen to music again? Who says? Why? So I’m not going deaf or dying? Well, what is it, then? Why can’t I listen to music ever again? I don’t get it.”

You know I don’t know why you can’t listen to music anymore. Who really cares? Desert Island? Loss of stereo for all I care. If we were dying (we agreed) with time only for three more songs… there would surely be more important things to do than listen to music, or try and figure out three songs at least. If we were going deaf… that would be depressing.. so it wasn’t anything that yawn.

It wasn’t supposed to be depressing. We couldn’t think of a reason, OK? Geez.

It was just a question. Fatman was right. If it was just your three favourite pieces of music, it would be easy. Well easier. It wasn’t supposed to be easy. That wasn’t the point.

It’s a meme. It is pointless.

That’s the point.

OK.. okaaaaay… sorry…… maybe I should have said… ‘Some years ago, when slightly drunk, some friends and I came up with this rambling question with imperfect scene setting….’.

But thanks for the dissection anyway.. I’ll be more careful in future not to be so fake.

You know, I think it’s easy not to get the question if you don’t want to. Call it obtuse if you like. I wouldn’t be so bold. I’m quite harmless and I’m quite fun and I enjoy harmless fun. So sue me.

I remember a few years ago, a really lovely summery day and me and my entire family were sat in my parents back garden.

Recently on the BBC, they had broadcast a program (Nick Knowles I [sadly] seem to recall) about personality type. The theme was there were a finite number of personalities that every person would fit into and that they could determine your type if you took part in an online questionnaire.

It was good fun & it was harmless and not particularly time consuming. So, I took part (I’m curious about such things) and I was a Go-Getter – I remember… distinctly funny because I’m really not!

Sitting around this sunny afternoon in my folks back garden, it came up in conversation and most of us had a go.

It came to my dad’s turn. He’d not been there the whole time, granted, and had to be filled in on the reason for the questionnaire.

Well.

The dark mist came down.

He kind of clouded over and his evil X-Men alter ego took control. He was obtuseness personified.

Qu.
When you put together flat pack furniture would you be the type of person to:
a) read the instructions from cover to cover before you even unpack the box
b) have a go and resort to instructions if necessary
c) never touch instructions and plough through until you get it right?

There were more options than this, more questions than this etc. but I can’t remember them now and that’s really not the point anyway…

Dad was like, ‘well I never do flat pack furniture’.

‘Dad, it’s the idea of the question, not the actual question itself. Replace flat pack with something relevant to you. It could be anything that uses instructions that you could either decide to use or not…’

‘Well I don’t really build things, so how would I know?’

And so it went on. Give me strength.

I mean really. It’s embarrassing. I felt embarrassed on his behalf.

It’s a quiz. A questionnaire. A bit of fun. Is it so hard to take part?

If you don’t like to take part in such things and/or don’t find them fun or mildly entertaining, then where’s the point in being polite enough to take part if you’re not polite enough to humour it..

The whole point of hypothetical is that it’s hy-po-thetical.

It’s not really happening. Hello..? Can you get that?

I could explain hypothetical if you wish. Would that help?

I think meme’s can be fun – but having said that – I certainly haven’t done every one that I’ve been tagged with! Because some of them are crap.
So fair dos to you.. anyone that doesn’t want to do one. It is not a totalitarian regime where memes are mandatory.

But just don’t call me names.. because it’s pretty unnecessary..

Now … does anybody need me to explain obtuse?
πŸ˜‰

Since writing this post – the ‘pretentious’ comment has been retracted – fair enough πŸ™‚ . But the post itself is still pretty obtuse in it’s humour – and I like my rant – so it’s staying πŸ™‚

15 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2007 5:24 pm

    This post is filed under ‘fuckwits’ then, is it? I’m assuming that’s me. Me who didn’t – I don’t think, call you or anyone else any names. I’m assuming that because I found I couldn’t answer a question that was passed on to me as a meme – I was trying to be polite and nice and not just ignoring being tagged as I usually do, – I am a fuckwit. I am the target of an angry rant. I was just trying to interact with a piece of material thrust at me in a way that suited my style and understanding, and I have clearly failed.

    I’m sorry. I had no idea I was being so very, very rude and horrid and objectionable. I’m so sorry. I go out of my way to please people and not offend, and here I am being a ‘fuckwit’, and vilified. I’m so, so sorry. I really am. I admit it, my humour is obtuse, and yes, actually, I am quite obtuse as a person, and I answered the question in the way I felt inspired to, and I’m sorry, because I did the wrong thing.

    I’m sorry that I did not understand that the only way to interact with this particular question is to be absolutely literal and produce a direct three part answer. I’m sorry you feel so upset and angry with me, and that you think so little of me.

