Skip to content

The bliss of two older girls

November 9, 2008
by

This weekend has truly encapsulated what it is to get passed that baby stage for me.

We went to the park (sans pushchair!!!!!), they baked with BN, they ate nice teas… they played, we watched movies with them…

It’s been happening for a few weeks now in all honestly but it only really hit me this morning when I was lying in bed dozing till 10am with the sound of my girls playing together over the landing.

Up until a while ago, Saturday and Sundays had lost that charm of the lie in. You have a baby and lose that right to laze in bed and contemplate your navel. Or anyone else’s for that matter! You can’t make a baby wait for food – and nor would I want to I hasten to add! I’m fairly sure you can get into trouble for that… A baby can’t wait for cuddles, a baby can’t wait for anything. If it’s crying – it needs you. If it’s *awake* it needs you let’s be honest.

As much as I loved both my babies as babies, I have to confess I was happy to see that stage pass.

I love the tiny, tiny baby stage. I love the newbornness, the tiny wrinkles and the clenching fists, the papery skin, little spots to pick πŸ˜‰ But, the tiredness? The weird, goopy, black, green and yellow nappies? The dribble? The crying, oh, the crying. Did I mention the tiredness?

I have to be honest – I can do without it! πŸ™‚ (does that come through?)

I laugh looking back that I thought one newborn baby was hard. Try a newborn baby and the toddler!! It was easier in so many ways but OH.MY.GOD the tiredness!!

M friend Sue, that I went to school with, has just had her first… and second! Twin boys – I called her to pass on my congratulations and we laughed together about the tiredness.. There’s truly nothing in the world that could have prepared me for it with Rowan. The child seemed to have a sixth sense of even when I was *about* to put her down. She would only sleep on someone. The moment you even smelled like you were putting her down she would wake up. She once woke up from the deepest sleep on my lap just because I bit into a slice of toast.

She was hard work..

So lying in bed this morning, drifting in and out of a very pleasurable doze it occurred to me that I have entered The Next Stage.

This is the stage that I remember thinking was my future when I had just had Ella. The absolute beauty of having two ready made playmates that fight every ten minutes adore one another and scrap like cat and dog every other minute play together like angels every day.

They totter in about 7.30am and charge about our room for 2 minutes until we tell them it’s still nighttime and they need to go back to bed and get some more sleep πŸ˜‰ That lasts for about 15 minutes tops and then you just hear the screams & giggles wafts of noise, squawk & screech into my brain gently blow across the airwaves of the two of them playing imaginary games together.

Absolute bliss!

The annihilation of bedroom part 1

This morning’s evidence of annihilation – their bedroom looks like this at least twice a day – unfortunately for these two they have a mother that can’t handle it so they had to clear this up before they had their breakfast πŸ™‚

The annihilation of bedroom part 2

Of course added in to every other morning is the refereeing required to stop them from pulling each other’s hair out – but that’s another story πŸ˜†

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 11, 2008 11:33 pm

    I am impressed at how tidy they keep their room, you can still see bits of the floor. Thats something I cant see in lil mans room most mornings lol.

Leave a Reply

