Skip to content

Twas Three Days After Christmas…

December 29, 2008
by

I had this vision when I was younger that as a Mummy, I would always read ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas poem to my adoring children each Christmas Eve and that they would be gathered round me on their beds charged with excitement that Father Christmas was on his way….  I thought this year with Rowan being 4, would be a great year to start this tradition. I didn’t expect Ella to pay any attention yet for obvious reasons but I hoped Rowan would be ready..

The first time we read it, she didn’t pay 100% attention but I chose to give her a pre-Christmas Eve trial run so she knew what to expect, so the night before Christmas Eve we had a preview. On Christmas Eve – she actually asked for the Santa story at bedtime and I was more than a little pleased 🙂 At one point she lay down next to me and rested her little hand on my chest as she listened intently.

At the last part when Father Christmas calls out ‘A merry Christmas to all and to all a Good Night’ she was clearly enchanted. I just loved it!!!!!!!

We made our way over to my folks’ house on Christmas Eve and quickly got to work on the munching part of the proceedings!

DSC_0240

The G&G’s house looked fab all lit up and the girls were very excited to see all the windows sparkling with fairy lights. As usual Granny had done a great job of making everything look Christmassy. Rowan was particularly interested in why the lights were up the bannister and when could we climb up the bannister to poke them 🙄

Something I caught her doing more than once..!

We tracked Santa on NORAD and Rowan was amazed to see that he had already been to Russia and Australia and Asia and was already in Italy! She doesn’t actually know any of those countries but when we showed her where we were in comparison she wanted to get to bed right that minute!! 😆

When she woke up on Christmas morning she found that Santa had been and filled her stocking with little goodies and I was so chuffed that when she saw Ella was still asleep, she brought her stocking to open with us in bed. She said she hadn’t wanted to wake her sister and it was truly lovely to share that little moment with her and I loved that I didn’t miss out on her excitement at all her little bits and bobs. She came tip tapping in to say that Santa had been and that he had left sparkly footprints outside her room, and eaten his mince pie! and drunk his juice! and taken the reindeer had eaten his apple! and he read some of his Santa book! (We left the night before Christmas poem on the window seat to give Santa something to do whilst he ate his treats… and he’d left it open at a page he was reading when he’d had to leave…) She made it till 6am too which I didn’t think was bad at all!!

We came down in the morning and had breakfast and the lounge door remained mysteriously shut although Rowan was desperate to watch a movie! When every single family member had finally showered & eaten, Rowan, Ella and I went first to investigate. Cameras poised by Rich and BN, we went in to find that Santa had obviously come in down the chimney.. more sparkly footprints and some Santa magic dust were found and …… two piles of presents!

DSCF2575

DSCF2578

DSC_0199

DSC_0195_2

Ella at breakfast that day.

DSC_0198

One for Ella and one for Rowan.

So amazing that she was able to see the evidence from his visit and she couldn’t wait to tell me all about it! Later on in the day she was adamant that she had been awake in the night and heard Santa Claus’s footsteps on the roof 🙂

I have to say as an aside actually, that I have been absolutely thrilled with the way the girls have behaved over the last 3 or 4 days. Absolutely gorgeous thank yous and exuberant gratitude for all their presents, lovely manners when they were given anything and only one gentle reminder needed one time only, to pause and look at something before they raced onto asking for something else to open. Rowan actually squealed with delight over three of her presents which was just an absolute joy! They played well together with everything they got as well which was lovely to watch.

DSC_0250

DSCF2594

DSC_0244

DSC_0246

We saved a few presents for the following day as well and last night they opened their Melissa & Doug Ice Cream Scoop set which I bought after winning the give away over at Glowstars. They couldn’t have loved it more and they played for well over an hour handing out ice creams to all the gathered rellies. Mum’s sister, two of her children, Harriet and Toby, Harriet’s husband and my Uncle Peter came over to spread Christmas cheer… not sure if they forgot to bring it with them but the thought was there I guess!! 😉

Considering it was Rowan’s first Christmas where she has really understood all the excitement and the fact that if she was lucky Father Christmas would come and leave her wonderful gifts. She really absorbed everything and enjoyed the whole weekend for the family aspect of it as much as the presents she received. She adored seeing her cousins whom she thoroughly worships just as much as she was amazed to open her DS Lite. I was very, very proud of her.

