Skip to content

Oh! The Swine!

July 7, 2009
by

Where have I been?

The answer? Lots of places.

I have been off the radar while I enjoyed my first ever hen do…. yes even though I am married – I didn’t have one so this was my first ever.

I went away for the weekend to Centre Parcs in Sherwood Forest for 3 nights and 4 days of childless bliss with 5 other women – 4 of whom I’d never met – this was the part when the important women from different parts of Sam’s life came together to meet up and make her feel special for a few days and I have to say?

I really really enjoyed it.

I was relaxed even though I can generally be quite nervous meeting new people socially – they were all really lovely people and very similar to me. One of them I shall call Fuzzy – her birthday is tomorrow – mine is Thursday – and if ever there were proof needed that there’s possibly something in star signs then we would surely be it.

I have never met anyone so scarily similar – in good ways – to me … suffice it to say I can see why we are both friends of Sam’s and people that she has chosen whether consciously or otherwise – because if she were gay and we were exs? You would say she absoutely had a type.

I met Goddy – a lovely mum of two boys. Very very funny and down to earth. Owns a restaurant. So sweet and thoughtful and a real giggle.

Tipper – A nickname for her that is only because she reminded me so much of someone I used to know. Very lovely lady – again very generous and kind hearted. Funny and thoughtful. Like minded and easy to talk to.

And Teach. She had Swine Flu. She didn’t know she had obviously but was clearly unwell and has now been swabbed and confirmed as a legit case. She is a teacher (did you get that by the clever cryptic name I gave her?)  and apparently now 1/3 of her school have been made to stay at home.

I think I now have Swine Flu.

Started getting ill on Sunday morning. Very sore throat – generally tired and lethargic, aching and under the weather with upset stomach and queasiness. Loss of appetite. The only thing I don’t have is a temp. Sam and Fuzzy now have raging temps and have been signed off work and ordered to stay home. Spoke to my dcotor today under the advice of Fuzzy and Sam’s doctors simply because I have asthma and because we have the girls one of whom has asthma. He is happy with the way things are at the moment but we are under instruction to monitor the girls and contact them immediately should the kids show any symptoms. Ella had a temperture when I got home anyway and BN said that she hadn’t been for a poo for a couple of days and showed lack of appetite so I absolutely consider that unrelated in any way and we are just treating her with Calpol etc. and keeping an eye on her.

Good thing is because I felt shit? I went away for 4 days with 5 women and a lot of alcohol and bad food? And lost 3lbs.

Thank you Swines 🙂

We had a gorgeous executive lodge with ensuite bathrooms and wifi and dishwasher, sauna and patio and BBQ and lovely, lovely surroundings. I have never been to CP but I can definitely say that we will be going as a family.

I just loved it.

We did silly things like Line Dancing classes and Cheerleading and did Sing Star and Wii Cheer – but it was just so much fun! I laughed and relaxed and went to the spa and got sauna’d and steamed ….

We were all like minded people – so we all mucked in and cooked and cleaned and cleared and relaxed as much as each other so there was no stress or bickering or tutting or feeling bad that you weren’t doing enough or stepping on toes by doing too much.

Just loved it! Did I mention that?

I loved the fact that ducks wandered into our lounge and that a Swan brought her babies to see us hoping for bread – that squirrels were sat on our patio table and that a hedgehog was scurrying about his business with us nearby. Rabbits and moorhens… I loved nature and I know they’re bordering on the sceptical side of wild but still – I can’t find anything to complain about.

The girls had a great weekend with their Dad and looked thoroughly happy to see me but not stressed about where I’d been. I didn’t forget them whilst I was away – I didn’t pine though – I took full advantage of it knowing that it was a great opportuntity to relax and I shouldn’t wish it away missing them – I knew they were safe and well so what’s to feel bad about? I did at one point see two dark haired similar aged girls fast asleep in a pushchair and my heart panged a touch – but not enough to make me wish I wasn’t there….

So – in other news

BN has a job interview on Thursday morning – my birthday – so we’re hoping that’s a good sign! Maybe it’s fate or destiny or whatever and it’s dipping its hand in to throw us a bone – and we have had a letter to say that next door have applied for planning again to turn the pub into two flats and a new dwelling.

I would never oppose this this time around. It would solve our damp problem – our cold problem and the value of the house. I hope it goes ahead. Fingers crossed everyone please!!!!!

Last news

Rowan read her first word. Apart from her name and Ella’s name and Daddy etc.

We were spelling some words on her magnetic letter board – and picked Cat and Dog. She was getting the hang of it – and we were rhyming and sounding them out. She wiped them letters off her magnetic board and tried spelling CAT by herself. She accidentally picked up an O instead of an A and looked at it and said Ooh! Cuh – Oh – Teh – That must say COT!

That’s her first proper lone-read word! Yay!

§§§§§§§§§

Right – I feel shite and I’m going away tomorrow to my mate’s house for a couple of days so I am off to sleep a bit more – I shall leave you with some pictures…

The gang

Dining area

IMG00269-20090703-1412.jpg

IMG00272-20090703-1412.jpg

Wabbit!

Duckling!

Goddy and Sam

Fuzzy

IMG00300-20090705-1931.jpg

Swans

Cat dog

Cot

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2009 9:38 am

    Am quite disappointed that there are no photos of you! Hope you’re feeling better soon.

  2. Merry permalink
    July 8, 2009 2:51 pm

    Eeeek!

  3. July 8, 2009 10:21 pm

    Where are the pics of you? ….. I hope you feel better soon Xxx

  4. Mancais permalink
    July 9, 2009 9:14 pm

    No pics of you?
    Glad you had such a good time.
    Hope you recover soon x

Leave a Reply

