Skip to content

Dry Nights

January 2, 2009
by

I took all advice gratefully and we pondered and considered and decided that last night was the right time to start the no pull ups process.

Rowan has been relatively keen to try pull up free sleep for a while but had been chickening out at the last minute and asking for them – I have to be honest as well, we hadn’t been pushing her. Mostly because I couldn’t quite get the enthusiasm for constant getting up in the night. I don’t work well with interrupted sleep. I can just about cope with newborn babies because they can’t help it and I do understand that they need, like, food and stuff… but voluntary night waking?

Not so much.

But.. Rowan really grasped the whole New Year concept and was shouting Happy New Year to everyone for the last couple of days and BN & I explained to her that 2009 was starting and it was the end of 2008. I decided to add into the mix that this meant she wasn’t supposed to be wearing pull ups at night any more and she totally went with it and was very excited. She was all leaping around and squealing with the grownupness!

I had purchased some dry night mats last week and we administered said mats to bed last night and Rowan went for seventeenty wees before bed and once in bed and for quite a while after bed whilst talking to Ella, visiting Ella’s bedside to see if she was asleep yet shake her awake and generally being far too much of awake.

But – in the end she did fall asleep and the trauma for me began. It was never far from my thoughts for the entire evening and eventually at 10.30 I went to lift her.

No wee.

So – being the obsessive parent that I am who is more concerned with the changing of wet sheets in the middle of the night than they are about their child’s sleep, I lifted her again at 11.30.

Each time – hoping to goodness that I didn’t put my hand in a wet bed, wet with WEE! Bleurgh!

11.30. No wee.

What is it with this child?!?! No wee?? Can this be normal??

So – I gave up and prepared myself for the fact that we would be changing sheets and bedclothes at 2am and there was pretty much nothing I could do about it.

Rowan was so distressed about being woken up at 11.30 that she shouted ‘NO  NO NO!!’ at me when I took her from bed. She had a strop on the toilet and when I pulled up her nightie to see if she was weeing, she stropped it back down again and thrust her arms folded across her chest.

I don’t care who you are but you ain’t watching me NOT wee.

Hurrumph.

So – I told my brain to wake up at 3. Eventually got to sleep about 12.30 and lo and behold but my clever brain did wake me at 3.04!

I leapt from my warm, cozy, squishy, comfy bed and went to her room and once more, wrenched her from her warm, cozy, squishy, comfy bed and took her to the toilet.

She was so stroppy and I could see that she was trying. This is it, I thought. I am destined to be changing weed on sheets for the next 5 years.

Then wee!!!

WEEEE!!

Her little face 🙂

She was so pleased. Even in her sleep fog, she was so pleased. She glowed and glowed, I told her lots of well dones and took her back to bed.

We can get a good run at it for the next couple of days. I am at work this afternoon but I don’t have to get up tomorrow or Sunday so three in the am doesn’t sound too bad when you know you don’t have to get up the next day. Then next week, I shall just have to persevere. I’ve been to work before on less than 8 hours and I’m sure I can cope for a while.

So! A dry first night. She’s so excited about it and I’m going to do a little star chart for her this afternoon at work so she can get a little motivation from that.

So – one question… how long does this take, donuts?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2009 10:20 am

    Forever and ever and ever. And then some of course cos you’ll have to start with Ella.

    Vic´s last blog post..Just call me Rosalie

  2. January 2, 2009 11:21 am

    And there i was going to write forever and ever…
    8 years with Fran
    3 years with Maddy
    2 days with Amelie
    TBA with Josie.

    I shouldn’t get into the habit of lifting her at 3am if i were you or she’ll subconsciously expect it; to some extent she is going to need some accidents to train her brain into waking up. Amelie has always been good at that but the others had to learn it; Fran was only saying the other day how she can now usually realise that a toilet or hot liquid dream means she needs to wake up.

  3. January 2, 2009 11:34 am

    no no no wrong answer!

    What you meant to say was – one day!

  4. January 2, 2009 12:07 pm

    until she gets herself up,
    happy days

    xc

    mrs hojo´s last blog post..New Years Eve 2008

  5. Carly permalink
    January 2, 2009 4:12 pm

    Oh, I’ll give you the happy story then, and once I was brave enough to throw away the pull-ups we had ONE accident. That was it. Rebecca will be 4 in June and she’s able to wake up and take herself to the toilet.

    I didn’t wake her up though – I was too scared that she’d get used to waking up at a certain time or expecting me to take her during the night & I didn’t want to create a habit!

  6. January 2, 2009 9:23 pm

    oooh my assvice is definitely don’t obsess about the waking her for a wee part. we sometimes lift the boy before we go to bed but he often doesn’t perform on demand, yet still wakes up dry, albeit desperate for the loo!

    one feisty mama´s last blog post..Happy New Ears…

Leave a Reply

