Skip to content

*Hot Chicken Soup

September 17, 2008
by

Hatshepsut's Temple - Luxor

Whilst we were in Egypt we went to see the gorgeous and stunning Hatshepsut’s temple. It was the scene of a terrorist attack in 1997 and since that time Tourist police have been employed to be present at every major and minor tourist attraction in the whole country.

Hatshepsut's Temple - Luxor

They can be intimidating at times and they certainly know that. They play on the fact that they hold guns by their sides and often stand menacingly staring at people and whispering conspiratorially in order to unnerve. They implement fines for taking cameras into museums and reserve the right to search any bag that you try to take with you anywhere. I’ve heard stories of them confiscating gifts at airports and demanding money in return for passports etc. Not things that I’m sure are in their job description!

Hatshepsut's Temple - Luxor

In fairness – you ca completely appreciate why they were created – well why the job was created, not the people 🙂

I believe that 67 people died the day that terrorists came over the mountains behind this beautiful place and mercilessly shot tourists admiring the tranquil temple.

Hatshepsut's Temple - Luxor

I’m a sensitive soul as you know, and it was a horror that was not far from my thoughts for the whole time I was there. It had the same verion of effect on me that watching a ‘true story’ movie has on me when something horrific happens. Kind of like Titanic when the woman is cuddling her children on the bed and you just think… God, this really happened to people. And then I get the tears 🙂

I absolutely adored this place and I will certainly go back there one day. It was awesome and beautiful and massive and imposing and yet quiet and private all at once. It was my favourite place… almost.

Hatshepsut's Temple - Luxor

I can’t say enough how much I think everyone should go there.

*Hot Chicken Soup is apparently what lots of people call it in order to help you pronounce the name. Didn’t help me though… I said it differently every time! 😆

Hatshepsut's Temple - Luxor

This is the view looking down and you can see Luxor in the distance. About 38 or so degrees here every day… loved it 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

