Skip to content

Toilet Trials and Tribulations of a nearly-3-yr-old…

August 18, 2007
by

Rowan is wearing pants most days now. She’s doing really well to be fair.

We are hardly having an y accidents at all … in fact the last time I can think she had an accident was when she was eating tea and she forgot that she was wearing pants. She was mortified and got very upset. (Why do they do that?)

She asks most times if she wants to go to the toilet for a wee and the only thing that we are yet to progress on to is poos in the toilet. She has done a couple by happenstance but she isn’t really into doing it on purpose. If she wants a poo, she’ll ask for a nappy so she can do one. I hear that this can be a stumbling block for a lot of children so there’s no rush. If she wants to poo in her nappy then she can as far as I’m concerned.

I’ve been downstairs with them this morning at the folks house while BN did some sleeping. They have been a bit of a nightmare to be honest and Rowan has been particularly disagreeable for a lot of the morning. She wants special K for breakfast but she doesn’t want milk. But she does. But *she* wants to do it. This isn’t right and that’s wrong. Ella can’t touch that or play with this.. or sit here… or go near that… or go here.. or there… or have that toy… you get the picture.

I’d just dressed her and put her pants on. Instantly she needed a wee. I was decidedly unimpressed by the latest twist in events but when you’re at your parents house you can’t really play devil may care with somebody else’s carpets now really can you?

You better really need one… I challenged. I’m not going to be impressed if I get all the way up there and you haven’t got one. (not the most encouraging of techniques I hear you say but I was kind of beyond encouragement by this point).

I dooooooo… said Rowan in her most whiny persuasive way.

Right.. you go upstairs then and then I’ll come upstairs.

By this point, I’ve already changed two diarrhoea nappies from Ella and cleared up some vomit. (She has the teething related gastro problem again). Poos throughout the nights, crying in her sleep etc etc. She hasn’t had the best time of teething in all honesty.

So…

We got upstairs and I lifted Rowan onto the seat. She squeezed and pushed and put in a remarkable amount of effort and nothing emerged but two resounding trumps echoing in the bowl.

(say next sentence in the style of ‘see look what you made me do you imbescile’

See! She snapped… Look what I did. Now I’m doing a poo!

I felt told! πŸ˜†

2 Comments leave one →
  1. fluttercrafts permalink
    August 18, 2007 6:55 pm

    well, you WERE told! heh

  2. businessbackwards permalink
    August 20, 2007 7:48 pm

    lol, she’s a long way up on Josie. Josie finally told us she needed a wee on Saturday and made it to the loo, and has done 2 poos in the toilet but normally she thinks the carpet is JUST FINE πŸ™„

Leave a Reply

