Skip to content

Dude? The kid looked pissed.

January 26, 2009
by

So I’m at home.

It’s the middle of the day and I’m at home.

This is the first joy in the realm of two working parents. It’s 3 weeks since BN started work full time. The trouble with his job? is that if he doesn’t work then he doesn’t get paid. Such is the joy of temporary work.

So.. Ella got a cold and cough about 3 weeks ago and has had trouble shifting it. I was just keeping an eye on her really and assuming it was just a cold have not really thought anything of it – other than how irritating it is to be woken up every hour of every night listening to her cough and trying to work out whether or not she needs a drink/medicine then getting off to sleep only to be woken by a 4 year old that’s wet the bed.

Y-e-s – folks? It’s been fun.

So, last Wednesday I thought she looked a little rough but decided to ‘keep an eye on her’ and then through the weekend she has looked ropier and ropier, got stroppier and stroppier and snottier and snottier. Today I dropped them off at nursery and watched Ella as she bobbed and weaved down the corridor – twice coming a cropper to precisely ‘nothing’ and falling flat on her face.

I’m realising that perhaps this is more than just a stubborn cold. Dude? The kid looked pissed.

Doctor’s 2 hours later – shows chest and ear infection and the result –  a 5 day course of antibiotics. How bad do I feel?

The problem? Nursery won’t take kids until they’ve been taking their antibiotics for 48 hours… so now? I am at home, on my backside, not writing a report that needs to be done by COB tomorrow… and wishing that I was at work getting inspiration from something and that I had someone to make me a cup of coffee.

Bah.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2009 5:05 pm

    Mmmmm. Wish i could help 😦

    Merry´s last blog post..Is home education a cover for child abuse?

  2. January 26, 2009 7:12 pm

    Sorry Ella’s unwell. At what age can children be trained to make coffee?

    Moobs´s last blog post..Mr Catty

  3. January 26, 2009 7:39 pm

    ha ha 🙂 Your comment meant I had to relay our entire conversation to my husband… who perhaps was in the middle of his ‘looking bored’ practice … I thought it was pretty funny… I reckon about 10?? Trust me – it’ll be one of the first things mine learn when they’re tall enough to see over the edge of the counter!

  4. Mancais permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:53 pm

    Get them a travel kettle and keep it on a low table. They’ll soon learn.

  5. January 26, 2009 9:48 pm

    Or get a footstool.

  6. January 26, 2009 11:15 pm

    10? Are you completely insane> Fran was BORED of making tea by age 9. Maddy is currently top tea maker in my house; she plonks one down by the side of my bed every morning once i go past the time she considers acceptable for still being asleep. Which is rich, coming from her!

    Merry´s last blog post..Is home education a cover for child abuse?

  7. January 27, 2009 12:53 pm

    That’s amazing news! I don’t believe I am completely insane but I bet there are those that would disagree.

    I am looking forward to a top tea maker in only 4 years!!! 🙂

  8. January 27, 2009 12:54 pm

    no electric blanket here btw….. I have been waiting every day….. waiting…..excited…. but still nothing……

    sniff sniff

  9. January 28, 2009 8:36 pm

    OMG. I hate Amazon. Pah. Off to look.

    Merry´s last blog post..Very Proud of our little Gymmie.

  10. January 28, 2009 10:10 pm

    🙂 It’s no bother really!! 🙂

  11. January 29, 2009 1:24 am

    My littlest one has been sick and naughty all at the same time — he thought it was funny to jump off the back of the couch and give mummy a fright. Anyway, he has been started on anti-biotics today as well as numerous other meds to knock it out of him. Not sure if they have that anti-biotic rule over here — I think it’s just they have to have been clear of a fever for 24 hours before going back to daycare. Hope yours feels better soon!

    Karen´s last blog post..Wordless Wednesday . . .

  12. February 1, 2009 9:48 am

    My two particularly delight in jumping across the landing at the top of the stairs and seeing if they make it over. Just because Ella has got away with it unscathed both times she’s fallen down the entire flight they think I’m lying when I say it’s dangerous!!!!!

  13. A Reader permalink
    February 1, 2009 7:31 pm

    Your poor child! How utterly awful that she is not only ill but has a mummy who can’t stand to have her poor child be such an inconvenience! Looked pissed? How could you do that to her?

  14. February 1, 2009 7:51 pm

    I think you’ve missed the point A reader, If in fact that is your real name…

    The point is when I realised she was suffering from more than a cold she was at the doctor 2 hours later. But bless you for being so concerned for my child and for writing such an eloquent, if slightly misguided, comment.

    Please do come again.

  15. February 1, 2009 8:13 pm

    I’m so proud of you! Your first ever troll! Happy days! xx

  16. February 1, 2009 8:54 pm

    you’ve arrived! Trolls yay trolls! there must be someone to guard the bridge…

  17. February 1, 2009 10:33 pm

    hmmm I had an odd comment yesterday from Anonymous, looks like it is infectious, perhaps
    xc

  18. February 2, 2009 10:02 am

    She appeared to be back to herself this weekend anyway 😉 You bad mummy, you 🙂

  19. February 2, 2009 10:04 am

    @Mrs Hojo – I think so! I quite enjoyed it actually – nothing like a bit of healthy Trollism 🙂

Leave a Reply

