Skip to content

Aaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrgh!!!!!!!

July 5, 2008
by

You know I sometimes wonder why I keep the best/ most interesting parts of my life away from the blog.

Things happen … blog worthy things I suppose… and it’s almost like I can’t share them.

I did say right at the beginning of creating LNT that I wasn’t very good at sharing… and I guess I’m still not very good at it. I guess that’s why a lot of my posts are benign daily updates rather than gritty lifey ones.

I have had the mortgage scenario going on for a while now and it’s got to the point where the story is so lengthy that it’s almost got beyond blogging.

But tonight… tonight it’s on my mind. I need to vent.

Hold on …. and turn away if the f word offends you…

I first thought about remortgaging in November last year.

It seemed quite straight forward… I’ve done it before… I can do this again (I thought).

But no.

It’s been an absolute fucking nightmare to be blunt.

I found a lender very quickly. Someone who used to work for me is the manager of a building society in Lincoln and I went to her and she very quickly got an offer together for me. A substantial monthly saving and although it’s not a better deal as it’s a very extended loan period… for us at the moment – it’s what we need.

The survey was done on the house but the jobsworth surveyor decided that the cracks (minor fucking cracks) in the dining room needed looking at by a structural surveyor. They’ve been there for years – they’ve never changed. They. Are. Like. Hair!

£235 for the survey – another £330 quid for a minor structural survey and the appropriately qualified structural surveyor basically said ‘this house is fine and the knob end that made you pay for this was basically being anally retentive – sorry to take your money the house is fine thanks bye’

Ker-ching!

That pissed me off to say the least.

So – wranglings with First Plus and the new lender – Deeds of Postponement and more fees later .. both companies wanted an extra coupla hundred from me for those – I am now about £900 out of pocket trying to get this remortgage.

Finally – after First Plus and the new lender got stuck in a dead lock for 5 or 6 weeks over whose paperwork they were going to use, whether or not it would be approved etc., I got involved and managed to direct them into sorting out the mess.

Argued for a compromise and after some advice from a financial friend – threatened them with the treating customers fairly act if they withdrew their offer after recommending I paid for surveys etc.

Finally – I got a phone call yesterday to say that the mortgage is completing next Thursday after almost 9 months of stress and distress on my part – not to mention the fact that I am desperately waiting for the financial relief we’ll get when the new mortgage payment kicks in.

Two hours later the solicitors ring me to say that the original survey has expired and I need to pay £235 for a new one or the mortgage can’t complete.

Ripped off doesn’t even begin to explain how I feel.

I am so fucked off with this fucking mortgage that all I want to do is march in there and tell them to shove it up their arse.

And I can’t because I have a loan secured on the house that means no other lender will touch me.

I’ve tried.

So basically I’m stuck with them. And even though I’ve kicked up a fuss and told them that I am not happy with having to pay for another one – I know I’ll have to. Eventually. They will win.

And I feel mad. Mad and let down and depressed and like I want to yell FUCK OFFFFF! at the top of my voice to anyone that looks at me.

Pah.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2008 9:35 am

    Any chance you can complain to the ombudsman about the unreasonable delay and get the fee shared between the two lenders, it is ridiculous that they can make it take so long and expect you to pay.

    A bit like a traffic warden keeping you chatting and then giving you a ticket when you overstay…

    xc

    Mrs Hojos last blog post..The Perfect Dessert

  2. July 6, 2008 9:41 am

    I know. I am furious.. but I’m aware they have me over a barrel if they feel like it.

    It’s pissed me off so much. The worst part is that when you complete you get the survey fee back and I was looking forward to adding it to my honeymoon spending money and now not only do I not get it back, but I have to pay it again.

    It sucks.

  3. July 6, 2008 5:00 pm

    I think you should drive your car through their office door. Let’s see what cracks that creates.

    MOobss last blog post..Communion

  4. July 6, 2008 7:06 pm

    maybe you could help me do that? 🙂

  5. July 6, 2008 9:13 pm

    I think Mrs Hojo is right; write to them, request a copy of their version of the timeline of events and copies of all the notes pertaining to the case and say you are going straight to the Ombudsman to complain. I would guess they’ll offer to pay it as a good will gesture.

    Merrys last blog post..Why you should always buy Fimo Books.

  6. July 6, 2008 10:14 pm

    ooh that’s a good idea…. like that…

  7. July 7, 2008 2:31 am

    teamwork, never fails ;o)

    xc

    Mrs Hojos last blog post..Stilts

Leave a Reply

