Skip to content

update update update…

September 2, 2007
by

I seem to be doing this a lot lately. I am fallen into the blogging every few days instead of doing it religiously every night.

There’s reasons for this.

I think Big and I have consciously started to put the computer aside some nights as I think we have both realised that it’s started to take up an awful lot of time. I am involved in face-book, Flickr, blogging, reading other peoples’ blogs, Internet banking, checking my email, answering emails.. etc etc etc. By the time you’ve been doing all of these things, you realise you’ve been on the laptop for about 2 and a half hours and haven’t actually had any verbal contact with the person sat right next to you during that entire time… save maybe for the joint chuckle at a crap advert or whatever.

So I wanted to extend my apologies to some people that I haven’t been visiting as much as I should lately really. I am reading, but I tend to catch up over loads at the weekend.. so please catch up with the hilarious Jess at Oh, The Joys, the wonderful Mrs Chicken at Chicken and Cheese, the gorgeous and inspirational Flutter … sweet sweet Sweet and Salty Kate and the hilarious Boobs, Injuries and Dr Pepper… and of course my favourite sister at Patch of Puddles.

I am being crap.. and I do apologise… but some time much needed at home spent with my gang is required… I do think of people daily though. Particularly those having a hard time at the moment x

So Catch up.

We had another good weekend. The weather was gorgeous yesterday and we took the girls to the park yesterday and played some Frisbee again and kicked the ball about a bit. I had the fright if my life when I looked up to see a bloke running after his dog, yelling it’s name… that was running full tilt toward toddling Ella. I had the Frisbee in my hand and I just ran for her and scooped her up whilst I pushed the dog away from her with the toy.

No sooner had I done that than I realised Rowan was screaming.. she’s petrified of dogs and was just running in absolute panic for Big who was running for her too. The dog was chasing her.

It turns out the dog was just a puppy and was only running with playful intent. But you just don’t know do you. How are you supposed to know that when all you can see is a dog running at your child.

My instinct was to gather them up immediately. Made me feel guilty in case I am the cause of the fear..?

I am just left with this mental image of the dog running at Ella whilst I was trying to get to her. And I was so frightened. The thing that scared me the most was I realised I am not enough to protect them both at the same time. I picked up Ella and it ‘went’ for Rowan. Albeit to play.. but at the time I felt so hopeless.

BN was livid afterwards. The bloke did try to make amends and was clearly feeling really badly about it. He said she was just a puppy and offered Rowan a stroke of her etc. We explained that she was frightened anyway. It’s just so annoying as we’ve spent the last month or so pointing out to her that dogs aren’t interested in her, they go about their lives and won’t bother her.. and then one chases her round the park. And of course to an almost 3 year old.. who’s scared of dogs.. that wasn’t a fun experience for her.

Anyway… aaaaaaaaaaaaany waaaaaaaaaaayyyy…

Friday night Bam babysat and we went out with Sara and Aaron. We went to Prezzo in Lincoln and it was OK.. we went overly impressed but it *was* good. My main course was gorgeous, ricotta and mushroom cannelloni .. yum yum πŸ™‚

Today.. Big let me lay in till 11.. I really needed it. TBH this morning.. I just couldn’t wake up. I wasn’t aware of anything. I slept through Big getting out of bed.. I have no idea how long I was alone with the children before he took them downstairs. I am vaguely aware of the odd bit of screaming from downstairs during the morning … but not enough to wake me up.

Watching the Big Brother final interviews this morning… love Brian bless him.

So… we’re about to go to the park and let Rowan play with her trike and watch Ella toddle about… soon we’ll just have two kids. Not a 2 year old and a toddler or baby but just .. two kids… I feel so grown up!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. fluttercrafts permalink
    September 2, 2007 6:25 pm

    we love you, you know. ((you))

  2. March 22, 2009 8:56 pm

    Thank you πŸ™‚ I just found this and that’s really lovely πŸ™‚ xx

Leave a Reply

