Skip to content

Charity.

April 22, 2007
by

I’ve never really been one for outwardly obvious charity.

I don’t know why. I don’t think that there is anything wrong with fun runs or bake sales or charity events in any way. Far from it. I think they’re great in actual fact. I just don’t have the time or inclination to organise something like that and I don’t ever seem to be in a time or place where I’ve ever been invited to a charity ball or ever been fit enough to take place in a run.

I’d always buy from the bake sales at school however 😉

I think the Race for Life is a magnificent thing and I am thinking about promising to take part in something like that soon.. at a time when I feel like I could take part in it properly, at a weight where I won’t actually kill myself trying to do it.. which I think would kind of belie the point of a race dedicated to saving lives.

But anyway. I digress. (As usual). 🙂

I like to do my charity in secret. That is .. until now I suppose… cos I’m blabbing!!! 🙂

I donate my funds through direct debit and I give to three causes I feel attached to in some way.

I like to know that I am contributing something… even though I feel my life is sadly lacking in any honest giving…… of time.. of money.. or however charity should be given.. in person I suppose I mean.

But recently.. I did…

At work we employ an awful lot of Polish workers. People over here … most of them desperately trying to make an honest living working in factories mostly.. a lot of them vastly over qualified for what they are willing to do.

I have accountants, engineers, plane mechanics and even a pharmacist working for me packing boxes. Packing products and sealing boxes in a factory that I can honestly say I wouldn’t get out of bed to go to in the morning.

They are here … trying to find a niche, a hole .. a space they can call their own. And there’s not much of it left I can tell you.

We recently met two young things. Gorgeous people. He, a Polish Air Force mechanic and her a dental assistant from Poland. Working here in the factory and earning £180 a week and willing to work all the hours we had as she is now expecting their first baby.

A girl.

We emptied out all our old baby clothes and I gave it all away.

It really hurt giving some of those things away.

The outfit I can remember dressing Rowan in on her first holiday away from home to Devon in 2005.

The trousers from Next that she wore with the little sparkly letters on the bum.

Little sleepsuits and slips and tops, trousers and babygrows that I looked at and saw my children. I gave them away.

I’m proud of myself.. and I suppose .. I don’t mind admitting it..

I’m going to try and do something personal more often …

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2007 4:52 am

    By “charity”, do you mean “buying girl scout cookies?” Because I’m a whore for thin mints.

  2. April 24, 2007 5:25 pm

    Hi–what an intriguing post. I’ve always felt the best giving is (as you say) “… charity in secret.” This way it’s not attached to our self-importance or some outward show.

    Thank you for sharing this thougtful post!

Leave a Reply

