Skip to content

Friends.

April 19, 2008
by

I’m sitting on my sofa… contemplating the blog world.

This is because of something that Rowan just said to me.

What’s this? She just said. Pointing her little grubby finger at the laptop screen. [she’s not just randomly grubby… they just ate Gingernuts]

I am reading. Reading beautiful Kate.

It’s… well it’s kind of a letter.

A letter?! She exclaimed … querying it with her little screwed up face. The kind of face that says… that’s not a letter you moron!! A letter is a piece of paper … this is a computer.

Well… it’s kind of a letter… it’s a blog. I’m reading a letter…. on the computer.

Who’s it from? She looked at me … she may believe me if I have evidence to support this wild claim of a letter….

Kate.

Kate?!

Yes, Kate. My friend Kate.

You don’t know anyone called Kate!! You mean Kayleigh? [nursery school teacher] she drew this last word out like I was in need of medication.

No .. not Kayleigh. Kate. My friend Kate.

I haven’t met Kate but she’s my friend. And I read her letters.

That’s silly.

Well… [muting Lazytown] there’s this thing called the internet. And on the internet … I write letters… and people read what I’ve written [bizarrely] and I go and read things that other people have written. And we leave each other messages.

That sounds boring.

She rolled her eyes and turned her attention back to Lazytown. Picked up the remote control and loudened it.

Ah well not a blogger yet then πŸ˜‰

It made me think.

It’s so weird that we all make these connections and feel like we know people. We make ‘friends’ with people that we are likely never to meet. Unless you do a Bossy… [which is cool btw] or you live in Amer-eeeka with the fancy & fantastic Blogher networky learny conferency meeting things

Baaaysickleeeee……. hmmmmmm…

Basically… A comment from my mini 3 and a half year old daughter has made me think rather deeply about what exactly it is that I do and why I do it… I know why I started it…

I know I love doing it. I loved it enough to buy my own site after having my old one for about a year and a half. It’s good going for me.. I am notoriously hard work when it comes to commitment. I find it hard to stay the distance with general stuff. Exercise. Weight loss. I have to really want something.

And I don’t just mean want. I mean reallywant… I have to want it more than Ivana wants new shoes… more than Pete Doherty wants to know when his dealer can visit.

So … what is this?

It’s a network. It’s a coffee house. It’s a staff room… common room…. waiting room…. psychiatrist… sister…. best friend…. or is it all crap?

Are you all who you say you are? And vice versa. Are these connections real? Is it weird to strive for the attention of people that you don’t know and get all excited when someone you have no earthly connection with makes a comment or proffers advice about your life… your decisions… your choices… or your ambitions…

Sometimes.. I look at what people have typed into Google to find me… and if it’s ear infection related stuff… or antibiotic related… or crying it out … I like to think that someone out there has felt ‘not alone’. It is satisfying to think you might have helped.

I like helping people. It’s not exactly altruistic blogging but that’s because you can’t deny that the thought that you’ve given ‘advice’ to someone is a nice feeling. I like to feel ‘not alone’ and it is great when you stop by somone’s blog and find that actually… aren’t we all just versions of the same…

Rowan’s just come back to me…

Can I write a letter mummy?

Yes of course you can… let me just finish this and you can write something.

What would you like to write…?

[a mummy letter]

Um.

I think I want to write a G.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2008 2:12 pm

    It’s just occurred to me that Rowan must have thought the term ‘letter’ was bizarre cos maybe she thought that letter only means a letter… as in g.

    I just got that… doh! πŸ™„

  2. April 20, 2008 2:55 pm

    Now if only we could get our husbands to understand why we read and write, that would be a coup.

    Thanks for the kindness. πŸ™‚

    sweetsalty kates last blog post..men are from mars, exhibit #72-b

Leave a Reply

