Skip to content

People I wouldn’t want to be, in the snow…

March 21, 2007
by

1. People that have to stand at shop doors and say hello to every single person that walks in. It’s drafty. People are not chatty at doorways generally, and just look at them like they’re weird when they’re going through ‘the Claire’s Accessories Deals of the Day!’ for the eight hundredth time in the last 40 seconds..

2. People that have to stand on the street and try talk to people as they walk past a particular venue, trying to attract them in store.. e.g. the Phones 4U girl that I passed this morning trying to say to every single pedestrian…

‘ … are you looking for a new mobile phone..?’

How many people stopped to say er… NO!! It’s cold and I’m late.. EFF OFF you idjit and get out me way…. oh, yes actually I am, verynicegirl, that is why I was walking past your shop and not into it.. it is 8.55am in the morning and the thing I would like to do now (as I have 5 minutes left to get to work aaaaannnnnd it’s f*cking snowing!!) is to stop and chat with you about my current mobile phone…’?

None.

Or……. not. No. Actually I probably wouldn’t. Yes…er .. make that a definite. No.

3. People that are responsible for cleaning dog poo off the pavement. I witnessed a guy doing this job today and he just didn’t look like he was having a good time. It’s cold. It’s snowing. Cleaning frozen dog diarrhoea.. frankly.. does not look fun.

4. People that have found themselves in the enviable position of handing out leaflets! For anything. I never take leaflets. I hate taking leaflets from people. I hate being stuck with something I don’t want, and didn’t ask for.. plus I’m always immediately overcome with the urge to litter 🙂 (which of course I wouldn’t) so I just say no thanks.. I rarely see others take leaflets from poor students, shaking in the cold either.. so generally.. I just feel sorry for them 🙂

5. People selling AA membership

6. People selling RAC membership (Yes, they were actually standing within 12 feet of one another today)… I actually walked past the RAC guy and said I was a member already and said the same thing to the AA guy 2 seconds later…. they may not have believed me… ❗

7. People offering free haircuts by junior trainee stylists at ‘….CurlUpandDyejustdownthealleyroundthecorner..’ as she shook uncontrollably in the cold..

Finally..

8. People having to approach pedestrians asking if they’ve had an accident they haven’t tried to claim for… mostly I see busy shoppers looking at them like they’re nuts.

images-1

It’s cold, bosses.. stop forcing these poor people onto the streets, bring ’em inside and give ’em a cuppa!! 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2007 11:42 pm

    betcha had to look up how to spell diarrhoea… (or maybe i’m just envious that you can spell it without consulting dictionary.com)

  2. March 22, 2007 5:11 pm

    I think if you are going to have to clean up dog diarrhoea then frozen dog diarrhoea is the kind you want to be cleaning up. More of a scraping than a wiping if you know what I mean.

  3. March 22, 2007 6:29 pm

    ah… Phoebe!! you know me so well!! I did indeed have to spell check the diarrhoea even though it’s one of those words I’ve always been determined ‘this time I’ll remember!’ 🙄

Leave a Reply

