Skip to content

Napping is for Losers!

January 5, 2009
by

Ok that’s not quite what she said.

But Rowan has become obsessed with the fact that she’s Big.

Big with a capital I’ll do what I want when I want to cos you’re not in charge of me, Beee-atch! as she sashays out of the room.

*blink*

So – my daughter has bought her pre-school admission tickets for Sassys R Us and she’s using them!

She told BN that she didn’t want a nap because ‘I’m Big. I’m this tall (with actions) all the way up to the top of my head.’

Which is not sassy, it’s quite cute. In fact, that doesn’t quite do justice to the amount of sassiness we’ve been getting. So I don’t really know why I said that other than it was relevant to the whole nap time thing.. and the being Big thing.

Oh yeah .. It was relevant.

Ahem.

I parent in the Socratic way. I think. Anyway it’s the way when you ask them a question right back if they ask you something you think they know the answer to. It’s really fucking clever for us, really fucking annoying for them. But it works.

Kind of. Well it almost works. I’m told.

They ask ‘why do I have to eat my tea?’ You say – ‘Well my little angel darling sweetheart, why do you think you need to eat your tea?’

They say – because I need food, or because I’m hungry, or because of whatever reason you’ve told them before and they realise they have answered their own question.

Why do you think you need to tidy your room? or Why do you think you need to go for a wee? or my one of my personal favourites, Why do you think I don’t want you to spin till your dizzy at the top of the stairs?

After a while they apparently do start to get the hang of thinking before they ask something stupid. We haven’t actually got to that stage yet but we live in hope. ‘Cos we have been told that at some point that does happen. Whatever.

Rowan however, has only got to the point where she thinks she knows better than everyone about everything.

Every.One.

If you ask her to do something she needs to know why. If you ask her to eat something she needs to know why. If you ask her to do any fucking thing, she wants to know why? And if she doesn’t want to know why she spouts some of my parental wisdom back at me.

Like – why do you think I should eat my tea, mummy?

Sometimes, I really wanna say.. Fortheloveofgodchildshutthefuckupandjustdowhatyourefuckingtoldalready. But you know? I don’t. Because then she’d only say it back to me next week.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Carly permalink
    January 5, 2009 8:54 pm

    Could have written this myself tonight… only… I think I did say “Fortheloveofgodchildshutthefuckupandjustdowhatyourefuckingtoldalready”

    Entering myself for the Parent of the Year award now…

  2. January 5, 2009 11:43 pm

    gasp….
    more importantly …
    for me anyway…
    I am no longer on your blog log…
    I have been de-logged…..
    the loggers have been in and chopped me off…
    waaaaaaaa

    xc

    mrs hojo´s last blog post..Dutch Style

  3. January 6, 2009 6:10 am

    Josie recently told us “I am big now but my bottom is still small.”

    Good to know.

    I parent entirely differently to this, having (although this may be because ‘independent thinking, intelligent free brain home ed child’ version of trying to encourage them to think has failed and i am mother to 4 semi-lunatic muppets) – i go for…

    “You don’t have to.” *stunned silence*
    “But if i don’t eat my tea… i’ll be hungry….”
    “You got it.”

    Josie and i recently had a conversation which ended with me saying “Congratulations, you have won the fight, you don’t have to eat your tea. You now get to go to bed immediately, hungry, without your milk and without your treat pudding which we hardly ever have. Well done.”

    It’s been a while since she didn’t eat her tea actually, now i think about it.

    This was shortly followed by *very sarcastic voice over a creating and highly argumentative Josie’s head, “Oh Daddy, Josie isn’t tired AT ALL!!!”

    “YES I AM!!!!!!!”

    Caly, just point me at the entry form….

  4. January 6, 2009 8:06 am

    Cam hit this stage years ago and I’m not sure he’s out of it yet. We did the same as you and he got wise fast.

    Why do I need to clean my room up?
    Why do YOU think you need to clean it up?
    I don’t.

    Just watch out for that one!

    Foxsden´s last blog post..Holiday Snap

  5. January 6, 2009 10:11 am

    While we’re on the subject, I can’t see myself in your blogroll – I thought I was far more important than Dooce, and she’s on your list!
    Has R started whining as she asks why, in that horrible ear piercing screech that makes you want to throttle her? No? Will send TB over to teach her how.

    Vic´s last blog post..Vic the Vampire

  6. Greer at work permalink
    January 6, 2009 12:13 pm

    Do you know – I have no idea what has happened to my blogroll… I think it’s got warped as I’ve moved around maybe… I actually need to update it loads as there are loads missing that I read a lot and loads on there I don’t read anymore!!

    🙂

    Sorrrreeeeee!!!!!!

  7. January 6, 2009 12:37 pm

    Yer, YEAH – you need a spring clean around here woman… Top Commenter at Suburban Mum awards is VOID …you can’t be a top commenter at Suburban Mum anymore since she’s taken her sins underground. iTunes list is BLANK or not working on my browser and you’ve got to take your Christmas decorations down.. Use that $46 from your Twitters and hire a maid 🙂 LOL

  8. January 6, 2009 1:13 pm

    You are a feisty Fox!! 😆

    So – Christmas Decorations are coming down tonight – all planned in for last night but things in my life are rather hectic at the moment..

    Am keeping Suburban Mum bling as was very fond of that blog – that won’t be going anywhere..

    iTunes will just be your browser – it does that to me at work as well but it isn’t empty trust me..

    I shall get right onto it mam, yes mam, no mam, please may I be excused?

    😛

  9. January 6, 2009 1:42 pm

    LMAO, that’s what Wil calls me, ‘Fiesty Fox’. That and ‘Angry Ginger’

    I am.. but I’ve got a heart of gold.

  10. January 6, 2009 8:30 pm

    You shall from now on, be Feisty Fox! 🙂

  11. January 7, 2009 7:53 pm

    Underground, overground, wombling free!

    That’s me. In hiding.

Leave a Reply

