Skip to content

Happy Birthday Rowan…

October 13, 2007
by

Dear Rowan..

Today was your 3rd birthday. I have so looked forward to today and to see you so excited about being a big girl.

We wake up usual time.. which I have to say I’m relieved about. I had some horrible vision of you waking up at 5am or something .. desperate to see your presents and unable to contain the anticipation any longer. But you were really good.

You and Ella shared a room at Granny and Grampty’s house for the first time and you both woke up about 7am. You both played and chattered for a bit and then started to get rowdy about 7.15…

Both Granny and Grampty had to go out this morning so we opened your presents really early and you were reasonably pleased.. as pleased as a 3 year old can be … to get some socks and hair bobbles, bracelets and rings and a new top. I chose a moses basket for you for your dolls…. That didn’t seem to be the favourite of the day although I’m confident that’ll get played with a lot in the coming months. I think if it doesn’t turn on, flash or make noise when you’re 3, it’s pretty much out of the running for masses of attention at first.

You were thrilled to get your Backyardigan toys, thanks Aunty Merry, and they have instantly been promoted to bedtime companions šŸ˜†

We took you shopping for the morning and you got to take two rides on a bus which you love! We sang the wheels on the bus at the tops of our voices to your delight and got some ‘appreciateive’ glances from a few of the passengers. Most were completely in love with your happy mood I think though..

We took you to Woolworths and you played with loads of things in there and eventually chose a fairy dress that has little lights in its bodice. You haven’t worn that yet but I’m sure it’ll get tried on tomorrow.

We bought Ella a little Bumble toy from Fifi and she’s been in love with him for the rest of the day.

We pootled around Loughborough for a bit and took you to MacDonalds where you naturally ate practically nothing (your usual) and then got back for a sleep in the afternoon. You have loved seeing your Nana and then started to get excited about your party tea when Granny got home from work. Grampty and I went out to get you some fancy bits for your tea and you very much enjoyed that… although now I cast my mind back I don’t actually think you ate anything savoury at all!!!

13102007424.jpg

You finally got your big presents that you were so patient for a ELC Checkout and hoover. I swear I don’t think I’ve ever seen you so happy!

13102007418.jpg

So. My big girl. Well done for having a lovely day and being absolutely adorable and well behaved for the whole thing. Congratulations on being three. A big girl.

I love you so much and you make me proud every single day with your intelligence and your generosity and your manners and your loving, kind hearted nature. Always ready with a smile and giggle and a cuddle and always so thoughtful of others.

Love you with all my heart

Mummy x

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2007 2:01 am

    I love these letters!

  2. fluttercrafts permalink
    October 14, 2007 6:37 am

    Oh happy birthday, beautiful girl

  3. carolynhojo permalink
    October 14, 2007 11:31 am

    Happy Birthday Rowan
    sounds like a lovely day :o)

    xc

  4. Mrs Hojo permalink
    October 14, 2007 11:31 am

    Happy Birthday Rowan
    sounds like a lovely day :o)

    xc

  5. October 14, 2007 12:08 pm

    Ah thanks… it was a lovely day.. so hard to remember all of ti at the end though! We were pooped last night but finished off the evening with a glass of wine!! … Not rose though šŸ˜‰

    She is such a cheeky one – she’s running round the house here with her fairy dress on at the moment.. I’ll have to take some pictures….

    xx

  6. carolynhojo permalink
    October 14, 2007 4:37 pm

    I miss fairy dresses.

    I also miss rose, however it is my own fault. I drank 2 1/2 bottles between 8pm and 5am a couple of weeks ago and can’t bear the smell of wine since. Hey ho, plenty of other choices here ;o)

    xc

  7. Mrs Hojo permalink
    October 14, 2007 4:37 pm

    I miss fairy dresses.

    I also miss rose, however it is my own fault. I drank 2 1/2 bottles between 8pm and 5am a couple of weeks ago and can’t bear the smell of wine since. Hey ho, plenty of other choices here ;o)

    xc

Leave a Reply

