Skip to content

Grumpy Old Men & The Most Bizarre Bus Ride Ever.

May 10, 2007
by

More weekend catch up.

When we go to my parents, I step back in time somewhat & revisit a teenage era. My folks live in a village just about 3 miles out of the nearest town and so if you want to do anything you have to get the bus. Well, we do because we don’t drive..
I’m just not used to it anymore. We now live 7 minutes walk from town and I have never even been on a bus here!Not once in the 6 years we’ve lived here.

Anyway.. the bus arrived and the driver was the worst possible example of grumpy, rude, ignorant arse-hole man that there ever was. I politely had offered that the other couple at the stop should get on first seeing as I knew we would hold things up having the pushchair etc. not to mention the two year old that wants to do everything herself..

We went to lift the pushchair on and the driver got all nasty about breaking the law and that the pushchair had to be folded as it was against the law to have it on board with a child in it… Is this against the law anyone? I had no idea anyway..

Cut to bus ride back home.. got on the bus.. pushchair carried onto the bus, with child.. no mention of law breaking and there was a couple of ladies a few sandwiches short of a picnic .. .. sat in the front seats…

There was a massive shopping bag in the place for wheelchairs/pushchairs and as I got there she offered to move her bag for me to fit Ella in.

“If you don’t mind that would be great, I would like to sit with my baby if I can” .. the bus was crowded and she kindly turned her bag round in a way that left me a tiny bit more space..

suddenly…

“MOVE IT. SHE SAID MOVE IT!!! DON’T JUST TURN IT ROUND!! MOOOOOVE IT!! MOVE THE BAG!”

It’s fair to say I nearly shat myself soiled myself with shock as the second lady took it upon herself to take control, deciding I just didn’t have enough room… & was screaming at the first woman to move the bag altogether.

She was proper yelling at this woman and I just did. not. know. where to put myself. 😳

I was just kind of looking at the floor and begging to be swallowed up as BN squidged passed to a seat further back taking Rowan. He glanced at me trying to keep a straight face. I quickly said it didn’t matter and sat down, glancing up at BN every now and then trying not to giggle.

The bus got moving and Rowan was waving and shouting hello to me from her seat and Ella was being v cute in the pushchair. We were playing blowing raspberries at each other, making her giggle and then another elderly woman opposite me said:

“Boy or girl?”

“Er.. girl.. both girls”

“Ah.. you want more, yes?” Although actually said more like …’You’ll be having more because I SAID so.’

“Humm. no.. don’t think so..” as I shook my head she just nodded at me and said yes over and over. “Yes you want more.. lots more.. you gotta keep the white race going…”

ER … ooookaaaay?!?! I was a touch surprised to say the least..

“You want a boy anyway. You going to try for a boy next, yes?”

“mmm, no.. I’m quite happy with my girls thanks”

Yes, yes she muttered and nodded.. completely in her own little world to be honest. I wasn’t really necessary for her conversation… try for a boy..

Why is it that most people that find out you have only girls seem to think you must be disappointed?!

Are girls no good? Is there some secret that no one is telling me? Is there something I should know? Will my girls self destruct? Melt? Defy nature and try and grow penises anyway?

To all people there who think that girls is just what you get when you were trying for boys..

BOG OFF!! Girls are the best!

🙄

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2007 8:47 am

    Wow. Crazy lady! Gotta’ love public transportation. I don’t think I could have held in the giggles.

  2. May 11, 2007 8:49 am

    oops! I was logged in doing work on my son’s blog for that comment up there! It was me…not Matthew! 🙂

  3. May 11, 2007 2:17 pm

    Oh, i’ve completely moved into the “be utterly rude about boys” frame of mind now. Either that, or saarcasm “No… i don’t like girls at all – want any of mine?”

    🙄

  4. 4kidsandadog permalink
    May 11, 2007 6:37 pm

    Having 1 girl and 3 boys here, I often get ‘were you trying for another girl. ‘

  5. May 11, 2007 6:46 pm

    Could you correct my spelling for me please? I can’t live with the buys bit.

  6. May 11, 2007 10:51 pm

    Done!! 🙂

  7. May 11, 2007 10:52 pm

    @4Kids

    Yes I bet! People think they know so much! By all means think it if you must but don’t say it out loud people!! 🙂

  8. Mrs HoJo permalink
    May 12, 2007 1:26 am

    I don’t think it matters what you have, after my boy and girl people assumed we would stop, so when we had another boy people would ask if he was a mistake, and when I pointed out that 2 children never felt right but 3 did, they looked at me funny and asked if I forgot the pill WTF??? like it would be any of your business but no, it was deliberate… gosh how weird, liking an odd number brrrr….

    still can’t ask Merry to babysit though, she doesn’t know what to do with boys ;o)

    xc

  9. May 12, 2007 4:01 am

    Wow. Just WOW.

  10. May 13, 2007 3:16 pm

    I don’t often take public transportation, having had similar bizzare experiences. Thanks for stopping for a visit.

  11. May 17, 2007 10:32 pm

    I had two boys ten months apart, and was told that I was going to have a football team – 5 a side – for sure!

    I was a well and truly ‘only have boys er’ – and that fact still holds in my mind so ingrained was it by passers-by, friends and family.lol. that even when I had a girl under two years later, and another girl just over two years after that, I am still a ‘only have boys er’.

    It’s psychologically genetic or something!?!

    I must say though that I really , really, really like having sons all the more for having had daughters. or vice versa maybe.

    to be honest though, I think it is ultimately all just a conversation filler! you get what you get . shrug.

  12. May 19, 2007 3:29 pm

    Exactly – you get what you get! What on earth does it matter? Seriously! 🙂

Leave a Reply