DSC_0318

DSC_0363

DSC_0285

DSC_0317

DSC_0368

DSCF2634

Bless little Grampty – tiring few days apparently!!

I caught Rowan whispering their four names over and over today in the car on the way home with just such a sparkle in her eyes as if she was reliving some little event from the day she spent with them. We really must get together and Mr Patch of Puddles and I made a pact that we will sort out a weekend for the lot of us to get together. Soon!

We had Pasty Day on Christmas Eve..

DSCF2519

A BN family tradition where in his house growing up, they used leftover veggies and turkey to make turkey pasties on the day after Boxing Day. To be eaten with lots of pickles and homemade chips!! It has morphed over the last 4 years to Pasties being made with fresh turkey on Christmas Eve – to be eaten with lots of pickles and sometimes chips depending on how hungry anyone is! lol

As usual they were absolutely effing massive (and delicious) but no matter how much anyone exclaims and professes that they couldn’t possibly eat that much, they usually disappear in their entirety pretty quickly!! (Because of all the deliciousness).

We had a lovely lazy time… What else? Christmas dinner was lovely – a great triumph for G&G especially considering they drank almost two bottles of wine in the process of cooking it! Ella flaked out just before dinner so we had to eat without her .. but to be honest that was probably the best. She was absolutely shattered and dinner would probably have been a bit of a nightmare if she hadn’t have gone for a nap.

DSCF2632

This is actually Ella on Boxing Day…. but you know…. it was a cute shot!

DSC_0281

This photo was just to fitting not to put here…!

Lots of lovely sleepy chatting after the lovely food…

DSCF2622

DSCF2606

The whole present opening was lovely. My absolute favourite presents being some Lush bath stuff from my sis and a calendar for the coming year from BN.

28/12/2008

BN and I had a pact that we wouldn’t buy each other anything this year as we are pretty skint. The money was all going to be spent on the children! Unbeknown to me, he had already got something before we made that decision and DIDN’T TELL ME!!! So annoying!! Naughty boy… as I almost got him a little nick nacky something (more than once) but restrained myself, reminding myself of the agreement… I think he should have told me! Grrr …. the bugger! And his present made me cry (little tears of happiness) so it’s double buggerness!!   😆  My dad got me a CD of Elton John’s greatest hits which I really wanted (does that make me sad old?) and I am going to be uploading them to the pod in the next couple of days! Thank you Grampty!

The girls’ favourites were some wooden food, dinosaurs and kitchen stuff along with the much wanted baby for Ella

DSCF2563

and a DS for Rowan.

DSCF2605

(It was actually my DS wrapped up for her, for the two of us to share. But she totally understood that and has really taken on board that it was her Peppa Pig game for Christmas and that the DS is mummy’s but given to her for Christmas to share). See what I mean about being fabulous children?! What a great girl. We gave her that after the main bit of the meal .. so when all the chatting was taking place, she sat and happily played her new Peppa game…

DSCF2570

My beautiful Girl.

Annoyingly we bought them the Tinkerbell movie which they desperately wanted – and we cannot find it anywhere 😦  It has got lost somewhere between our house and G&G’s house … goodness knows where! Bit sorry about it because I really wanted them to have it. They were so desperate for it. Hopefully it’ll turn up.

We had lovely family time on Boxing Day with the Patch of Puddles crew and I’m going to leave you with a few pictures from the weekend.

DSC_0411

Christmassyness!!!

DSC_0350

The obligatory taking a picture of someone taking a picture!


DSC_0409

Josie..

me and my sis

Sisters!


DSCF2600

Cooking for Uncle Rich..


DSC_0382

Christmassyness!


DSC_0356

Giving a present!


DSC_0366

Getting one!


DSC_0351

Ah! Another one!!


DSC_0412_2

Had to get this one in here ‘cos I’m loving the diet results! I was rather impressed with my new back shot!


