Skip to content

It like there's an alien that only eats the other ones

August 2, 2008
by

You know you’ve reached the real highs lows of the mummy blogger when you start blogging about your washing. Well, your laundry.

Yes I reached that point in my life – where I must talk about socks.

Not just socks

But odd socks.

Odd fucking socks are the bane of the launderying mum (or dad)

I have to admit that the amount of washing I do around here would see us naked by the second week in February.

BN is the guy with the laundry know how.

Or not maybe.

What – may I ask – is the explanation for this….?!

02/08/2008

This was where I started to look for socks for the girls’ going away bags. We leave on Thursday for my folks’ house. Me and the girls and my maid of honour. Sarah gets here on Tuesday… we’re going to primp and preen for the two days. Tidy and organise a bit and then we’re off to the bliss of parent house – to be looked after and relaxed for two days before the big ‘I do’. *Insert *I shit my pants* here..

So.. my folks came over today (suit fitting) and we decided it would be clever to send them away with going away bags for the girls so I had less to think about this week.

Being the amazing mummy I am, I was thinking that it’s becoming so hard to predict the weather at the moment that I would pack them some socks.

I started to get socks out of the box. We keep all their socks in the blanket box in our front room. It makes for more storage upstairs and less running about when you’re trying to get out of the house in the morning.

It took me ten socks to find a pair.

Ten.

Then – I thought – I have to know why these socks aren’t paired.

If it were me – and not my non-sock-pairing other half, that put socks away… I would have to pair them.

Neatness.

Order.

Pairing.

I must have pairing.

I need the pairing.

02/08/2008

This is the blanket box contents.

Now I know why we don’t have pairing.

There are no pairs.

And – this means that some where in the depths of my machine, or my house at least – there are 45 (YES 45!!!!!!) other odd socks.

*Insert title!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2008 9:39 pm

    You see, people wonder why i am on prozac. I’ve been battling this single sock disease for 10 years. 6 weeks ago i bought all of the 8 new pairs each. Now they can’t find any.

    Merrys last blog post..Friday’s Mum works hard for a living.

  2. August 2, 2008 10:12 pm

    Yes well you see – I sympathise.

    I cannot effing stand it!!!!!!!

  3. August 3, 2008 2:07 pm

    snigger… you have an unhealthy obsession with striped pink socks young lady!

    I reckon if you had less socks, they would get washed everyday and not have time to go missing.

    chuckle

    xc

    Mrs Hojos last blog post..Weston-Super Mare Pier

  4. August 3, 2008 11:03 pm

    its the same in my house, maybe I should blog some pics of our odd sock collection too lol.

    Posh Tottys last blog post..Tagged : Needs

  5. August 4, 2008 12:42 am

    perhaps I should admit I threw away a large quantity of odd and holey socks before we left the UK, we seem *touch wood* to be doing ok with socks at the mo, although I suspect it is because I am not working 12 hours a day 7 days a week anymore. I am so not getting into a laundry conversation… nonononononononononono

    xc

    Mrs Hojos last blog post..Weston-Super Mare Pier

  6. Onceinabluemoon permalink
    August 4, 2008 8:44 am

    Hi! Found you via Merry’s twitter (just so you know, lol) We have the same problem with socks. They normally turn up in under or behind beds, behind cupboards, in pockets etc.
    Good luck with finding some of yours! 🙂

Leave a Reply

