Skip to content

The train and the conference.. and the dancing.. oh.. the dancing

March 4, 2007
by

Well.

I’m not really going to talk about work. ‘Cos that would be boring. Then the post would have to be protected and that would also be boring.

AND… it would have to be about a managers’ conference. And believe me.. THAT would be boring.

The train ride down was pretty uneventful.

I wasn’t delayed.

I wasn’t harassed or abused by National Rail staff.

Nobody banged into me.

I didn’t lose my ticket or fall over.

Nor did I get stuck in a lift.

Yes. All of these things have happened to me whilst at the mercy of British Rail..

🙄

Instead I had a peaceful and smooth travel down to Hyde Park and the only even slightly interesting thing that happened was that I was sat next to Catherine Gee from Escape to the Country. And that’s not even that interesting.

And yes I did take a photo .. because I am that sad. And no it didn’t come out and yes she did catch me taking it and yes I was very embarrassed.

Mental note to self. If you are going to take pictures of minor celebrities on the train then wait until near where you get off so they don’t catch you and then glance at you every 5 minutes for the next hour.. thinking that you’re a weirdo.

ah well ……

Catherine Gee!! I am a Z list Celebrity Geek!!
Catherine Gee… looking blurred… also looking particularly scary in a leopard print cardy and a cow print bag.. yes.. she was all sorts of animal!!

The journey even went smoothly right up to and beyond meeting my manager and my regional co-managers at Kings Cross and getting to the hotel.

Conference… = boring …

The evening even went smoothly. I know you’re thinking..‘There must be a catch.. where’s the catch.. when does she fall down the stairs and/or end up wearing the same outfit as someone else?’

But no.

I got a nice room. Had a shower, washed my hair. Incidentally. I love my new do. It styles itself really which is just the kind of haircut I like. Just a little bit of a straighten and it’s perfect.

Changed into my outfit.. black trousers and an empire line black dress that came to just below my knees.. I went for the Boho Chic look.. I’m just not ready to show off my legs.. 🙂

The world is not ready for my legs 😆

Funky necklace from Monsoon
jan-0097.jpg
Rubbish picture but it is funky!!

The evening did threaten to take a turn when I punctured my big toe on the diamonte of my own shoe.. But hey.. You can’t have everything. And it did stop bleeding after ten minutes so let’s be grateful for small mercies 🙂

I ate a little of my meal (ever the WW conscious). I drank two glasses of champagne, 4 glasses of white wine (not so WW conscious) 🙂

Let it never be said that I don’t know how to party ❗

The award ceremony was OK.. I didn’t win anything.. obviously having been absent from work since July doesn’t normally put you in the running for awards..

I drank a little more.. got coerced into dancing a little.

I was adamant that I was going to bed before midnight because I wanted to get up early, come home and see my kids.

It’s bad enough that work takes up all week without it taking up weekends as well.

So. I’m dancing. I get stuck with a rather wacky manager from a northern branch who after 20-30 minutes of dancing, puts her hand on my stomach and says..

‘…ah… so how far along are you then?’

images

So I killed her and then went to bed. 😆 😉

Part of that last bit isn’t true, I’ll leave you to guess which part..

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2007 4:25 pm

    ARGH. Did you say “about 2 years” and smile sweetly?

  2. March 4, 2007 4:28 pm

    I said.. I’m not pregnant. I’ve just had a baby 7 months ago but thanks anyway.
    I’m going to bed.
    And I left.

    😦

  3. March 4, 2007 8:08 pm

    Oh darling 😦

  4. March 5, 2007 11:45 am

    Ugh. I had the dreaded “how far along are you?” question postpartum with my daughter. No snappy comeback from me either. I’m sure you looked fabulous.

Leave a Reply

