Skip to content

The One with the Pasta Sleeves!

April 18, 2009
by

We culled the girls’ clothes today – it had got to the point where we had more clothe than shelve.

Something has to be done! I boldly stated last night whilst tipsy on Vodka and Diet Coke.

We must show them who is boss and remove them from the house!

It seemed like a good idea at the time.

Yes – said husband

We must.

So – after Rowan woke up this morning as her better known alter ego The Viral Princess, we decided today was the day to stay in and get through this mammoth task.

When I say we. I mean me.

Rowan got happier in stages as summer skirts, dresses and tops and shorts appeared one after the other.

She definitely is a girly girl, there’s no doubt about it.

She even says she doesn’t like trousers as she grabs the skirt with a glint in her eye and ready to make a run for it with the skimp of cloth if you say no.

She thinks we’re being mean when it’s cold. She thinks I’m deliberately withholding Skirt. Because she loves them. Yes – even at 3 she could articulate that I was being mean and not allowing skirts because she knew I knew she liked them.

Still with me?

No matter how much I reason with her that I wouldn’t actually buy the skirts in the first place if I never meant for her to wear them – she just looks at me with a little curious glint and says ‘hmmmmm’ at me like she’s in charge and I’m lucky she’s in a good mood… and swishes off with her skirt in her hand and her sass in her pocket.

Today – her eyes just about popped out of her head when she saw all the summer clothes and she tried on about 4 outfits before she finally settled on one for the day.

A little pink and white striped dress from Tesco that caught her eye earlier in the day –

Can I change into this one next?

Yes – wear the one you’ve just put on for a minute though and then we can change into this one next. We need to find a top to go underneath because this one just has spaghetti straps and it’s not quite warm enough yet. I don’t want you to be cold – especially cos you have this bug… (This is me being parental)

OK – she said and wandered off for a while….

Half an hour later she came running back….

Mummy mummy! Can I wear the one with the pasta sleeves now!!?

Funny how she made the connection. When you’re four? Spaghetti just equals Pasta not Long and Thin.

I would like to start a trend that from now on – all dresses and tops with spaghetti straps should be called Pasta Sleeves!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Mancais permalink
    April 19, 2009 8:04 am

    Ok. I shall wear my pasta sleeve top this afternoon when we go to the match.
    Did you manage to clear out any of the clothes?

  2. April 19, 2009 1:51 pm

    LOL — Will never quite look at spaghetti tops without thinking of this! The things kids say eh! Too cute!

  3. April 19, 2009 8:38 pm

    oh…I cannot wear the Pasta Sleeve, for I have the granny arm

  4. April 19, 2009 8:45 pm

    I cannot wear pasta sleeves, for i have breasts like melons.

  5. Mancais permalink
    April 19, 2009 9:06 pm

    @Flutter and Merry – that’s no excuse.

  6. April 19, 2009 11:44 pm

    YOu should see my macaroni pants

  7. April 20, 2009 9:27 pm

    @Moobs – Oh you are too funny!

  8. April 20, 2009 9:28 pm

    @flutter – I too have the granny arm… it’s a gift and a curse…

Leave a Reply

