Skip to content

My Personal Boundary … The Fishy Twidget Version.

January 6, 2009
by

Rowan was going for her ‘I’vealreadybeensenttobedbutIdesperatelyandsuddenlymustpoo’ poo and I went upstairs for the joyful task of wiping her bum.

‘I really needed one, muumy.!’

mmmmmm

‘I did!!!’

Yes that’s fine – have you finished though because you need to get to sleep and Ella is waiting for you..

‘Yes – you have to wipe my bum though and I need to read Daddy’s book!’

No you don’t – if you’ve finished then I want to wipe your bum and you’re going straight to bed!

‘You *want* to wipe my BUM????’ (insert manic giggling here)

Well I don’t want to reeeealllly if you really wanna know – but I kinda have to ‘cos I don’t see anyone queuing up for the job do you?!

‘Oh mummy you’re so funny!’

mmmmmm….

+++++

Years ago when I met BN, he told me a story about his (now) SIL. She and his brother are quite the Earth lovers.. they met at some naked bohemian midnight Welsh weekend camp thing about 15 years ago … say no more.

Anyway – such was SIL the Earth lover, that nothing disposable was welcome. Nothing. Even when she got her period, there had to be an Earth loving way to deal with it. Now that’s not so bad you say. No? No – I’d have to agree. You Moon Cup away if that’s your pleasure.

However, SIL used the knicker lining thing that served as an.. hmmmmm … … absorbant addition to your standard underwear…

I’m sorry.. but gross. (Not to mention that she apparently used to ‘dispose’ of the ‘liquid’ in the houseplant pots.. as a ‘gift’ for them. Niiiiiiice.

Because when something along these lines is disposable, it usually comes with a lovely wrapper to do away with it at the end of the erm… usage. But when something is reusable … well? It has to be washed.

That’s not so bad you think – I’m sure I can cope with washing a little bit of my own underwear – regardless of what it may have on it! My body put it there etc. etc.

Yeah – not *so* bad if you live in your own house or even say… do your own washing?

In BN’s mum and dad’s house where they were temporarily staying, it was BN’s dad that was doing the washing at that point…. and when he found out what he’d been handling months later …. safe to say that he had been secure in his oblivion!

I can’t help but thinking it’s nice to be ‘in the know’ if you’re crossing some of those personal boundaries…

+++

So some years later when BN and I got together, I moved in with him and his folks whilst we were trying to figure out what we were doing with our lives…

BN and I shared one room in the house and lived with his parents for almost a year. In that year of living with a couple that had raised five kids of their own, I was under the impression that BN and I were doing our own washing. I never really gave it much thought to be honest and it was before I knew the above story. It wasn’t my house, BN had grown up there and I think I maybe assumed that BN was putting my stuff through when he did his own? I dunno but anyway..

I’m pretty sure that with five kids in the house at various times throughout the years … there wouldn’t be much that this woman wouldn’t have seen. So then why did it completely freak me out when I realised that she was getting to my laundry before I was!?

I was on a day off from work and thought I would get some of our washing done. She and I were the only people in the house – I went to the washing pile that I had accumulated in the basket and found that random stuff was missing.

*blink*

A coloured load had been removed….

*scan the basket* *blink blink*

My underwear were missing…. a few of my clothes? No problem. Welcome! even. But my underwear?

Nooooooo…..

I can’t be the first person in the world that maybe has underwear that I’m not so proud of… Not even just the quality of the pants in question …  but you know? When you’ve been for an eight hour shift … in retail …. on your feet all day and you’ve been running about… lifting boxes and getting .. erm… hot and erm… sweaty? sometimes your undies aren’t the first thing you let your boyfriend get up close and personal to later! Do you know what I’m saying?

I got over it eventually and eventually at some point in the day just thought – you know? the worse thing will be having to meet her eye later and say thank you. Thanks for cleaning my dirty pants!! Thanks!!! Especially the crusty ones from Monday!

I thought that was bad?

… Worse thing was coming home from the shops later that day and find FIL folding the washing.

