Skip to content

Girl Talk – Make uppy obsesseddness

May 30, 2009
by

Nicked from over at Glowstars….

I love make up – I suspect I am not alone when I confess to buying make up, hoarding it and never using it and then looking at it 5 years later wondering a) why I bought it and b) if it’s gross to try it when it’s 48 months out of date.

I read this post and it ignited my desire to purchase ‘Up’ of the Make variety and I thought better than spending hours surfing the interwebs wishing I could buy things, adding them to my basket knowing I will never press checkout…. I thought I would take part in this post and share with you the absolute delights of my makeupical adornments … ahem.

So – day to day make up – I have a preference for Benefit & Clinique. I do have incredibly sensitive skin – it either falls off in an abundance of dry sheets like crap wallpapering removing itself from the wall or I break out in zitinis that take days and days to clear up because I am a picker…

I found about 8-10 years ago after trying a-l-o-t of different products that these two just seem to suit my skin. I cleanse every day with this

Rinse off Facial Cleanser

This leaves your face with an amazing clean feeling but without making you feel squeaky – I use it every day and it’s fab – because although pricey for what it appears to be you *do* really only have to use about a pea sized amount every day so it lasts for ages.. No I am not selling it.

Then I use this set – and specifically I use the middle product and then the Moisturising Gel versus the lotion on the left of the bottom picture.

3step_hdr

The gel was recommended to me because at the time I was really suffering with break outs following the birth of my gorgeous Number 1 Swirly. She was about 6 months old and my skin would just not calm down.

step3_prod_v2

I had always used lotions and oil based stuff and this gel is water based (as far as I know?!) anyway – it’s fab. Smooth and lasts forever! F-o-r-e-v-e-r! I have only just finished my second bottle of it and that’s about 4 years ago? It’s doesn’t go ooky because it’s pump action – it’s just fab.

Make up? Well.

Are ya comfy? Are ya?

I have an.awful.lot of it.

So – I have chosen a few key bits – probably the bits I use the most e.g. daytime make up because I never go out at night. But that’s another post.

Hummmm.

SO!

51Tddl61SKL._SL500_

I use the yellow tab on the right on my eyelids if I’m going to wear eyeshadow. It’s great. It’s called Lemon Aid and it’s kind of like a lift for your eye lids – evens out the colour – and it helps your shadow stay in place too.

This is a handbag touch up kit which I used to take with me out of habit – everywhere… but it has started to run out now and it’s been relegated to the make up drawer in my bedroom. No doubt it’ll never get properly finished…
I use High Beam on my cheeks, eyelids and a few highlight points

High Beam and underneath it I use either Benetint or Posie Tint depending on whether it’s an evening out (like never) or daytime make uppy.

Benetint

Posie Tint

The combination of the two just gives you this highlit, sheen but glow-like sheen. It’s easy make up – it takes about 30 seconds which is cool for me and it all comes out of 2 bottles! What could be better?!

I think mascara is one of the hardest things ever. I am always tempted by adverts about longer lashes – movie lashes – double identity crime solving lashes but I have to be honest – I don’t think I’ve ever found one that doesn’t clump or make me look like I have applied it whilst sleeping unless I perform my mascara ritual.

I have to scrape all visibly existing mascara off the brush on the side of the tube and then wipe the brush on a piece of kitchen towel before I am satisfied that all clumpiness and general gookiness has gone.

Then – and only then – will I apply my mascara whilst looking into a mirror practically under my chin and desperately trying (usually in vain) not to get mascara on my eyelid.

It’s a make uppy pain in the arse.

Volume Mascara

This is currently my mascara of choice.

NEVER on the bottom lashes because that makes me look like I stole my mum’s make up bag aged 3 months – and have not yet mastered the use of my opposable thumbs.

Other products of choice depending on how much choice I have?

410SIypvsbL._SL500_ This stuff is great – it’s an eye brightener concealer type affair. I put it on in the morning in the bathroom after a shower if I remember…. it definitely does make a difference it’s just that I don’t necessarily *care* on a daily basis 🙂

Erase Paste I really want some of this stuff – I am possibly coming across a little obsessed with eye concealers…

Oh and I forgot this…

Browzings This is my eyebrow kit – it’s a paste and a powder – the combo works really well and stays put on a night out and the powder alone stays put all day … just the right colour for my dark hair….

So – what’s your make up routine? Are you an all day every day kinda gal? I remember  a mate of mine that used to get up in the morning before her boyfriend woke up and apply a full face because she was petrified what he’d think of her without it… Another friend that I actually thought was ill one day when she came into work without make up – I had never seen her without it and she looked poorly!!

I have others that don’t wear it at all – and know more ladies like myself that only wear it every other day… what about you?

Thanks to Vic for the post 🙂


5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mancais permalink
    May 30, 2009 10:07 pm

    I reckon the best thing for cleaning my face is acqueos(?sp) cream and it’s dirt cheap. Can us it to moisturise too but that’ mainly in the winter. Nivea rules for buying ‘proper’ moisturiser.

  2. May 30, 2009 11:52 pm

    For some reason this panics me

  3. June 1, 2009 9:52 am

    Surely if you’ve never opened/used it, it doesn’t matter that it’s 48 months old. I thought that little pot symbol on the back only counted from when you opened it?!
    I tried the whole clinique three step thing once (oh, for the wonderful freebies you can get!). I have to admit, I wasn’t overly impressed, although was taken by the gel moisturiser. At the end of the day though, I’m just too cheap to shell out for it!
    I should’ve done face washing on mine too – but that’s quick – I swear by Avon’s clearskin professional stuff – even the zitty breakouts have gotten better since I’ve been using it!

  4. June 1, 2009 7:39 pm

    @Moobs – I laughed so hard then a little bit of wee came out 🙂

    Does *that* panic you? 😉 ha ha ha heee

  5. June 2, 2009 4:18 pm

    Ooh, I like this post and shall have to do it myself when I get a moment! I love Benefit products too — used Clinique years ago, but it broke me out!

Leave a Reply

