Skip to content

Meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeme!

May 19, 2009
by

Thanks Milo honey ๐Ÿ™‚

1. Can you cook?

Yes I can cook but I don’t really ‘love’ it. I love food very much but when I was single and living alone for the first time? I lost 7 stone. I just don’t cook because I don’t really like to cook. I like the result when others cook though.

I eat toast when alone – does that count as cooking?

When BN went to NYC years ago he caught me out fibbing about food I’d eaten – he called me to chat one evening and asked me if I’d cooked a meal. ‘Yes’ I lied. ‘Liar’ he shot back at me – if you’d cooked you’d have something to say to me. I owned up – I’d cooked toast… and in the food cupboards? Little notes from him telling me how much he loved and missed me.

Damn the clever man!

2. Do you like to cook?

I should have read ahead at the questions before I just started answering. So me. Read instructions? Do me a favour swee’dart – I just jump straight in.

3. What do you eat for breakfast?

Um. I don’t really eat brekkie in the week. I tend to get hungry about 11.30ish and then I will have an early lunch. On the weekend, I may have cereal or porridge if BN is making it but I would probably have toast. I am a bread fiend! Hence the hips to die for …. ahem.

4. When, where and how do you eat on weekdays?

I eat at my desk – in fact today was a first and I took my sandwich through to the kitchen at work but only because someone non-work was in the office… I am rubbish. I eat too quick and I eat on the run. I ram it down so I can keep working. Just another symptom of the problems … I eat too late for breakfast and too early for lunch. Crap.

5. When, where and how do you eat on weekends?

It has to be said that I tend to fall into the abyss of cholesterol city at weekends. I blob out on a Friday night and emotionally eat until my stomach can’t take anymore. I’ll eat ice cream and chocolate and biscuits and sometimes carpet picnics of picky food of a savoury variety. I am terrible because really? I spend all week trying to be good so I can lose weight, lose 2lbs by Friday and then wake up on Saturday morning the same as I was on Monday morning. I am trying to be better…

6. How often do you eat in a restaurant?

Not enough.

7. How often do you order delivery/take-out?

Too many. Although in fairness we have cut back. It was getting to be about 3-4 times per month but actually now I think about it? I can’t remember the last time we had take out.

8. Buffet, take-out or sit-down restaurant?

Sit down every time. But the kids, man. They ruin the sit down event…

9. What are your signature dishes?

Lasagne I think my husbandy would say. Beef casserole. Magic Chocolate pudding, Bread and Butter pudding are ‘mine’ so I’ve been told. Lentil casseroles and pottage soups. Omelettes are a particular specialty. I think I may be a fairly homely person don’t you?

10. Have you ever cooked for more than six people?

Um… no I don’t think so… nope.

11. Do you cook every day?

Errr.. see number 1 and 2.

12. Have you ever tried recipes from blogs?

Nope. Not that I can think of…

13. Do you cook totally differently compared to your mother/parents?

I don’t really know what my parents cook to be honest. My mum was very creative when we were younger – pork in marmalade and broccoli pancakes spring to mind…. great roast dinners though and good puddings I seem to remember…. my dad is very much a cook now but when we were younger I think heย  mainly did jacket potatoes and toppings and oven ready things. To be truthful this could be completely wrong because I can’t really remember…. I was too busy inhaling it.

I am a homey comforty cook – stews and casseroles being my forte. I think one pot cooking is by far the most intelligent way to produce good food. For me anyway. Less mess, less effort and always bigger meals ๐Ÿ™‚

14. Are you a vegetarian or could you imagine being one?

I was vegetarian for years at university – and I’m not a big meat eater anyway. I don’t really eat red meat – probably once a month if that. We do get it because BN really loves red meat but I actually prefer the taste of Quorn – soya mince – and if we have bolognese for example, we generally use that. The girls have that as much as they have red meat and never complain. I do eat chicken and really like it and I love fish. Fish is by far my favourite.

15. What would you like to cook which you havenโ€™t dared to make yet?

I honestly can’t think of an answer to this. I am a capable cook just not a lover of it. I don’t think there’s anything that I wouldn’t try if I had the recipe – it’s just that I don’t really have any inclination to do it!

16. Do you prefer cooking or baking?

I prefer cooking. BN? Baking. Defo.. as readers will know ๐Ÿ™‚

17. Home-made or store-bought?

Always home made meals. We hardly ever have ready made and if we do? It’ll only be because the focus of the evening is relaxing and drinking ๐Ÿ™‚

18. What was your biggest cooking disaster?

UM… I don’t think I have one… or if I do? I’ve blocked out the trauma ๐Ÿ™‚

19. What is your number one comfort food?

TOAST!!! Do you not pay attention Question Master?!

20. If you were on a deserted island, what one food would you want to have with you?

BREAD! YUM!

21. What is your biggest weakness when it comes to food?

I am so similar to Milo – anything snacky. My hand can move to my mouth with more repetition than something really repetitive. Crisps.. pretzels.. chocolates… sweets… bread… toast… picky things … yum. Making me hungry.

22. What food can you absolutely not eat?

There are things that I don’t like. I’m allergic to mustard… and horseradish is just too hot for me which is weird because I abs’lutely love hot spicy food. I can’t think of anything I absolutely cannot eat like out of principal. But I guess I have moved away from badly raised chickens and non-free range eggs etc. anything where animals are exploited or treated badly. I would object to fois gras for example and will not eat that. So actually maybe I can.

Cheese makes me ill – I am intolerant to cheese in a massive way. Even a tiny bit of cheese gives me an upset stomach within a few short hours and so of course I love it and indulge occasionally…

23. What is the most decadent dish youโ€™ve had?

I have no idea. Decadent is not in my eating vocabulary.

24. What is your favourite type of food?

Savoury – definitely. Snacky deli kind of foods… meats, bread, cheese… salady bits to go with.. pitta & hummous.

25. What is your favourite dish?

I’m torn between something fishy – like salmon fillet and gorgeous new potatoes and seasonal vegetables or something really bad for you like fish and chips and lots of salt, vinegar and brown sauce… or? Something really heavy and homey like beef casserole … I just have no idea.

26. If you could go to any restaurant you wanted, which one would it be?

I would just love to go to Claridges.

27. Are you a soup or salad person?

Love both.

28. What is the most impressive dinner youโ€™ve ever made?

Oh this is all getting a bit samey. Prolly Beef casserole and dumplings and seasonal veg.

29. Do you know what vichyssoise is?

Spoup.

30. Can you name at least three TV cooking personalities?

I can name about twenty.

31. Who is your favourite TV cook?

UM old Nigella series… not express – that did my head in. Gordon. I like his recipes and Jamie. I love Hugh (sorry SM) but I do. I find his stuff easy to watch and I love his style of food.

I tag you all ๐Ÿ™‚

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 19, 2009 11:47 pm

    I already did this, I just didn’t tag, oops, forgot.

    xc

Leave a Reply

