Skip to content

Shaky shaky earth quakey….

February 27, 2008
by

I wonder how many people are writing about this tonight….!

Well – yes I’m in Lincoln and yes we did feel the earth quake.. I’m sorry to say that I behaved like ….. pure unadulterated crappy drama queen.

I leapt out of bed, thought we were being broken into… ran to the children… saw they were OK… seemed like forever but was probably about 5 seconds before I realised the thing that was bothering me was a loud knocking sound in our bedroom and the fact that I couldn’t locate the source of the noise… I ran back in there and BN was just sitting up in bed saying ‘open the door open the door…’

I just stood there saying ‘what what what?!?!?!’

Turned out he just meant the wardrobe door… and the loud knocking sound? Was our uneven flat-pack wardrobe banging against itself and he was telling me to open the door so the noise would stop… what did I do? Opened the only door of the wardrobe that made no difference whatsoever 🙄

Ran to the window – looked into the street… as you do……not sure exactly why I did that… maybe I thought I would see someone outside with an answer to my wardrobe issue…

Obviously as we all know by now – 15 seconds later it had all stopped and I was left drama-ing in the middle of the room just trying to listen out for the kids to make sure they hadn’t woken up and then I just got back into bed and went back to sleep.

I think it was in the early hours of the morning when it suddenly occurred to me that it must have been an earthquake… I’m certainly not the sharpest tool in the box am I? 😳 😆

Anyone else feel it?? Anybody else as dramatic as me 🙂 ??

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2008 11:04 pm

    Blimey, it was right under your house, wasn’t it?! How far is Lincoln from Market Rasen – you were a lot closer than us anyway, and we felt it bad. I was quite frightened too!

  2. February 27, 2008 11:07 pm

    It’s about 15 miles away… it was pretty strong… I didn’t really hear anything though.. I’ve read lots about people hearing roaring noises etc etc. but all I could hear was my damn wardrobe 🙂

  3. February 28, 2008 8:24 am

    The earth didnt move for me 😦
    I feel robbed.

Leave a Reply

