Skip to content

The next installment..

March 4, 2007
by

So..

Thursday evening.. finally got home from my horrendous mammoth marathon stress-fest of key fetching and meetings and got the girls bathed and bed.

Time to pack my overnight bag and go through the ever expanding list of things that needed to be taken for one night away from home…

Hair straighteners, toothbrush, toothpaste, top, spare top, outfit, extra outfit (just in case you get to the hotel room and suddenly the outfit you tried on ten times suddenly makes you look fat pregnant).

Hair serum, make-up, night clothes, shampoo… it went on.

Over the course of an hour, the simple overnight bag turned into a bag that I believed I may actually struggle to carry from the taxi to the train 🙄

Came the time that I knew would arrive.

…..

I need to try that outfit on one more time.

I just need to check.

I just need to see.

I just neeeeed to know that it looks.. well that it looks ‘OK’.

As you know, as someone struggling with the post baby bulge… an outfit that makes you feel fantastic is absolutely essential.

Couple this with the fact that I am spending the evening on Friday with about 400 people that I see about once a year and the rest of my region that I normally see once a month but due to 7 months leave… haven’t seen since June last year.

I want to look good.

I want people to tell me that I look great and that they can’t believe how much weight I’ve lost and that I must be working really hard.

I am back down to my pre Ella weight …. but of course that still leaves me with 3 stone to go until I am pre Rowan weight..

It’s daunting.

So I want to look and feel calm and comfortable.. elegant and sophisticated. Poised and styled.

So I’ll just give it one last try.

(Big mistake. Big. Huge) ….(extra points for knowing the film that comes from!)

Show BN and see what he thinks.

It’s 8.30pm.

I show him the outfit.

Fast forward to 2 hours and 4 outfits later and I’m asking the same things.

What about this?

Pause. New outfit.

What about this?

Pause. New outfit.

You get the picture.

10.30pm.

Get this. I am booking a cab to Tesco to see if I can find a black bra for the ladies that have taken up residence on my chest since breastfeeding my second child and a new top.

In my head…

My outfit makes me look fat pregnant. My outfit is not ‘right‘ for the occasion. My outfit is no good.

I must shop.

So at 11pm at night when I found out that my local Tesco is in fact closed for refurbishment and opens tomorrow (of course it opens tomorrow… one day after I need it) I am walking round Asda trying to find a bra and a top.

Crackers.

I get home. I’ve bought two tops, two bras (£3 each I’m not complaining!) spent £17 on a taxi, got £50 cash back at Asda, only to find only £40 in my purse when I get home 😐 and guess which outfit I take with me?

You guessed it. The first one of course.

I don’t even need to say really do I?

I was going to get an early night.

Instead I’m creeping into bed at midnight. Shattered and heart pounding from the random exercise of supermarket late night mad dash for clothes I’m not even going to take with me. Let alone wear.

Oh, the joys of work events created simply for the pleasure of seeing 400 women show up after having no sleep and spending over £150 pounds on clothes they will probably never wear again!!

Geez.

6.15 am… The alarm goes off.. I have the feeling it’s going to be a long day…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2007 1:17 pm

    Pretty Woman.

    Which i’m sure you were for the occasion despite everything 😉

  2. March 4, 2007 1:20 pm

    PS – he didn’t say… “It’s okay… no, really, it’s fine. You look really nice. *pause* Honestly,” to each outfit did he?

  3. March 4, 2007 1:22 pm

    pretty much – interspersed with a few ‘mm hhmmm’s’ and ‘I don’t know.. isn’t this the one you tried on half an hour ago’s’

    😆

  4. March 4, 2007 1:24 pm

    *smacks head* – then smacks BN 😉

  5. March 4, 2007 1:55 pm

    Asda at 11pm – clothes shopping? BN deserves a smack just for engineering that situation!

    Benefits of living with other woman = total honestly about how you look in said outfit! No umming and ahhing that mess with your head!

    Hope it all went well and I’m sure you looked fabulous.

  6. March 4, 2007 2:24 pm

    Actually!! Asda was BN’s idea!! I would never even have thought of it but credit to him I did get a black bra for a black dress which was much better than the nice shiny white one I had.. So you have to forgive him a little 🙂

    I have to say as well.. because he reads my blog so I’ll only get grief for artistic license if I don’t – he is really good when I try anything on and TBH most of my wardrobe is clothes, picked by him that I would never have seen and look really good on me.

    Somehow – that’s even worse!! 😆

  7. March 4, 2007 2:44 pm

    Ahhh – he’s like my dad then who is really good at picking out women’s clothes! But due to his tendency to dance across shops in time to the music I still don’t take him shopping with me! He chooses lovely clothes for Charlie though.

  8. March 4, 2007 2:48 pm

    😆 it’s an every day joke in our house that if I dress Rowan she looks a little like a circus freak but if BN dresses her….. she looks stylish and normal.

    We have the pick of the same clothes but somehow I’m just always wrong 🙂

    Good job he’s the one at home really 🙂

Leave a Reply

