Skip to content

Abdication

November 14, 2008
by

Isn’t it crazy that as you become part of a couple and gradually morph into two halves of the same identity, all the ability you begin to lose to act like a functional human being in certain situations?

I have lost the ability to empty the bins or cross the road when in the presence of BN.

BN has lost the ability to throw away the inner cardboard tube of toilet rolls or find anything in the house without asking me where it is first.

What is it when we get to this point of a relationship that you become dependent on one another in order to function in a normal way?

And how far could we take this?

Darling, would you just make me a cup of tea because I’ve forgotten how….

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2008 1:15 am

    My hubby and I are totally there. He can’t put groceries away and I can’t balance the checkbook.

    Kate´s last blog post..Cool quiz that requires brain power

  2. Suburban Mum permalink
    November 16, 2008 11:59 am

    I have lost the ability to load the dishwasher, sort the bins (more so now we have FOUR) and fill up with petrol.

    SH has lost the ability to tidy up, put things in the laundry basket, put clean clothes away and iron.

    Actually thinking about it, I’m not sure he ever did know these things.

  3. November 17, 2008 9:55 am

    I’m going to file that tea one away for future use!
    I think urbanvox didn’t have the ability to do much around the house when we met. I guess he’s improved a little since. As for me….

    Vic´s last blog post..For lack of proper blogging material…

  4. November 17, 2008 8:34 pm

    heyyyyy!!!
    I had the ability of doing things… Vic Forgets I used to live on my own before meeting her…
    Ok… most of the time I would just pay people to do it but that’s beside the point! 😛
    Vic has improved a bit… just… well… needs some more work done on that one! lol!

    UrbanVox´s last blog post..Monday morning, shut the door baby don’t say a word!

Leave a Reply

