Skip to content

erm… child with a gift..?

November 4, 2008
by

Rowan has been saying the oddest things lately… not as in weird words or gibberish – she hasn’t suddenly taken to wandering round the house wittering in an unknown language… no

She is just telling the weirdest little stories…

‘A long time ago when I was older…’

You mean when you were younger, Rowan..

‘No – a long time ago when I was an old lady, I had a little boy that ran in the road and he got hit by a car and we thought he was dead. We took him to the hospital and he was OK. He broke his legs and his arms though. They had to put blue stuff on them to make them better…’

😐

±±±±±±±±±±±±±±

‘A long time ago when I was a baby but not a newborn baby – I was on my seat, lying down on the table and a black and white dog jumped at me and that’s why I’m afraid of dogs’

When Rowan was 3 months old, BN’s dad passed away and after the initial visit alone, Rowan joined us a month later at BN’s mum’s house for the funeral. BN’s mum owned a gorgeous Dalmation Collie cross called Fen. He was black and white. A lovely dog with a gorgeous big heart that just loved to love everyone. He was Dalmation, so a bit loopy anyway and coupled with the fact that he was young he used to leap around a lot.

By this point Rowan was 4 months and we’d started her on baby rice. With Fen around I had to put her baby bouncer on the dining room table to feed her as he wouldn’t take no for an answer when it came to being interested in the new bundle of baby in the house. Something he had never seen. He would bound around the table and try to see what was going on.

Rowan would never remember Fen for two reasons. One we never visit BN’s mum because we don’t drive and she lives a couple of hours away. She smokes in the house so we don’t take the kids there… she always comes here. Secondly, Fen had to be put to sleep a couple of months later when he was discovered to have a brain tumour. She never met him past 4 months old – when she was lying down. in a chair. on a table.

😐

±±±±±±±±±±±±±±

‘A long time ago when I was a tiny baby a lady put a needle in my foot and made it bleed and then she smelled my foot!’

When Rowan was born, she was obvioulsy subjected to the horrendous cruelty which is the heel prick test. I kid. Please don’t comment about that. A week later when the midwife came round to see us she was holding Rowan on her lap and she had a quick look at her foot to see where she had been ‘pricked’. She squeezed Rowan’s little foot and peppered it with kisses – ‘I just love little baby feet!’ she said…

She was lovely and I didn’t mind at all in the slighest – but I do remember it because I remember thinking – it’s so weird that you just kissed my baby’s foot! So smelled my foot – kissed her foot…?

😐 😕

Is Rowan suddenly connected to parts of her brain that other toddlers cannot reach? Is she tapping into past lives? Or has she just got an incredibly good imagination with a skill for coincidence?

You decide!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2008 8:34 pm

    I’ve heard lots of stories of kids doing “past life” recollections; in all honesty, i think it is something they’ve overheard/seen/dreamt/imagined and then filed as real. Like, for example, i know i was 25 before it occurred to me that i couldn’t possibly really remember flying down our grandparents garden, even though it seemed a very real memory. I must have just extrapolated a very realistic dream from all the biking i did in the garden… but who knows? Maybe she does remember things.

    As for the other stuff…. could be. Seems unlikely, but if you can link it to actual events, then maybe she does. I have an extremely clear memory of an event i know happened when i was 18 months and i know that i was having anxiety at the time in a way i have experienced it ever since. 10 days old seems pretty young, but who knows.

    Just don’t assume it will mean that’s she’s so gifted shge can a) tidy her room b) remember you asked her to tidy her room c) not ask stupid questions like “do i have to tidy my room?” or d) do dumb things like say “Ella, Mummy told me YOU had to tidy my room…”

    😉

    Merry´s last blog post..Dear Mummy…

  2. November 4, 2008 8:43 pm

    ha ha ha – love the last bit of your comment!! LOL 🙂

  3. November 5, 2008 2:05 pm

    A remark born from 10 years of tedious experience… .;)

    Merry´s last blog post..No more 3 year olds in the house.

  4. November 5, 2008 4:22 pm

    I have experienced this with my son many times, I even researched something he told me that he could not possibly of known to see if it was real or just his imagination and it was indeed real … Eeek!!

    It facinates me now and I try not to shut him up or tell him its stupid, but at the same time I dont want to push him either, so I just listen to what he has to say and let him know that I am always open to hear what it is he wants to say, no matter how silly or freaky he (or anyone else) may think it is.

    Apparently I was the same as a child too and it used to freak my mum out so I was often told to be quiet and stop being silly. Its only now that mum is starting to recognise what was happening and can accept it. She has now taught me how to be open with my son and helped me to make sure I dont push it away or frighten him.

    I dont ever force things from him or act on what hes told me, I just simply listen and agree and more importantly I take him seriously no matter how silly it may sound at the time.

    My lil man has told me whole conversations that were had by the surgeons during both of his heart surgerys, the first he was just 3 months old and the second he was 2 and a half and both times he should of been well and truely under the anesthetic too, but he says he was not in any pain, he could just hear what they were saying ….. now thats what you call freaky!!!!

    Posh Totty´s last blog post..Fantastic Four

  5. November 5, 2008 4:24 pm

    and after all that I forgot to tell you I have tagged you on my blog lol

    Posh Totty´s last blog post..Fantastic Four

  6. November 5, 2008 8:02 pm

    I know a child whose mother had almost all her belongings in storage while she was pregnant. Right after the child was born, the mother moved into a flat, and things came out of storage – and maternity things went in. Four years later, mother was pregnant again, and dug out the maternity clothes – and found a cassette she’d had in her car whilst pregnant the first time. She put it in the tape-player and the child immediately said, “Oh, you used to listen to this when I was in your tummy!”

    I’m convinced there’s more of…well, everything…than we know about. So while I’m not drawing any conclusions, I’m also not dismissing any potential ones.

  7. November 5, 2008 8:22 pm

    Posh!! OMG! Really?!? The surgeries? That is freaky…!!!

    @Deb OMG!!!! Really??!!?!? That is sooooo cool!!! How could you even explain that??

  8. November 5, 2008 9:24 pm

    I think she’s organizing, and gaining contol of her world through the stories and words that make sense to her. From a distance, I’d say she has an excellent vocabulary, and a mom who encourages her to be introspective, and think. Great job!

  9. November 6, 2008 12:24 am

    I just watched the horror movie Children of the Corn during Halloween. So, I’m freaked out by anything kids do now.

    Marty´s last blog post..W- the movie review

  10. November 6, 2008 7:52 am

    When my youngest was a small thing, she would insist that she was with me in India… she would talk about “when WE lived in India”…
    Only problem was… she wasn’t even born until 5 years AFTER we left India! There was also many conversations about ‘when she was in China”… but I have never been to China!

    This has stopped now that she is 7…. but there was never any doubt that she ‘knew’ what she was talking about…

    Sometimes I think the babies just float about watching and and waiting to come down to join us…. I have heard lots of people tell me stories of ‘knowing’ places that their mother’s visited when they were pregnant.

    lynda´s last blog post..When I grow up…

  11. November 6, 2008 3:34 pm

    brrrrr… spooky!!!
    Genetic memory perhaps????

    the brain is a weird organ don;t forge that… 😉
    I remember things from when I was 2 years old… but hald the time I can;t remember what I had for lunch yesterday… 🙂

    UrbanVox´s last blog post..Pimp My Blog Award! 😉

Leave a Reply

