Skip to content

Worst Fear Realised… and not dead.

January 13, 2008
by

So, if you’ve reading LNT for a while – you’ll know I have this fear of dying.. And in particular one of the things that inexplicably worries me is falling down the stairs.

I’ve never fallen down the stairs particularly before, a slight slip when I was about 9 I think left me with a twisted ankle. The odd trip on the stairs at work … mainly I fear catching my heel in the turn up of my trousers… that’s about it.

The main thing was the story from my mum (in the link above) … left me with this worry of falling down the stairs whilst holding one of my gorgeous little ones.

Well – – it happened 😦

I was at the top of the stairs at home. Holding Rowan. She still wasn’t 100% back to normal following the double whammy ear infection… and was a bit whiny. So, conceding to the whinyness of the princess, I picked her up to carry her down the stairs.

Ella had also been at the top of the stairs and was saying ‘ up up up ‘ … so after about 3 steps I turned round to get her as well…

And slipped. Straight on to my back. Banged my ribs on my back. Bruised my leg. Bruised my arm. Banged my face on Rowan’s face.

Your instinct just kicks in. My foot went out looking for a hold as I was falling and Rowan was just gripping my – my hand went to the back of her head and pulled her in.

It was awful. 😦

I cannot possibly imagine how terrible it must be to have a full on accident with your kids. I couldn’t be everywhere I needed to be and she banged her head on the wall.

No matter what happened to me, she banged her head. And that made me feel terrible.

We’re both fine and I was receiving TLC from BN and Rowan was revelling in the attention for her knocked head… and it dawned on me.

Not dead. So big raspberries to death then!

😆

5 Comments leave one →
  1. businessbackwards permalink
    January 13, 2008 1:04 pm

    Aw.

    And, how come i had never read the post linked to above. How odd. I’ve never even seen it before.

    Glad you aren’t dead 🙂

  2. January 13, 2008 1:52 pm

    me too 🙂

  3. January 13, 2008 11:29 pm

    yeah I am glad you managed not to die honey 🙂

  4. mrshojo permalink
    January 16, 2008 11:05 pm

    oooh I am glad you are not dead too

    xc

  5. Mrs Hojo permalink
    January 16, 2008 11:05 pm

    oooh I am glad you are not dead too

    xc

Leave a Reply

