Skip to content

Memey memey meeeeeeeem

June 29, 2009
by

Stole this from over at Jen’s place – if you know her, you’ll know where…

Have a go – go on – you know you want to!

Step 1: Put your music player on shuffle.
Step 2: Post the first line from the first 20 songs that play, no matter how embarrassing.
Step 3: Bold Strike out the songs when someone guesses both artist and track correctly.
Step 4: Looking them up on Google or any other search engine is CHEATING!
Step 5: If you like the game, post it!

1. Mmmmmm…..Β  L.A. …..Β  Proved too much for the man. Tilly & Jen Gladys Night Midnight Train to Georgia

2. There is a man that lived next door in my neighbourhood Tilly Massive Attack Man Next Door

3. Sometimes.. The river flows but nothing breathes. A train arrives but never leaves SCM M People Hero or whatever it’s called

4. How could I fall for someone so superficial?

5. All the time I waited here for you. All the time I stood here holding dandelions and chocolate for you.

6. All these bruises they keep me awake.

7. I saw a rainbow just earlier today, lately those rainbows been coming round like every day

8. So at my show on Monday I was hoping someday BN The Kooks She Moves in her Own Way

9. We got it together didn’t we. We definitely got our thang together didn’t we BN Barry White You’re the First

10. A long, long time ago I can still remember By Emma – Madonna American Pie

11. When the time gets right, I’m gonna pick you up

12. Every time she sees she says she wants, every time she wants I see she gets BN Loudon Wainwright Daughter

13. If you gave me just a coin for every time we say goodbye

14. No I would not give you false hope on this strange and mournful day Tilly Paul Simon Mother & Child Reunion

15. Static tone on the phone I’ll be breaking again Jen Girls Aloud Call the Shots

16. I told the devil and the deep blue sea to hide, I thought you were after them, I was right

17. Stop the rock

18. Locked in a cell for your very last breath – how can it be that this is your death

19. Hi my name is Stereo Mike BN Bran Van 3000 Drinking in L.A.

20. Very superstitious, writing’s on the wall By Emma Stevie Wonder Superstitious

17 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2009 7:26 pm

    10 is American Pie by Don McLean and 20 is Stevie Wonder Very Superstitious.

    And that should tell you that apparently I listen to music older than I since that is all that I know.

  2. June 29, 2009 7:39 pm

    @Emma – I’ll give you that! Mine was actually the Madonna version. But I can hardly say no! Seeing as it’s the same words!

    And yes it is Stevie Wonder – bit of a give away in the first line! lol

  3. June 29, 2009 7:39 pm

    ps – If you like oldies there’s a couple more in there for you as well!

  4. June 29, 2009 7:46 pm

    no 8 is The Kooks She moves in her own way
    no 9 is Barry White you’re my first, my last, my everything???
    no 12 is Louden Wainwright (Jr)? daughter

    no’s 17 & 19 are driving me mad as I type this.

  5. June 29, 2009 7:48 pm

    ah ha ha, no 19 is van bran 3000 or bran van I dont know (possibly 2000 but I think 3000) and its drinking in LA

    How’d you like them apples?! πŸ™‚

  6. June 29, 2009 8:03 pm

    Yup I’ll give you those. Near enough… I like them apples OK – but don’t get too smart till you get ’em all big boy! πŸ˜‰

  7. June 30, 2009 10:08 am

    I was quite impressed when I managed to get one on Jen’s. Yours is a nightmare though! No hope for me.
    Toying with the idea of doing one myself – but maybe it’s too cruel with all the Brasilian songs I have on there.

  8. Mancais permalink
    June 30, 2009 6:16 pm

    1 – surely this is about Wacko?
    3 – M People – Search for the hero (or whatever it is really called)

  9. Tilly permalink
    July 1, 2009 6:24 pm

    1. Gladys Knight and the Pips – Midnight train to Georgia.
    2. Massive Attack – Man Next Door
    14. Paul Simon – Mother and Child Reunion

  10. July 1, 2009 7:55 pm

    They’re pretty depressing lyrics in general though. Buy some Beach Boys πŸ™‚

    PS – are you coming to the BLog BQ?

  11. Tilly permalink
    July 2, 2009 4:57 pm

    Oh and PS can I have the password?

  12. July 5, 2009 12:23 pm

    should I beworried that I don;t recognise ANY of them?????? 😦

  13. July 7, 2009 8:57 am

    @Tilly – and me too please.

  14. Suburban Mum permalink
    July 8, 2009 6:16 pm

    15 is Call the Shots by Girls Aloud?

  15. Suburban Mum permalink
    July 8, 2009 6:22 pm

    Ooh and No1 is Gladys Knight, Midnight Train to Georgia!!!!!

  16. July 10, 2009 10:23 pm

    the passworded post is only the answers to the quiz lol – couldn’t think of anywhere else to put ’em πŸ™‚

    hee

    @moobs I don’t think I can come to BQ – because of money really – I just don’t have the dosh 😦 sorry xx

  17. Mancais permalink
    July 12, 2009 8:58 am

    All of them? Or am I missing something?

Leave a Reply

