Skip to content

How annoying…

March 24, 2007
by

I am struggling with the hormone thing I had put in after Ella was born. It’s interfering with my Weight Watchers in a big. annoying. way.

I keep getting one week where I’m totally normal .. I follow my points and I lose weight. AND THEN three weeks of stable weight. STABLE!!

Even if I’m following the WW religiously … which I am … and those three weeks, I lose nothing and also get a very bloated feeling.. so I’m guessing it must be hormone and water retention related..

.. which quite frankly. Is just annoying.

And here’s where it screws me up.

It’s a bit of a bummer because I have a very results oriented personality.. good results spur me on and poor results demotivate me.

I can’t help it. If I hop on the scales and I’ve lost weight.. I am all hippity hoppity yip de doo and I’m fantastically behaved and continue to lose more.

After five weeks of continuous weight loss.. the first week I had a ‘stable’ week.. I persevered and just thought it was a plateau and that maybe I needed to drink more water or something..

The second week… stable weight…. I thought.. ‘hang on.. what’s going on here then..?’

But still my resolve didn’t waiver and I stayed exactly on ‘points’ track.. was exquisitely behaved and did not teeter off the line at any point….

As the plateau progressed into its third week.. I thought.. ‘fuck it’ quite honestly and I seem to recall I had a big fat glass of wine.

Bollocks to it.

Then suddenly … weight dropped off me. I changed nothing but lost 4lbs in one week!

I came to the conclusion that it must be hormonal (for one, I had the obvious sign) and all seemed to be well with the world.

Until this week.

The drop off week of 4lbs was 10 days ago. This week..? I have lost nothing. I put on a 1lb this Monday and it’s now Saturday and all I’ve done is gained another lb.

So being a very results oriented person. I am now struggling to win back my resolve.

I have tried to alter this trait but I’ve found generally that if that trait really is ‘you’ then you can’t really change it with any long standing efficacy.

I can convince myself that I’m unshakable. Unbreakable resolve. Unyielding willpower. BUT when it comes down to it.. if it goes wrong and I honestly can’t see anything I’ve done that deserves the bad result… my will power starts to wain somewhat…

The result of this?

Cheesecake for pudding. 🙄

Oh dear.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 24, 2007 10:09 pm

    I’m exactly with you. Although my doctor swears that the mirena won’t affect weight.

Leave a Reply