Then? I died.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2009 10:55 pm

    You are a nut, you know that don’t you. I’ve read this three times and I still don’t get what your SIL did, but am not sure I wanna know, either! I have a new rule: restock the undies every year in the Jan sales. Nothing but matching sets. FABULOUS! I was gonna say I’d be proud to let my father-in-law handle them but UMMM!!

  2. January 7, 2009 4:43 am

    Its nearly 5am, Iv not yet been to bed, Im cold and I am tired and reading your blog just now has made me burst out laughing so loud. So much of that I can relate to myself, Superb blog post, Love it!!

    Posh Totty´s last blog post..How can something so cold be so beautiful?

  3. January 7, 2009 11:54 am

    I don’t think I have any such qualms with my washing – anything to avoid doing it myself!

    Vic´s last blog post..Vic the Vampire

  4. January 7, 2009 11:55 am

    Erm… you do realise you should’ve taken your xmas decorations down last night?

    Vic´s last blog post..Vic the Vampire

  5. January 7, 2009 7:49 pm

    OMG.

    That is all.

  6. January 7, 2009 7:51 pm

    which bit? My sweaty pants? 🙂

    donut.

  7. January 7, 2009 7:53 pm

    All of it.

  8. January 7, 2009 7:54 pm

    Feisty – she squeezed out the reusable sanitary towel and she poured it in the pots of their household plants! Were you secure in your oblivion? 😆

  9. January 7, 2009 7:58 pm

    *thud*
    i just died too.

    one feisty mama´s last blog post..I’m going to start looking into puppies…

  10. January 7, 2009 8:01 pm

    Feisty mama – I’m sending help…

  11. January 7, 2009 8:03 pm

    I am about to eat my dinner and now all I keep thinking about is sweaty pants.
    This is not good.

  12. January 7, 2009 8:05 pm

    mmmmkay ….. try not to think about my pants… I know it’ll be hard for you… but try 🙂

  13. January 7, 2009 8:07 pm

    Yes I realised how bad that sounded after I re-read it. I just mean sweaty pants in general, not yours specifically. The words “sweaty pants” just keep popping into my head.

    OK, now I really do sound like a nutcase.

  14. January 7, 2009 8:24 pm

    you do a little bit……..

    donut.

  15. January 7, 2009 9:12 pm

    I just sent you a donut on Facebook.

  16. January 7, 2009 9:46 pm

    just ate it…

  17. January 7, 2009 10:39 pm

    ok, now I am scared…..
    xc

    mrs hojo´s last blog post..WA Ironman 2008

  18. January 7, 2009 10:46 pm

    @Vic – I’m not capable of doing my own blog design unfortunately I am a not techy enabled blogger. My designer and my techy geek were *tired* (what.ever) and they couldn’t perform their duties… so I got to look all slack.

    But hey – worse things have happened at sea.

    @ Posh – I am very honoured to have received that comment from you… I am a blog admirer & groupie of yours….

  19. January 7, 2009 10:50 pm

    @redhead – to be fair.. considering the contents of some of the comments you could have been thinking about worse when you ate your dinner…

  20. January 7, 2009 10:51 pm

    I have no idea what you mean! *blinks*

  21. January 8, 2009 4:11 pm

    As I started reading this post I took a rather large mouthful of tea.

    I then proceeded to spit said tea all over the monitor via my nose as I snorted with uncontrollable laughter.

    Outstanding.

    Little Brown Book´s last blog post..2009 ‘To Do’

  22. January 11, 2009 9:10 pm

    That was too funny and mortifying all at the same time! And, my oldest son still does that ‘I’vealreadybeensenttobedbutIdesperatelyandsuddenlymustpoo’ poo at 12 years old! LOL

    Karen´s last blog post..No, I fine to walk, mummy . . .

  23. January 11, 2009 9:20 pm

    Oh, the joy. At least I know I have that to look forward to for a while then!! 🙄

  24. January 11, 2009 9:23 pm

    @LBB – I hope your computer has survived the tea!

Leave a Reply

