Skip to content

Attitude

February 9, 2009
by

Rowan rolled her eyes at me this morning.

🙄

She was asked to fetch wipes for BN from the bathroom and she did her normal trick of standing in the room and saying ‘I can’t find it’ without actually looking for anything.

She’d already prodded the ice with her toe by arguing about going to look for them in the first place but then she full out jumped onto the thin ice by doing the usual.

Rowan you need to hurry up

‘I can’t find them’

*goes to bathroom*

No – can’t find – would imply looking. Standing in the middle of the bathroom and saying you can’t find them is lazy – and annoying.

I shooed her off to my bedroom and wipes were deposited with BN downstairs…

Back in my room – I finished what I’d started. I like to cement things for her . Some may call it ‘going on’ or ‘nagging’ – I myself like to call it ‘being right’ and ‘cementing the facts’.

If someone asks you to do something for them then you go and do it quickly and nicely. You actually *look* for the thing they have asked you to get. If someone asks you to help them it’s usually because they are strugglingt o do something alone – therefore *helping* is the order of the day not whining about it and saying ‘but you asked mummy first’

She rolled her eyes.

Err… hello?

What was that?

Well (she starts every sentence with well)

Well – she said – I know this. You’ve said it before and I want to watch Lazytown.

um…

Any tips for taming the attitude?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2009 12:18 pm

    no tv until she has done something helpfull, willingly?

    xc

  2. Mancais permalink
    February 9, 2009 7:39 pm

    No idea but mrs hojo’s suggestion sounds ok

  3. February 9, 2009 8:00 pm

    Firstly, i wouldn’t have let her watch lazytown.
    Then give her consequences everytime she does something wrong.
    If she has a star chart or anything of that kind, Maybe she could lose a star?
    Good luck!

  4. February 9, 2009 8:19 pm

    nah, no tips. she’s 4. they’re meant to have attitude. be glad she’s normal, and celebate her burgeoning ‘leadership qualities’! (and maybe investigate yourself and BN for eye-rolling tendencies – she had to learn it somewhere!!) hx

  5. February 9, 2009 9:38 pm

    Yeah, the whole, “I have lost the use of my eyes ‘cos I can’t be a**ed to look for whatever it is you asked me for’ doesn’t get much better as they get older, neither does the attitude sadly….but the whole rolling eyes thing is quite cute on a 4 year old (as long as they don’t realise you think they’re still cute!!) 😉

  6. February 13, 2009 6:50 pm

    I always find perforating an eardrum works well. (Theirs, obviously, not your own with a knitting needle while your parenting self confidence implodes.)

  7. February 21, 2009 1:28 pm

    🙂 hee hee @One Feisty Mama – I may have rolled my eyes once or twice in the past. Maybe.

    We do use reward charts – they do like them but I have to be honest – we’re pathetically inconsistent with them. I even bought one that has little magnets and we give them stickers when they’ve been good but the trouble is? I am too crap to remember to continue it!

    I generally go with shouting – it may have been something to do with my upbringing I see @Merry! lol

    In this case I said calmly – Please remove yourself from this room for your own health and safety! 😆

  8. February 21, 2009 6:05 pm

    I’m the same with the reward charts!

  9. February 23, 2009 9:48 pm

    I’m not surprised!

  10. February 23, 2009 10:49 pm

    !! Why?

Leave a Reply

