Skip to content

What's on your mantle?

January 2, 2009
by

We at the Nut Tree, think your mantle can say a lot about you..

Subconsciously I think we all put the things on there that are important to us… well why wouldn’t we? We see it every day after all.

So this is my mantle piece as of this evening. It has a little piece of everything that is important to me.

02/01/2009

It has my girls.. there are six photos of my children on here. One recentish one of Rowan, one of her as a baby, one of Ella that’s recentish and one of both of them at the wedding being all bridesmaidy and gorgeous. Look at the gorgeousness…

It has my husband. A picture from our wedding in August. This is one from the cutting of the cake and we’re looking adoringly into each other’s eyes…. awwwwww….

It has little trinkets from Egypt, you can’t see them but there are two little sculptures that we brought back for Ella and Rowan, and the green vase was also from Egypt. BN chose that in a little shop we went to with this FAB guy who really knew that the best way to make a sale wasn’t to follow us round with only a one metre breathing space. He didn’t – and  it worked… we bought loads!

It has Pinch Pot… my fabulous friend made by my fabulous friend Burps Liberty. Each one is unique and made to order. Pay her a visit and then buy one …. you won’t be sorry…

It has festiveness! I love Christmas! That’s our Chrissy cards, our streamers from New Year and our baubles hanging from the shelf. Our family baubles…. We each have our own!

The large silver photo frames are from my very good friend Sam. They were a wedding present.. in addition to the Egyptian Pounds she gave us. We love them… and they finally prompted me (yesterday) to put up some wedding photos. They are so important to me and I love finally having them up. I keep catching myself looking at them. I must get more up now.

The last thing that I simply couldn’t live without, is my morning cuppa.

Yes.

Yes, it’s still there from this morning. Cold and empty and with dried on coffee. Yum!

So, what’s on your mantle? Take a picture and let me know if you’ve done it!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Mancais permalink
    January 2, 2009 11:08 pm

    I like the stories behind the objects.
    I’ve not got a mantlepiece at the mo. Got a spare sofa that get’s allsorts dumped on it – I really shouldn’t.

  2. Suburban Mum permalink
    January 2, 2009 11:23 pm

    Is that cos you saw mine in my photo of my new hair?

  3. Suburban Mum permalink
    January 2, 2009 11:26 pm

    Oh and PS… there IS two? IS? Grammar, lady, grammar!

  4. January 2, 2009 11:27 pm

    no! I took that picture at 19.43 this evening… I don’t believe I had looked at your blog by that point. Cheeky!

  5. Suburban Mum permalink
    January 2, 2009 11:29 pm

    I just wondered, that was all! Cos mine has a very prominent wedding photo behind me.

  6. January 2, 2009 11:30 pm

    what?? Grammar?? What…!! How very dare you!

    *Heads over to RHS to check spelling and punctuation*

  7. January 2, 2009 11:30 pm

    Does it have a wedding photo on it? Hang on…

  8. Suburban Mum permalink
    January 2, 2009 11:31 pm

    Ha! You changed it. Ha!

  9. January 2, 2009 11:31 pm

    Oh yes it does… But no…. although yours is very nice 🙂

  10. January 2, 2009 11:32 pm

    I don’t know what you mean!

  11. Suburban Mum permalink
    January 2, 2009 11:32 pm

    This one!

  12. Suburban Mum permalink
    January 2, 2009 11:34 pm

    Donut.

  13. January 3, 2009 11:51 am

    we don’t have a mantle, haven’t for years, so what would I put on said mantle if I had one?
    um
    dishes that match mums wedding china
    caithness vases ,the ones I didn’t drop when preggers, yep i dropped one each time!
    cute pics of kids,
    um
    maybe wedding photos, if I knew where they were
    nice photo of dh and I pissed as farts looking about 16 (me) and 30 (him)
    dust
    there would be a lot of dust
    xc

    mrs hojo´s last blog post..Wii

  14. October 8, 2014 2:03 pm

    You share interesting things here. I think that your blog can go
    viral easily, but you must give it initial boost and i know how to do it, just type
    in google (with quotes) for – “mundillo traffic increase”

Leave a Reply

