Skip to content

I swear – someone just came and blanked my memory like in Men in Black. I forgot I had a blog!

May 5, 2009
by

I have had a break – a rest – a breast?

Anyway

I took an inpromtu rest from blogging – not planned at all but just a mini hiatus if you will.

What has happened.

Well.

Thursday

We received a mystery parcel! All the way from Australia – or somewhere down south – we received some lovely things from The Hojo! Thank you! The girls loved the stuff and were very amused about the general existence of Kangaroos – we looked them up. I promise you will not see the Tea Towel anywhere below and the pen has already come in handy – twice!

Thank you!

Macbooking on tiptop!

You may be fooled into thinking this was me hard at work! But no! This is Rowan playing The Fairies!

Rowan and I took the train over to see my mum give her Professorial talk – yes she has been given a Professor-ship? Professoryiness? Professorialness.

Anyway

She has been promoted to Professor. Part of their duty is to give a talk in their first year and prove how brainy they are and why they should be given that fancy title.

And she did. And it was very good and we were all very proud.

I didn’t take Ella

and she was devastated cos all she knew was that we were going to G&G’s house and we weren’t taking her and she burst into tears and asked if I was unhappy with her… bless

…. I knew it was far beyond her capability to sit still and be quiet for an hour listening to Granny talk (hell – it was nearly beyond my capability 😉  ) and so I told her we were going to listen to a really boring lady talk about lots of really boring stuff and that she would have to sit still and not talk for hours and then have to go to bed without tea.

The last bit clinched it for Bottomless-pit Ella.

I had the day away from the office on Thursday because my pipe burst under my kitchen sink! Well almost – some washer thing gave up in an old washing machine connecter tap thingy and water.sprayed.everywhere!

Dudes.

E-v-e-r-y-where.

BN left for work and I was just getting the stuff ready for girls and I to leave – it was all a very highly planned day as I was having to leave work at 1pm to get Rowan to get train to get to G&G’s to get to talk all by 6pm. Then – just as I was leaving I re-noticed a noise I’d heard earlier and decided I did have to go and check what it was.

Was it the washing machine? Was it the tap running?

No it was my fucking kitchen flooding.

I ran for the phone – called BN and wailed! After wailing? I explained – in a scarily high pitched voice that we had Niagra Falls in the kitchen and luckily the cab driver that was waiting for me knew how to just get out of his car and come into my house and turn off my water! Who knew tha cab drivers could be that handy?

Also luckily? Because I know my luck – and my craptastic shit house – I have plumbing cover and the nice insurance people sent out a man to fix everything and didn’t charge me any extra money.. that’s one thing that’s kinda gone my way.

Flood!

Love all my matching Tea Towels. But NO Australian One! Look!

Unluckily I had to work from home in the morning which is hard! And the girls were with me as I had to let my cab driver go when he realised he wasn’t going to be taking me anywhere… then had to get BN home early to look after number 2 Crazy when I took Rowan out in the afternoon… Not great seeing as he doesn’t get paid when he’s not working..

Friday – BN and Ella joined us at the end of the day at G&G’s house and we started a relaxing weekend with my brother, his better half and my sister and all her girls. Things got a little fraught at some points which I may blog about later…

Saturday, Sunday and Monday we just chilled out, relaxed and ate too much – although I only put on 1 lb whilst away which is a record for me I think – at their house anyway!

Thank you for the emails I got and the messages asking if I was OK. I was – just breaking from blogging – but OK x

*I love that Ella calls Crisps – Cribs

**I love that the girls ask if I’m happy with them if they think I look grumpy.

***I’m grateful I don’t hear ** more than once a week.

****I love that Rowan pooed in her sleep just now and said she was embarrassed. My girl is getting big.

*****Very amazed and grateful that people send me and my girls random presents – amazed that anyone thinks of us in that way and a bit guilty I don’t do that for others.

Thank you Aunty Sam for our lovely raincoats

Aunty Sam sent Coats!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mancais permalink
    May 5, 2009 9:48 pm

    Very eventful few days.
    Good to see you back x

  2. May 5, 2009 11:44 pm

    Hee Hee, glad to see no evidence of improper kangaroo tea towel use ;o)
    hurrah for insurance
    and hurrah for Dad posting from UK, have you seen the cost of postage from OZ today???
    xc

  3. May 6, 2009 12:46 pm

    Am worn out just reading all of that!

  4. May 6, 2009 7:37 pm

    I love those raincoats!

  5. May 6, 2009 9:11 pm

    @mrs hojo – Funnily enuf I don’t often check the price of posting things from Australia… seeing as I don’t live there….

  6. May 6, 2009 9:12 pm

    @Vic – I went for the babble approach 🙂
    @Feisty They are supercute aren’t they! My mate just sent them randomly to work for the girls – I got to work and there was a parcel and it was those… such a lovely thing to do..

    @SCM – 🙂 Thank you *waves*

Leave a Reply

