Skip to content

Oh, the heartbreak

October 22, 2008
by

Monday night I decided that I would take everyone out for tea.

I got a flyer at work advertising Nando’s for Christmas meals for businesses and it made me remember that my girls love Nando’s and that I hadn’t treated them for a while.

We’re not exactly flush but it’s so cheap there compared to other places and Man Alive! they love it!

😆

The girls got pretty over excited and it didn’t help that they forgot our order *grrr* so it was 40 minutes before they got food.

By the time we got home (after a good meal it has to be said, if late) the girls were pretty hyper excited and I decided upstairs for some tidying up and then straight to bed.

Rowan was distraught that she didn’t get to watch Super Why 🙄 and that didn’t help the whole overtired thing. By the time I actually put her in bed she was dipping her toe in the puddle of stroppy-pants.

I put her blanket over her and she kicked it off, almost kicking my face, and snapped at me

I don’t want my blanket on!!

I firmly tapped my finger on her chest – prodded I ‘spose – and said

You want to watch how you speak to me sometimes please. That is not a nice way to talk to somebody!

I hate to think of her talking to adults like this when I’m not there to address it. I am quite hot on manners.. I can’t help it. I was brought up that way and it’s important to me…

She grabbed her chest and descended into the depths of despair …

BN went in and started to talk to her and wailed that I had injured her. As I left the room to fetch something he was asking her what she’d done that had got her told off and she was busy telling him she hadn’t done anything.

I took a deep breath.

W-h-a-t-e-v-e-r! – these kids – they’re just happy to just say whatever needs to be said to get them out of trouble and into the sympathy cuddles.

BN asked me so I told him and Rowan was in the middle of getting told that she shouldn’t have been rude etc. I was happy to just leave it – she was tired and it’d been an exciting evening…

Then she looked up from her sympathy daddy cuddle and pointed at me across the room…

*sobbing*

Mummy, you broke my h-e-a-r-t…….

*sob sob*

I think a little piece of my heart broke off 😦

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2008 2:04 am

    ouch!!!!
    don;t u hate it when they do that????

    UrbanVox´s last blog post..Arachnophobia…

  2. October 23, 2008 10:57 am

    yep, she knows exactly what she is doing too, wind up merchant :o)
    xc

    mrs hojo´s last blog post..A Hard Day At The Office

  3. October 23, 2008 11:17 am

    Oooooh-ho-hooo!!!! That girl!

    I’m not sure if i have ever seen anything as funny as when she drew the back of her hand across her mouth in despair and ran off to tell on me and Big Ella for being cruel to her… she is a marvellous drama queen 🙂

    Try not to be hurt by it, it is hard though. You wait till she decides she’d rather be anywhere but with you!

    Merry´s last blog post..Creatively fantastical.

Leave a Reply

