Skip to content

news

June 5, 2009
by

Argh……..!!!!

I am going mad waiting for some news – I hate waiting for things.

Particularly as I’m pretty sure that it won’t be what I want to hear – but still

Just tell me!!

In other news…

Ella has stated a preference for not wearing any kind of pull ups at night…. so in true mothering of my stylee we have begun a countdown.

Rowan counted down to New Year this year to lose pull ups at night … Ella is counting down to three.

When I’m three I’m never wearing no pants at all!

She did her cute little swish and eye roll with it which just makes my heart melt šŸ™‚ awww

So …. yet another toe shuffle towards my babies not being babies…. blink and you miss it moments.

In *more* other news …. um…. we have another child’s party to go to tomorrow … I have to say we may have to start limiting the amount that we go to because I don’t know if my purse can stand it, man! Every bloody week, some child is aging and my bank balance is going down!

By the time it gets to my kids’ birthdays I won’t have any fucking money left!

So – what is the etiquette on these things? How much money to we spend on other people’s children when we don’t really know them? What kind of thing do we have to get them? Is a present necessary? Or is a voucher rude? Is it bad Wacky Warehouse manners to turn up without a gift..!!? Is it our presence that matters or our presents?

What do you guys do? Do you take stuff? Take nothing? Take cheap or take vouchers?

I always think that the problem with vouchers is that you feel compelled to spend more money than you would if you bought an *actual* item because your purse prowess – or lack thereof – is clearly laid bare for all to see. I may spend a fiver on crap for your kid but if I get a voucher surely I have to give you ten?

Ten quid for the privilege of *not* having to blunder into town and close my eyes before I twirl my finger round and stab-choose some shite off the shelf in Early Learning Centre?

Or five quid on some shite off the shelf in the Early Learning Centre…?

It turns out? I’m not even any good at my *own* logic – I rushed into ELC and still paid ten quid for some shit that I took the time to go and choose off the shelf… although to be fair – I did just walk in at 5.27pm and say – what crap for about a tenner can you point me at for a 4yr old’s birthday party tomorrow morning at 1o and sell to me really quick so that I can get back to work?

It turns out the ladies at ELC are pretty use to this approach and replied – we have this shit – this shit – this crap here or this crap over there – all seem to go down well with 4 yr olds – take your pick and have a nice day now – thanks for your tenner madam….

So – In other news? A child is aging tomorrow and we’re going to go and watch our kids dangle off roap ladders, slide down stuff and bounce off padded foam things wrapped in primary coloured plastic for 2 hours followed by chicken nuggets and cake at about 11 in the morning…

It all makes perfect sense to me ….

šŸ™‚

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Merry permalink
    June 5, 2009 10:03 pm

    Orrr…… you give your sister a small budget and she sends you a selection of items to keep in your cupboard ready to wrap for any party.

    What news was it? Was it me? if so, it was no.

  2. June 5, 2009 10:11 pm

    I bulk buy crap pressies in the sales when I can pick up 3 things for a tenner and such like, I buy unisex things and stuff them on a shelf in the cupboard under the stairs and when ever parties and the such like arise I just grab one, stick it in a gift bag and run out the door, job done!!

  3. June 5, 2009 10:20 pm

    um – sis! Yes I will take you up on that offer please! By the way…! Did anyone know that my sister has an amazing online toy shop at playmerrily.co.uk ? No? You should go look!

    And I am always waiting for your news… I presume you will tell me when you know?

    @PT – I think your idea is the way I’m gonna go… I do stock wrapping paper and cards but not presents… I think it’s the way forward..!

  4. Mancais permalink
    June 5, 2009 10:59 pm

    Times like this I’m glad I don’t have kids.
    Can you get away with no gift and blame it on the recession?

  5. June 6, 2009 2:09 am

    Yikes, under a fiver definately as you have to add cheap card and wrap, tissue paper bulk is cheap. Bags of marbles, toy plastic animals, cheapo craft stuff from those cheapie book type stores the name of which I forget, never elc coz they are pricey! or yes, use Merry as she has a few ‘meercat, sitting’ that may work, snigger.
    It is a kids party, the parents invite billions of kids so their precious numpty feels important, save the better gifts for when they actually make friends for good reasons and then use a pretty bag stuffed with tissue paper to look smarter.
    just my opinion after many years of suffering kids party syndrome ;o)
    xc

  6. Merry permalink
    June 6, 2009 5:23 pm

    Oh you, know, i have blog bling for you now – do you want it?

  7. June 7, 2009 9:23 am

    Supermarkets are great (especially as I can’t ever be arsed to drive out to the nearest toy shop). Watch out for sales and special offers and stock up on crap then.

  8. Merry permalink
    June 7, 2009 1:04 pm

    My bling looks lovely – thank you – will let you know when it gets its first sale šŸ™‚
    Now, get back to work šŸ˜‰

  9. June 10, 2009 9:28 am

    I have a budget of Ā£3-5 maybe slightly more if it’s one of the munchkin’s special friends, there’s just too many now she’s at nursery. I’ll have a glance at the toys/stationary aisle in Sainsburys once a month or so and pick up anything that’s on offer that I think will work for someone. I currently have 3 little sets for girls (Disney Proncess stationary) and some pirate Playmobil stashed away in the spare room… oddly we’ve had 3 months with no parties since I bought them!

Leave a Reply

