Skip to content

Heellloooo! *Waves*

June 19, 2008
by

I am here still šŸ™‚

Feeling a bit better. Have humungous cold but apart from that – not at all bad.

Today – the girl that left work in April to ‘pursue better things’Ā  text everyone her new number apart from me.

Do you think there’s a secret message there somewhere? šŸ˜†

Quick rundown. Well… me quick? šŸ˜‰

Work: fine. We are due to be audited in July. We receive an audit at any time in any 12 months. July was my last audit, so no prizes for guessing it’ll be any time now. It is my responsibility to ensure that everything in the branch passes the audit without question. Being that we are responsible for employing people, there is a lot of hocus pocus that goes along with that. Checking documentation, visas, passports etc. making sure we’re not employing anyone illegally and all that, and the fines that go along with it if we ever did are scary.

I am accountable for everyone’s quality of work – so this time of year when the time is getting close to another check-up, there is a certain air of panic concentration around. I am feeling it slightly and this could account for a little less brain power when I get home.

Kids: fine. They’ve both been a little ill. They’ve had a little fever and some runny bum poo for the last few days but nothing so bad that they haven’t been easily managed.

Behaviour wise: Rowan is being a little bit testy at the moment. I am trying to teach her the meaning of ‘sorry’.

She’s using it a bit like a quick fix. She messes up, she’s rude, or badly behaved and she says sorry and it’s forgiven. This morning, I felt like enough was enough. I went in to them this morning to tell them it was too early and they needed to go back to sleep. I have this little cold and due to child ‘nighttime wakefullness’ I have been lacking in rest the last few nights. Because they have been wakeful, they are also lacking in sleep and have therefore been sleeping in till 7.30am. Which has been great except we’ve been having to wake them up in order to get the day started.

So, last night I thought, I know! I’ll go into work for 9 and I’ll not get up until 7.30. A nice lie in.

Yes? K?

No.

6.15am.

Buggers. When I went in she was rude and vile and obnoxious and brattish and yuk. Screamed and shouted at me and was generally mean and nasty. I got so pissed off going backwards and forwards to them asking them to be quiet, that I ended up getting up at quarter to 7. I was at work for 8.

I was grumpy before I went to work and wouldn’t let her say sorry, she got upset and turned to Daddy. I was that mad I didn’t want to talk to her. I don’t know if anyone else is the same but when I’m really mad with someone I really struggle to make eye contact. It’s because I know if I look them in the eye, it will be really obvious I’m mad and then we’ll end up rowing. I actually really hate arguing and confrontation of any sort but couple that with an overwhelming desire to ‘talk it out’ and you end up with me. The reluctant confident arguer.

I had to tell her what I thought. I did not want her to apologise just to get away with stuff. I want her to mean it. I really think that if she has reached the stage where she can be deliberately hurtful and obstinate, then she’s more than capable of understanding that sorry should be genuine. She needs to understand that being horrible makes me sad.

So… we’re embarking on the education of the child. Sorry and the meaning of genuine remorse.

A challenge? Why yes.

Ella is being lovely and so cheeky. She’s talking load and loads. It’s fair to say that I probably miss 9 hours of her life a day… and for an additional 12 she’s asleep… it’s hardly surprising that she’s vastly different every evening. She’s cheeky and charming and naughty… a yummy combination. She’s still in my good books so far.

šŸ™‚

Life in general?

The wedding is 7 and a half weeks away. Things are getting frighteningly close. Aaaargh!

I am nearly a MRS!!!!

And there is still.so.much.to.do.

Gah!

That is all for now.

šŸ™‚

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2008 9:15 am

    I knew you wouldn’t leave us :o)
    phew

    xc

    Mrs Hojos last blog post..Help from the chaplain

  2. June 20, 2008 3:57 pm

    Thank you for sharing your daughters’ runny bum poo with us!

  3. June 21, 2008 5:46 am

    mmmm nice! Mr HoJo and I were wondering why, when we check up on the news on the lap top, it always tells us what the little nut tree is up to, any ideas? I mean I know you are famous n all but…..

    xc

    Mrs Hojos last blog post..Help from the chaplain

  4. June 21, 2008 9:06 am

    what do you mean?? Which news?! I’m confused!!

  5. June 22, 2008 9:20 am

    it is called feed headlines. It sits on the front page of the lap top and tells us what is going on in the world, 3 or 4 microsoft news thingies contribute and somehow we have it set (don’t know how) to give us your latest feed too! so everytime we switch on we know what you are doing (scary eh)

    xc

    Mrs Hojos last blog post..Help from the chaplain

  6. June 22, 2008 10:37 am

    Ah! how funny! šŸ™‚ It’s like I’ve got a fan!!

  7. Suburban Mum permalink
    June 22, 2008 6:17 pm

    Or a stalker šŸ™‚

    Mine does that too. You’re a celebrity! All the best celebs have stalkers.

    SMs last blog post..Stuff

Leave a Reply

