Skip to content

Ooh yer bugger!

February 1, 2008
by

This evening was Rowan’s first venture into the world of swearing πŸ˜†

We decided against bath time tonight and let them stay up a little later and just got them ready straight for bed after a coupla episodes of Peppa..

Just as she was getting dressed for bed upstairs – she yanked her trousers down and pointed her naked little bum at me – wiggled it, laughing at me.

Don’t point your bum at me! Actually – let me kiss that little bum!!!

…. and I grabbed her and kissed her butt cheek πŸ™‚

She gave me the cheekiest little grin and laughed out loud –

Don’t kiss my bum you little bugger!

It was so cute πŸ™‚ It was so cute how she paused before she said bugger. Almost imperceptibly. But she did pause.

She was so close to not giving it a try and decided that she would… how brave.

My first reaction was to say no and almost tell her off. I wasn’t angry at all but I guess my quick reaction made her nervous and she thought she was in trouble. She teared up – worried and I felt so bad for her.

Bless.

So I gently explained that this was a grown up word. Mummy’s and Daddy’s were allowed to say it sometimes but sometimes there were words that could make other people upset and so she couldn’t say them yet and she had to wait till she was older. She understood that perfectly … I explained she wasn’t in trouble and gave her cuddles….

Where did you hear that word anyway sweetie? Who said it?

You did, mummy…

Oh crap πŸ™„

2 Comments leave one →
  1. businessbackwards permalink
    February 2, 2008 10:12 pm

    The other day, Maddy came downstairs with the lens of my sunglasses, held it out and said “mummy, what the hell is this????” I must have looked stunned, and she was obviously trying it out, because she immediately started apologising and backing away! rofl!

  2. February 2, 2008 10:15 pm

    that is so funny!!! made me laugh out loud πŸ˜†
    Maddy is so sweet… that’s what was so sweet about Rowan as well … because when we were a bit stunned she got upset and worried and embarrassed and unsure and that just made it even cuter πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

