Skip to content

The Daily Grind

July 23, 2008
by

As suggested by Vic

To be honest my daily commute story does hold the risk of putting several of you into a complete and utter catatonic state… but I will make you all jealous with it anyway…

I can come to work at whatever time I like. Most days I get here for 8.30ish and work till around 5. We are open 8am until 5.30pm and I have four staff who are all responsible for keeping it open and occupied during that time. They have a kind of rota situation which they organise themselves and I just sorta stick my oar in every now and then if I feel it’s getting a little relaxed.

We are all contracted to work 37.5 hour week although unfortunately the beautiful concept of ‘flexitime’ doesn’t really hold any water in recruitment. You’re here for 37.5 hours a week (7.5 hours per day) every day and if you need to be here longer then you are!

So – I live about… oooohh…. 11 minutes walk from work..?

So I walk to work… innovative I know 🙂

…. along streets that normally have some sort of canine fecal matter to offer me as scenery …. and then totter past a few shops… deny myself a skinny latte from Coffee Aroma and waltz into work, gorgeous and smoking hot every day (ahem)

🙂

What about you? I tag Hojo, Vic and Foxsden anyone else that wants to have a go – just leave me a comment here that you’ve done it!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2008 10:57 am

    Nope – it kept me awake for another minute. Quite a feat considering my current state of tiredness.
    Have no blog subject matter for today so thanks for the tag – I can blog now.
    For tomorrow I instruct you to write about your lunch! lol

  2. Suburban Mum permalink
    July 23, 2008 11:49 am

    I’m deeply upset that you didn’t tag me 🙂

    Up till last week, my daily commute involved 13 stairs and 2 doors and it took me about a minute.

    Now, I don’t have a daily commute as I’m now an unemployed scally.

  3. July 23, 2008 2:50 pm

    lol – funnily enough I had a really hefty debate with myself for errr.. ooh 10 seconds…. about whether that could be considered thoughtless 😆

  4. Suburban Mum permalink
    July 24, 2008 8:20 pm

    Not at all! Makes me feel quite superior to you all 🙂

  5. July 24, 2008 9:56 pm

    Ha ha! Well now I know…

  6. Suburban Mum permalink
    July 26, 2008 10:04 am

    Well, apart from the money earning bit, obviously. And the office gossip. And the bitchy colleague lunches. And the money.

    BUT… I DON’T HAVE TO COMMUTE ANYMORE!!! MWAHAHAHAHAHA! Oh. I didn’t anyway.

    Sigh.

  7. July 27, 2008 6:28 pm

    Mine’s shorter, depending on which bed i wake up in. But normally there aren’t even stairs or doors, just a duvet and a doorway.

    Obviously i can go to work properly, but mostly i can’t be arsed. I love working for myself 😀

    Merrys last blog post..Protected: Up close and way too personal.

  8. July 27, 2008 7:18 pm

    oh that would be the dream…. one day maybe! Have to find a business first though!!

Trackbacks

  1. My Daily Grind « Fox’s Den

Leave a Reply

