Skip to content

Aw babies are so gorgeous tiresome..

February 28, 2007
by

At this precise moment, Ella is waking approximately every 10 minutes and whining until I go upstairs and calm her down.

I will go upstairs and calm her, only because it is so unlike her to wake at this time and whine or cry.

She did wake at 1.30am and 4am last night but I was so knackered (friend over, bed late) that I just grabbed her and took her to bed… both times. She was awake for about 2 minutes and then wriggles an hour later when she’d decided I was just not comfy enough…

I know I know …. rod-for-own-back people – please, please refrain from making comments about this… When you know you would do the same thing if you’d only been asleep for an hour!! πŸ™‚

Anyway – Tonight (I am going to bed shortly) I am going to get better sleep, and every time she wakes up, I will dutifully cuddle her and put her back… without taking her to bed. This seemed to be working when I was doing it last week but we went away and it all got messed up…

πŸ™„

She is a really good baby and is actually very happy to sleep in her own bed. She isn’t fussy normally but she hasn’t been well now for about 3 weeks I think and I can just about forgive her for needing her mummy in the night. I’m also fairly sure she another tooth coming through as well….

Joy.

So we’re on toothie peg watch…

I’ll keep you posted!

Lastly…

Why is it that you can yawn your head off all day (and yes I mean literally, yawn. your. head. off) and then get home and be sat on your sofa, with laptop, posting away and not really seem able to bring yourself to the point where you can be arsed to go to bed…?

Even when your eyes hurt. Physical pain from tired eyes. Still typing.

It makes no sense to me.

I’m knackered.

I should go to bed.

And yet here I am.

Still typing.

Crackers.

πŸ™„

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2007 11:00 pm

    You know what? I really don’t go in for that rod for your back own stuff at all. In my mind it’s way easier to take baby into bed with you and actually get some sleep than to get in and out of bed all flipping night to do the pick up, cuddle, put down thing.

    You need decent sleep in order to function as a mummy and at work, if taking her into bed with you for a couple of nights means everyone gets some sleep, it seems like the better option to me. After all, she won’t still be doing it when she’s 18!

    Hope tonight = even better sleep for you anyway.

  2. March 1, 2007 12:10 am

    TBH, as a working mum, co sleeping was the only possible answer, as it was the one where we got the most sleep. we coslept with our eldest from 0-12 months pretty much, and then never denied the bed crawl in after that – she still pops in from time to time [6] but not a bother. the youngest wasn’t a co-sleeper to start with, until I went back to work. Its on and off, but co sleeping bnetter than being awake all night.

  3. March 1, 2007 8:17 am

    Lol, i was going to say that given the number of readers you have from my blog, most of whom have co-slept for a lot of the first few years, you aren’t likely to get many negative comments. The only one of mine i actively used to turf out is the only one who still needs to be in my bed; Fran. Even Amelie only comes in because she wakes up itching. Josie just moved out on her own.

    My policy is “whatever gets you through the night” – LITERALLY.

  4. March 1, 2007 10:21 am

    With all three of ours we had issues with the staying in bed lark. As much as we didnt want to, they ended up in our bed… People would give us the Rod-For-Your-Own-Back stuff, but it was sooo much easier!

    Hope you get some sleep soon!

  5. March 2, 2007 8:18 am

    My daughter still comes into our room, dragging her pillow behind her every night. She goes to sleep in her own bed, but at some point…there she is. I don’t mind, because she’ll sleep in longer in the morning if she is in our bed. My daughter said she needs a “live person” to sleep with. πŸ™‚ No criticism here. Whatever works. But we were also co-sleepers, so I may be a bit biased.
    And I do the same thing with the tired…and the typing…and the yawning…and the blog reading…and the burning eyes…and more typing…in fact, I’m doing it right now. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

