Skip to content

The VP

April 25, 2009
by

Rowan has mostly got over her virus I think – she is still pretty wiped out and very pale still but she did run some of the way home from nursery the other day which is the first time she’s run all week.

Her lips are a little blue again and I noticed today that they were noticeably purple at the edges but I am starting to wonder if it may be linked to the murmur in some way. The consultant did say that her murmur would always be more pronounced when she was ill – it’s the nature of them apparently that when the body is under any stress, the murmur will become more audible.

I am wondering if anyone knows whether that would have any effect on her blood flow to extremeties at all? Or if a murmur is just not serious enough for that? FYI It’s definitely not a more serious defect – if you’ve not been reading for long, she had an ultrasound about 18 months ago which showed all was AOK apart from the murmur.

The virus she’s had has definitely knocked her for six though. She is so sleepy and she’s developed noticeable patches of eczema on her body .. I’m guessing her immunity is down and it’s like a break out. It’s on her eyelids, her elbows, her back her cheek and chin. She says it’s itchy and her eyes *do* look red and sore. It’s also at the corners of her eyes as well which means it’s stinging.

I just keep putting Sudocrem on her and hoping that will soften it up for her and help with the need to itch and scratch.

If anyone has any good tips on that for her then please feel free to share. She scratched in her sleep the other night till it bled so it’s clearly not that much fun.

😦

She had a play date today with her little friend J from nursery. They are bugging us non-stop about play dates. They’re very cute togther and have been good friends since they met. J’s mum is a local childminder so J only goes to nursery for 2.5 hours per day – they are firm mates and alarmingly similar in personality. Both cheeky. Both in the Iam4soIknoweverythingabouteverything stage with a side order of Imustalsoalwayshavethelastword.

Friends - playdate

J *does* stop moving sometimes – but not long enough for me to take a picture! And yes Rowan *does* look small but she’s sitting down … and yes that *is* Ella’s poo face 🙂

Toy library

Sharing

Today we visited the Toy Library – and I have to say for a first time – it was great! Very quiet – only about 5 sets of parents/ friends there – it was clean and calm. Lovely toys and just such a nice atmosphere. Kind of get the feeling that not many people know about it. For a windy coolish day but no rain to keep you in? I thought more people would be there – but I guess if I’ve only just heard about it then it’s not a stretch to think that no one else knows yet!

A good day – glad to spend time with J’s mum and it looks like we’re making a new friend which is great. She parents in a very similar way – and she’s a childminder! You never know when that may come in handy!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2009 9:25 pm

    poor kiddo! I hope she feels better soon

  2. April 25, 2009 9:57 pm

    No, no, no! Not Sudocrem – dries it out. Go for Vasoline and if infected at all try Savlon. Sudocrem not good, whatever it says on the tub. Does total blooming opposite of what you need 😦

  3. April 25, 2009 10:04 pm

    Oh NO! Don’t shout at me 😦

    OK – will not do that again then … vaseline and savlon – oki doki 🙂

  4. Mancais permalink
    April 25, 2009 10:15 pm

    The only thing I know about eczema is to try porridge oats in the bathwater.
    Sorry can’t help more.
    Hope Rowan gets back to normal soon x

  5. April 25, 2009 10:25 pm

    Not a shout, a panic stricken niece protecting shriek! 😉

    Actually, the porridge oats IS great. Not done it for ages. Get an old Muslin cloth, fill it with porridge oats, make it into a bag and then squeeze it under the water flow lots – magic.

  6. April 25, 2009 10:34 pm

    oh will try that tomorrow 🙂

    Was only kidling 😉 about the shouting I mean….

  7. April 27, 2009 9:15 am

    Well I was gonna shout at you for the Sudocrem, but Merry got there first!
    I use Simple Derma Lotion (http://www.simple.co.uk/products/Derma-Intensive-Relief-Lotion-400ml-131.aspx) to keep it at bay or when it’s almost disappeared. During a flare-up I use Eucarin (or any other lotion that contains urea – I get mine sent over from Brasil cos it’s so much cheaper). Both of them are much more pleasant than being smeared in Sudocrem.

  8. April 27, 2009 8:44 pm

    How come everyone knew Sudocrem was so bad for eczema apart from me?! When it says on it that it’s good for eczema!!

  9. Mancais permalink
    April 28, 2009 5:34 pm

    S’ok – I didn’t know either

  10. May 10, 2009 7:03 am

    There is a shop here that sells a shea butter stick for eczema and pumpkin soap for when in the bath. We use both on Saoirse and I swear by them. If you ever want to try them, let me know and I will send some your way.

  11. May 10, 2009 6:47 pm

    ooh Emma yes please! I would love to try that:)

    email me at lntblogs at gmail dot com – send me your address and I’ll give you mine… I’ll send you a cheque for it if you know how much it is in advance ? x

Trackbacks

  1. Little Nut Tree Blog » Blog Archive » Michael Jackson

Leave a Reply