    I’m sorry I went against my usual instinct and did a meme. I’m sorry that you felt the need to be so very aggressively dismissive of me, my readers and my site. I’m sorry I caused that. I’m really sorry this happened.

  2. February 24, 2007 6:25 pm

    aw hey … πŸ™‚

    if you read the post – you’ll see that I don’t say anything about *you* being *anything*. Almost the entire post is about being called pretentious – which you didn’t say. The other part of the post is about my family. The comment about name calling was directed at the comment not you. Also at the end I retracted the rant in essence when I returned to see your comment-er had withdrawn the comment.. I only posted it because I wanted to and because I was inspired by you. Your writing is good but it ticked the box to respond when you wrote that you ‘don’t get it’.

    I could have felt vilified. You were disparaging in your humour. I was in mine.

    Your blog, your writing, my blog, mine. I wasn’t being intentionally ‘horrid’ either. The wink at the end intentionally denotes humour. There’s really no need to feel so sorry, whether for real or in sarcasm. I started a meme ‘a stupid meme’ if you like. I thought the big issue over the question was funny because of how it started years ago as something ridiculous that I posted in order to communicate with people. Find friends and have fun. Which I did.

    I was responding to your obtuseness. I was inspired by your obtuseness. I don’t even necessarily find your obtuseness bad. I thought your post was funny :). I haven’t fallen out with you either, but if you want to fall out with me over my ‘rant’ then that’s up to you. I didn’t fall out with you over yours…. I just thought the comment of pretentiousness was a little unfounded and bizarre… It moved me to respond.

    I also think it’s funny how the nameless, bodiless entities out there, can be called names or have their words poured over in such a critical and disparaging way – but when I respond – I’m vilifying *you*. You were pretty abusively disparaging about my choice of words first. Or lack of words..

    I wasn’t trying to vilify you. I will remove the link if you wish. I have no desire to create enemies – as I’m sure you don’t either.. it’s just my space to write as I wish.

    You will note that my own father is criticised in a post labeled fuckwits.. It’s also labeled sillibiliness and rofl but I see you don’t pick up on that part or ask if rofl is directed toward you or your post or your readers – it’s just a label on a post. Try not to take it personally. I haven’t taken anything personally – I was just moved to write… I’ll also remove that label if *you* wish.

    I am also one of your readers and I enjoy your blog – I am sorry, I had no idea I was being so aggressively dismissive..? It’s just my sense of humour. I just responded to your post and comments in a way that I felt inspired to and I’m sorry if you think I did the wrong thing.

    can we move on and maybe enjoy each other’s sites?

  3. February 24, 2007 7:15 pm

    I’m sending you a email in reply to this, because this is a silly little conversation of mis-readings and misunderstandings and is better moved into private conversation, I think. I hadn’t realised your email to me was a copy of this comment, but I shall reply there, I think.

    But this should be public: I wasn’t being sarcastic. I was being upset, and a bit pissed off, yes. But not sarcastic. I was apologising for having upset you and for having been percieved to have publicly disparaged you or your ideas, and I don’t want anyone to think that that was sacastic on my part.

  4. February 24, 2007 10:49 pm

    Lordy πŸ™‚

  5. February 24, 2007 10:53 pm

    I was just going to pull up a chair and some popcorn!

    I love the word obtuse.

  6. Mrs HoJo permalink
    February 25, 2007 12:52 am

    oooooooooooooooops

    xc

  7. February 25, 2007 10:10 am

    we’re all friends πŸ™‚

  8. Mrs HoJo permalink
    February 25, 2007 5:06 pm

    Just leaving another one word comment, to boost your numbers

    xc

    damn, thats 14

  9. February 25, 2007 9:26 pm

    this is 9… where is 14..? I’m confused..? πŸ™‚

    oh that’s another one.. yay! πŸ˜†

  10. February 25, 2007 9:26 pm

    ah 14 words… ooh another comment… does it count if they’re my comments?

    Damn..

    πŸ˜†

  11. Mrs HoJo permalink
    February 26, 2007 12:47 am

    any comment will do…ooohooooh, any comment will do… doncha just love andy lloyd webber

    xc

  12. Mrs HoJo permalink
    February 26, 2007 12:47 am

    12

    xc

  13. February 26, 2007 11:29 pm

    I can spam your blog all day if you like πŸ˜€ Makes a change from the other 30 that get my crap all day!

  14. February 26, 2007 11:29 pm

    I can spam your blog all day if you like πŸ˜€ Makes a change from the other 30 that get my crap all day!

  15. February 26, 2007 11:44 pm

    If you spam mine I’ll spam yours πŸ˜†

    I’m far too easily amused and this post looks mighty popular!!!

Leave a Reply

