Skip to content

Coldplay baby!

November 30, 2008
by

Well – as much as I would like to have a Coldplay baby…. sadly that’s not to be for me….

Sorry BN … but you know where we stand on this – when Chris Martin realises where I am, I’ll be off ๐Ÿ˜‰

This will be a story mostly told with pictures – because let’s face it… who doesn’t want to see pictures of Chris Martin?!

We had an absolutely fantastic time. Arrived in Sheffield on Saturday afternoon about 2pm, checked into our fancy schmancy hotel

291120081371

greeted with this..

291120081372

Yes that would be a flat panel, wall mounted TV… and a very retro chic plastic chair…

291120081365

Oh yes … you’re right… I have gone up some stairs…!

291120081367

Just to prove it… look! There is me peering over the edge!

291120081363

Upstairs to our bedroom! This is just our room! And yes – that would be another TV! Crazy – The same amount of TVs in this hotel room as we have in our house!

Loved this hotel! ๐Ÿ™‚

Bed = firm … and veeeery comfy = husband and wifey time ๐Ÿ˜€
We got ready and went out to the concert – and while we were there… this is what we saw…

291120081386

291120081385

Well …. we saw more than just this … but for some reason these are my favourite pictures ๐Ÿ˜†

30/11/2008

Oh yeah and that one ๐Ÿ˜‰

They were absolutely fucking fantastic! There is nothing else you can say – the concert was an entirely seated one which was a bit weird and our evening was slightly tainted at one point by a group of people right in front of us that insisted on dancing right in our line of sight on the edge of balcony meaning we couldn’t see the stage without standing up… and we had loads of seated people behind us… it was all very Politik.

It didn’t ruin it though – it was a shame that one of the women chose to wear a fugly purple satin binbag – that was offensive to my occipital lobe – but other than that the whole thing was FAB!!

Chris Martin was gorgeous – the songs were COOL! They opened with Life in Technicolour II and Violet Hill and played solidly for about 90 minutes… Speed of Sound, Viva la Vida, Trouble, Yellow (last song) Fix You, Politik, The Scientist, Clocks, God Put a Smile Upon My Face, In My Place, Lost and others… It was ‘MAZIN’
to quote an Ella Word.

The show was fantastic – the set was great – at one point they ran down the arena and went up to the first balcony level to play Scientist. They were right opposite us – so gutted they didn’t pick our side but hey … you can’t have everything!

291120081389

I love DIT – I would definitely see them again – we are hoping to see them next year if we can..

We went back to the hotel – managed to get out of the arena first and get on the first tram back as we were right near an exit. It was great actually because when we got back to the hotel we went to the bar to have a few drinks and probably for at least the next hour and a half we saw people arriving back with their Coldplay merchandise bags! (incidentally I got a red Viva la Vida tee shirt in a medium skinny … Get me!)

We met two nice women in the bar –

Karen and Michelle

one a little drunk but funny, the other very funny. Clearly very good friends as they were taking the piss out of each other a lot. The conversation ranged from our kids, their kids, jobs (they were teachers), schools, Lincoln in general, Coldplay (they had also been to the concert)… it was a great end to the evening. We got on with them really well and the chat was easy and funny. Unfortunately, they did make me drink 5 vodka and diet cokes which means that this morning, I needed this..

Hangover breakfast...

and this….

Hangover Orange Juice!

we went to the Sheffield Museum and saw the John Ruskin Exhibition and I had to take this for my sister’s youngest – because she loves Penguins more than anything else! Maybe this would be the answer to world peace..?

For Josie

Then we got the train back to my folks (first class thank you!) and my dad brought us back home to a house that may have well had all the windows open for the last 72 hours. Our house is so fucking freezing that I still haven’t warmed up and we’ve had every heater on for the last 5 and a half hours! We really need central heating.. does anyone feel like helping with that..?

No..? No takers for that?

Ok – well….

The girls have had a mad weekend with Granny & Grampty and on the way home they looked like this

It's been a long weekend, mum..

Trying to drown out the sound of Rowan's snoring with my ipod.. And I tried to drown out the sound of Rowan snoring, with my Ipod and I closed my eyes and thought of this…

30/11/2008

https://i1.wp.com/images.contactmusic.com/dn/chris+martin_855_18541572_0_0_6000990_300.jpg

I think the word is hum-a-nah – hum-a-nah

When will he realise that Gwynneth is no good?!!!?!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2008 10:58 pm

    I used to rule the world, seas would rise when I gave the word, now in the morning I sleep alone, sweep the streets I used to own…….

    oh yeah

    xc

  2. November 30, 2008 11:01 pm

    oh yeah baby! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. November 30, 2008 11:14 pm

    I LOVE that hotel room. Love it. Also really want sausages now, hotel sausages are the best sausages in the world.

    Not so keen on Coldplay (sorry!) but glad they were as amazing as you hoped. I wouldn’t say no to Chris Martin either, he’s rather something.

    I love photo posts! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. December 1, 2008 1:08 am

    so so jealous! hehehe
    I’ve been kinda hooked on coldplay since 2003 or so… a friend of mine gave me a CD of them first time I came to the UK to listen in the airplane…
    never been to one of their shows tho! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    happy u had a great time tho!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    UrbanVoxยดs last blog post..Work in Progress

  5. December 1, 2008 3:39 am

    Sounds as they were brilliant there too. Rumor has it all is not so smooth in the Martin/Paltrow house so you never know….. yay you for getting the red M skinny t-shirt too! How’d you find that cool hotel?

    mumof4ยดs last blog post..Snowy Saturday

  6. Mancais permalink
    December 1, 2008 6:39 pm

    Good to see you had a great time

  7. December 1, 2008 7:29 pm

    Thanks everyone! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Urban Vox – you should go if you get the chance – it was FABBO!

    @Mumof4 – they were amazing – Keep me posted on that gossip! lol The hotel was BN’s find – the Hubster is rather talented when it comes to seeking out great places to stay! It was the best hotel I have ever stayed in – honestly – loved it.

    Geek Mama – Not keen on Coldplay? I’m afraid I don’t understand those words in that order!! And yes – the sausages were hum-a-nah hum-a-nah!

  8. December 5, 2008 8:45 am

    Coldplay are coming to Perth in Feb, I can’t get to Perth and back on a Friday night and still work on a Sat :o(
    boo hoo
    xc

    mrs hojoยดs last blog post..Advent Conspiracy

Leave a Reply

