Skip to content

Drum roll, please…..

December 1, 2008
by

Ladies aaaaand gentlemen….. please put your hands together (and your fingers on keyboards!!) and give an outstanding, Little Nut Tree welcome ….. to the one…… the only…. the smart tongued, quick fire commenter and blogger extraordinaire…. Mrs Hojo!!!!

Locals, regulars and lurkers… please make Mrs Hojo feel cosy, warm and welcome 🙂

A Christmas Message

I went to a School Assembly recently at a local Christian School, the gist of which was don’t forget the real meaning of Christmas. It is easy to forget the true meaning of Christmas while we are buying and wrapping presents, decorating our homes and writing cards and letters to our friends and loved ones.

The assembly started with naming the important people at Christmas time, this being a religious school, Santa was not high on the list. It began with Mary, Joseph and a baby (plastic) swiftly joined on stage by a few Shepherds, some Kings, the Bible doesn’t say how many, but usually interpreted as three, one for each gift. Gold, Myrrh and the one Frank sent. Next we saw a donkey (not real) some lambs (ditto) Santa (ditto), a sack of gifts, a tree covered in decorations (no lights: health and safety) as the crowd on the stage grew bigger, Mary and Joseph (and baby) (still plastic) were harder and harder to see, hidden at the back behind the other ‘important’ participants.

Now, we were asked, what’s wrong with this scene?

We can’t see Jesus, was the general muttering.

Correct, the important part had been hidden behind the trimmings and general busyness of the season.

So, back to modern day life and an important lesson learned. As I pondered this on my way home it occurred to me that this is relevant to me, particularly as the first year of our blog draws to a close.

Don’t forget, when you are tucked up at home with your families, in the snowy or sunny weather, eating your turkey, with roast potato and all the veggies and trimmings, or with salads and a tinnie on the beach, visiting with family and friends, enjoying a sleet filled journey up and down the M1, or a steamy saunter up the Kwinana Freeway, don’t forget to update your blogs so we know what you are up to, where you are and who you are celebrating with, preferably with pictures.

Otherwise, in January when the weather is too cold/too hot and you have a chocolate/alcohol hangover, you will have no one to swap comments with.

And that would be sad.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

X

The Hojo’s

PS. Don’t forget the last posting day to Australia is December 5th.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2008 10:02 am

    I won’t forget you! Just a little consumed with novel writing still. But I’m here, remembering. Please swap your comments with me! 😛

    Vic´s last blog post..Newsflash!

  2. December 2, 2008 7:46 pm

    Thanks for commenting Vic! 🙂 You must remember to send me your address for your chutney!! 🙂

  3. Mancais permalink
    December 2, 2008 11:18 pm

    I won’t forget the bits I can do. Not got a blog so I can’t update that. I may have to get one you lovely people to post a photo or 2.

  4. December 3, 2008 6:30 pm

    I wish he’d buzz his hair short again… he looks slightly less attractive with curly hair.

    Foxsden´s last blog post..He Shows Up….. Same Day Every Year

  5. December 3, 2008 6:30 pm

    Sorry… I’m commenting on the wrong post – I was talking about Chris Martin!

    Foxsden´s last blog post..He Shows Up….. Same Day Every Year

  6. December 3, 2008 7:28 pm

    Yes me too! I like him with shorter hair… not to say I can’t imagine grabbing hold of a few curls… 😉

  7. December 3, 2008 9:55 pm

    ummmmmm
    chocolate hangover!!! 🙂

    UrbanVox´s last blog post..Drinks are on me!!

  8. December 3, 2008 10:05 pm

    @SCM I will post photos for you!

  9. December 4, 2008 9:15 am

    Did my comment get spammed? I wasn’t THAT rude :o) I only insulted your chutney a little bit……

    donuts away
    xc

    mrs hojo´s last blog post..Fridges and Freezers

  10. December 4, 2008 8:16 pm

    no comment in my spam – maybe my blog had some blog-intuition and refused to accept rude remarks about my chutney!!!!!

    You donut!

Leave a Reply