DSC_0386_2

This is what happens when you point a camera at me!


DSC_0423

Not true!!

DSC_0369

This game was very good fun! We played it two nights running and then Uncle Rich and BN and I stayed up last night to play a second game after Grampty had gone to bed! Drunkeness doesn’t necessarily help with golfing skill though, I’ll warn you. Also watched Hancock, Iron Man and Shoot Em Up. Good movies!

DSC_0387

Nana thinking about drinking that wine. Granny thinking she shouldn’t have had those two bottles..

DSC_0312

Please. Stop with that freaking camera! I am trying to flip pancakes with Daddy Pig. (My daughter much?)

DSCF2627

Santa left a Gingerbread House…

DSCF2631

Rowan ate it quicker than I could take a photo! In the time it took Rowan to eat 5 sweets, Ella had only got one hand as far as the board it was sitting on!! 🙂

DSC_0425

I may have been drinking.

DSC_0418

Me and my crazy daughter. Ahem.

DSC_0419

The Crazy Puddles!

DSC_0268

Crazy Drunken Granny.

DSCF2538

DSC_0217

Much wanted baby.

DSC_0206

Peppa Pig Blankets were a hit!

DSC_0304

Christmas Day tea time for the girls… Rowan may not have had enough lunch … although she did eat her body weight in chocolate coins, tree chocolates and biscuits and pretty much any other kind of Christmas related junk food she could get her hands on.

I may make you look at post more photos tomorrow.. but right now. I must sleep. Work tomorrow. Yawnarama Potato Farmer.

I hope you all had a great Christmas … and maybe next year I’ll be able to tempt more of you to speak to me! Nice to hear from you Mimi! Merry Christmas to you too and thank you for delurking! Mwah!!

🙂

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2008 12:31 am

    That is a really great blog. It was lovely to be with you 🙂 PS, conversation had, 95% positive it is a yes.

    Merry´s last blog post..Christmas has come round again.

  2. December 29, 2008 1:40 am

    What a fabulous Christmas post. I LOVED it!!!!

    It looks like everyone had an utterly fabulous time. So glad to see you are still persevering on behalf of the wine lovers club too 😉

    Deffo yes to posting more photos, I love looking at them! It’s inspired me to do a Christmas blog now too. Anything to ignore the threat of the ever looming hogmanay. blah.

    xxxx

  3. December 29, 2008 6:47 am

    That all looks fab, glad you had a great time.
    xc

    mrs hojo´s last blog post..First Australian Christmas

  4. December 29, 2008 11:10 am

    Crickey.. I feel positively worn out just reading about your Christmas! The girls are going to have fantastic memories… Oh and I’d get the bugger in the red coat back to do the hoovering if I were you – you’re going to be finding santa footsteps ground into the carpet until next year 🙂

  5. Mancais permalink
    December 29, 2008 12:05 pm

    Looks and sounds like you had a great time.

  6. December 29, 2008 5:48 pm

    @Merry – ❗
    @Geek – thanks! I enjoyed doing it actually.. and yes I made sure there was plenty of perseverance on the Merlot club membership. I also took out a membership to Baileys anonymous as well… 2009 may well be brought in in the same manner…
    @Mrs Hojo – thanks!
    @Foxsden – Crickey? Is he friends with Mr McKay? 😉 Luckily I was smart enough to stay at Granny’s house for Santa’s visit so in fact *Granny* will be hoovering up fairy dust till next year :LOL:
    @SCM – it was a really good year… there have been good ones and not so good ones… this one was a treat! How was yours?

  7. December 29, 2008 10:51 pm

    What a lovely post. Sounds like a great Christmas!

    Karen´s last blog post..Musical Monday . . .

  8. December 30, 2008 8:33 am

    It won’t be until around July when Granny is sat watching tv and someone says ‘you’ve got a bit of glitter on your face’ and she’ll flip out! lol

    Foxsden´s last blog post..Our First Marine Critter

  9. December 31, 2008 12:05 am

    lol – that’s more like it! Then I’ll just buy her a bottle of Baileys 🙂

Leave a Reply

