Skip to content

Massiff catch up.

May 26, 2009
by

Shall I do it daily??

OK.

UM..

When did I last post?! OK that won’t work. If I can’t remember where I left off then a catch up is going to be pretty tricky.

Hang on – I’ll go look. Wait.right.there.

OK.

19th May.

Jeez I’ve been slack.

OK. So that was …. 19th May… that was WOW last TUESDAY!

I must have needed a break.

So. Start from the top.

Work got a little bit much for me last week, I ended up in tears one day – I think it was Friday. I am working my arse off and then I had three shit head candidates not turn up for interviews.

Was not a good day.

I think my staff think I’m losing it. Work is really what’s keeping me from posting I think.

It’s pretty much all I can think about and I am really not wanting to bore you all with the detritus of recruitment whinging. Suffice to say that it has got pretty hard. The market is obviously down and recruitment being the shockingly competitive market it is? We are probably all having a hard time.

I think that’s what’s keeping me quiet. I’m reluctant to moan sure, but maybe the most part of it is that the more I moan? The more real it is that it’s hard and I’m down about it.

Anyway.

Tuesday, WednedsayThursdayFriday work blah blah blah.

Friday I was looking forward to. After Friday I was having FOUR DAYS OFF WORK! YAY!

Oh. Am I back to work??

Hmmmmm.

So what do I really want to say?

The girls. My girls. The Squids. The Swirlies. The Crazies.

Their many nicknames.

Peanut & Bean.

They are gorgeous.

I had this trite awful email chain sent to me the other day and I dismissed it out of hand for the most part. I hate chain emails. Note to you if you know me IRL? Don’t send them to me. I hate them. I never read them because I am far too busy at work and if they do look funny enough to read? I forward them to personal email and then forget to read them for a few weeks by which time I forget why I have allowed my inbox to reach 99 unread. So I just select all and press ‘Mark as Read’ and it satisfies my need to feel tidy.

However. On this occasion. I was looking forward to my four days off work and a little email popped into my inbox and it was called something offensive like ‘You’re all crap parents apart from me’ or ‘How to feel like a shit, neglecting parent in ten easy steps’ or ‘If you work? You’re a shit mother’.

Anyway.

You get the picture.

It was about 15 paragraphs like this:

Just for today I will let you climb all over me and instead of yelling at you and telling you not to mess up my clothes, I will giggle with you and give you cuddles.’

‘Just for today, if the ice cream van stops outside I’ll buy you an ice cream even if you’re yelling and screaming at me’

‘Just for today I will read you a bedtime story instead of telling you I’m too tired…’

Anyway. You see? For the most part? I was just reading them thinking? Honey! H-u-h-neee! YOU are the shit parent. Your child yells and screams at you about everything. You teach manners in your house, doll?

The other part of me was reading them bit by bit and thinking. Hmm. Yes I do th-a-t. Y-e-e-s… and that one. I do that. Oh! Yup. I do that one. Too tired to play? Yes that’s me.

If someone knew enough of these to write them down… I can’t be the only one but still. Way to make people feel shit. Go email!

But now it’s almost like I feel I have to live out this email every day and make sure that I haven’t fallen into at least one of the pitfalls of Email Comparable Parenting.

I feel compelled to buy them ice cream and read them stories every time I see them!!?

Anyway.

What have they done this week?

UM. Ella is just all sorted on the loo now. She is only wearing pull ups at night and I am very proud of her šŸ™‚ It all seems to have come pretty naturally to her. She’s still forgetting sometimes and wetting her pants in the day. Either that or getting lazy and letting it go but I prefer to give her the benefit of the doubt šŸ™‚ I love the way – when she needs a wee or more – she checks in with you about what she’s got on.

Am I wearing pull ups mummy? Or am I wearing pants?

I love the way she fidgets and jiffles about when she’s just realising that she needs the toilet – and then you ask her if she does and she’ll say no and then say yes and hike herself off the sofa and run upstairs. It makes me laugh that if you send her to the toilet on her own she thinks she’s being sent away and generally bursts into tears.

OO OO = gorilla. This what Rowan calls a gorilla. An OO OO – ask her why? She makes noises like a Monkey. At least she has logic if not the vocabulary. Cute though huh? šŸ˜‰

We took aĀ  day off today. BN’s new job starts tomorrow. 3-4 months at an insulation company. So we took a day together today and had a break. Went to see the new Star Trek movie. LOVED it. I have to say – I did not want to go. I was not inspired.

I thought I would hate it. But I did not. It was funny and imaginative and sentimental and engaged me as a new ST fan and I can see that I will like the new ones that they make. They obviously will. The only thing I did think is that Leonard Nimoy needs to get some teeth that fit.

We had a cool day. Shopped and walked and lounged and ate. I think we need to do it more often.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Suburban Mum permalink
    May 26, 2009 8:13 pm

    Hugs. I don’t know what else to say other than you know I know what you’re going through, all too well x

  2. Mancais permalink
    May 26, 2009 10:08 pm

    Sorry to hear work isn’t good right now.
    Sod the emails.
    You’ll have to teach Ella to do the Funky Gibbon.
    Your day off with BN sounds like just what the quack recommends.

  3. May 26, 2009 11:36 pm

    welcome back to the real world :o)

    xc

  4. May 27, 2009 8:53 am

    I think more than a catch-up, you need a hug. So I’m sending you one.
    *Hugs*

  5. May 28, 2009 9:10 am

    Sorry work is so joyless right now. Just remember – it rains upon the just and the unjust. I’m not sure that will help but at least it’s a memory test.

  6. May 28, 2009 5:05 pm

    Sorry work is not so fun for you right now. I know what that’s like.

    Can’t wait to see the Star Trek movie myself — I think I’m the last person on earth to see it at this point!

  7. May 28, 2009 8:42 pm

    @Karen – It is so worth it šŸ™‚ I am *not* a trekky whatsoever – I was actually pretty reluctant to see it but I have to admit – it made me laugh and it made me cry and I was hooked..

    @Moobs If it rains on both, which am I? šŸ™‚

    @Vic – I think *you* need a hug!!

    @Mrs Hojo – I think I am back in the real world… trying to keep my head straight at the moment..

    @Scm – you are weird but funny… the funky gibbon? What *is* that??!

    @Jen Hey pooky šŸ™‚ Things OK for you this week? xx

Leave a Reply

