Skip to content

The Last Happy New Year Post – until next year!

January 1, 2009
by

DSCF2674

Had a great time last night!

We couldn’t go out because of the girls obviously (without getting a babysitter) but to be honest I’m really not that arsed about going out and trying to have a good time in the freezing cold waiting for midnight and then trying to get home as quickly and cheaply as possible!

Grumpy?

Me?

Nope!

Much.

Anyway – we decided to stay in alone ages ago as I have to be at work on Friday and actually we normally spend New Years at my folks house anyway. I can’t remember the last time I went out for New Year. Although maybe that’s the sign of a good NYE come to think of it…! It has to be said it felt pretty weird and un-new yeary for a bit, being at *home* home.

BUT!

We decorated the front room, the girls fought over balloons and we made the house a little more festive!

01/01/2009

DSCF2665

(Only on this window in fact – but then I did say a *little* festive)

What else did we do? UMMMMM! We bought some party food at Marks (I’m not posh but it’s the only supermarket in Lincoln centre and to be fair, their party food is pretty fucking good!)

AND and and!! – they had this deal on call Partying or something where you buy 3 party food dishes and you get a bottle of fizz all for a tenner… I mean really – you can’t complain… well … you could..

but anyway…..

UM! We got some prawny Chinesey things, some Indian kebabby things, mini sausages, duck wraps, some cheese and crackers and pate… and we were off!!!

My good friend S came to spend the evening with us ‘cos she’s sad and has no mates and drew the short straw to spend NYE with the parents of two young children! 😈

DSCF2667

Not reeeeeaally… S recently split with her fella and after deliberating spending the evening with their normal crowd where Mr X would be, S decided that she would rather not see in the new year with her ex boyfriend.

A totally sensible choice I think! Plus – we had a riot!

DSCF2653

Or *I* did at least! πŸ™‚

S brought some pickled cocktail beetrooty things and some Gu puddings and some Tiffin and chocolatey caramel square things – we ate mince pies and drank Baileys & fizz and basically over the last 10 days I have put on a lb for every single 24 hours that has passed 😳

Right now I’m back in the next size up jeans and my belly feels as though it’s due for popping! And no I’m not pregnant – I just mean a FOOD baby!

But hey – it’s all been worth it & I’m back on the diet tomorrow!!

Ahem.

We played Yahtzee and some Trivial Pursuit – watched Jool’s Hootnanny (always a requirement for me to really *feeeel* the newyearyness) and basically we were rowdy and boisterous and FAT!

At midnight we saw the new year in with a variety of silly photos and realised that we spent nearly 30 minutes posing for pictures that made us look like idiots… but hey …. isn’t that a normal New Year??

DSCF2652

DSCF2654_2

01/01/2009

01/01/2009

The today – the girls woke up at 7 (oh the goodness) and luckily they played for two hours whilst we dozed and had some husband and wifey time πŸ™‚

S stayed till about 1pm and then BN cooked the most amazing New Year’s Day meal. We had roast beef with all the trimmings, and then homemade lemon cheesecake for us and Christmas Pudding for BN – all with crackers and party hats! It really felt as though we’d just had our first Christmas at home… the crackers will do it every time! (Incidentally – really good crackers from Boots.. cool presents in them!)

01/01/2009

(the jug is blackcurrent juice wine for the girls!)

This morning, the New Year Fairy had been to visit and left the girls the Peter Pan and Tinkerbell DVD set. Not a tradition that will continue I shouldn’t think but Father Christmas has meant to leave them Tinkerbell for Christmas and somehow it got lost in transit.. The New Year Fairy got wind of this and decided to replace it… those fairies … bless ’em!

πŸ˜‰

Hope you had a great time whatever you did and that 2009 is a happy, healthy and safe year for all of you!!

**Edited to add – How could I have forgotten to mention that I received a drunken phonecall from The Red Headed Secretary herself at 00:19 wishing me a Happy New Year and rambling something about Karaoke

Made my night!! πŸ˜‰

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2009 9:00 pm

    What, no mention of receiving a drunken phone call from the legend in her own lifetime?!

    HNY x

  2. January 1, 2009 9:04 pm

    Oh Yes!!! How could I have forgotten!!!!??!!!!! πŸ™‚

  3. January 1, 2009 9:08 pm

    Hahahahahahahaha!

    Dancing Queeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeen

  4. Suburban Mum permalink
    January 1, 2009 10:48 pm

    I actually have no recollection of what I said to you.

  5. January 1, 2009 10:52 pm

    I’m not shocked! πŸ™‚

    You said happy new year stuff and then said that you’d been singing karaoke and I can’t actually remember much more than that cos I was a little tipsy myself πŸ™‚

    I think I answered the phone saying look who’s giving me a drunken happy new year phonecall!!

    lol

  6. January 2, 2009 12:02 am

    Happy New Year Xx

    Posh TottyΒ΄s last blog post..Happy Hangover

  7. January 2, 2009 10:17 am

    “over the last 10 days I have put on a lb for every single 24 hours that has pass” – you’re not the only one. Your pregnant point made me laugh, cos I am seriously considering claiming that as my reason for excessive tiredness (being hungover) and bursting out of my clothes at the waist and boobs (it couldn’t possibly be that I’ve just gotten fatter!). Maybe I could eat for two for the next nine months? Might seem a bit weird not to come away with a baby at the end though.

    VicΒ΄s last blog post..Just call me Rosalie

Leave a Reply

