Skip to content

Thief…

July 30, 2009
by

.flickr-photo { border: solid 2px #000000; }
.flickr-yourcomment { }
.flickr-frame { text-align: left; padding: 3px; }
.flickr-caption { font-size: 0.8em; margin-top: 0px; }



Cakes!!, originally uploaded by Mrs BN.

We made cakes yesterday – I got home from work and wanted to spend a little quality time with the girls.. it’s also great for them to have little treats for pudding and much, much cheaper than buying them!

The Swirlies helped make the cakes and then naturally after dinner, they got to sample their handiwork 🙂

I was in such a good mood I even let them have two!

They wanted another one. ANOTHER one! I was all ‘Girls! Dudes… you have had TWO cakes. Two..! Two is plenty and three is too many… no more cake tonight …’

Before bed – they got to watch a little TV and while Rowan was on my lap, at some point Ella claimed toilet visiting requirements and wandered off on her own. My parental radar did in fact kick in a few minutes later when I realised she was very quiet. That weird kind of quiet noise that kids only make when they’re busy being quiet on purpose. I can’t quite remember if I called her or if I got BN to call out to her, but one of us did and she answered that she was fine and she was going upstairs to the loo.

I half moved on in my brain and bedtime rituals began. Toilets, washes, teeth and jj’s.

I went down to the kitchen for something or other and called BN in to witness the naughtiness.

A quiet little mouse nibbled at some cakes before it went about its business. Not just one cake… but two cakes!

I wonder who that little mouse could have been….?

To her credit, when I went upstairs and asked her if there was anything she wanted to say? She said sorry straight away. I asked her why and she looked up at me with her cheeky little twinkle in her eye and said…

‘Because I ate the cake’

She looked kinda pleased with herself I have to say… like it was one for the grandkids and totally worth it!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2009 9:13 pm

    They’re very clever if they did all that baking – I’m impressed.
    Talent like that excuses the odd nibble here and there.

  2. July 30, 2009 11:08 pm

    At least she’s honest! Like when my little one wants to get out of the shopping cart when we’re at the grocery store and I say, are you going to be naughty? He’ll look up at me, smile and say “yeah!”

  3. Merry permalink
    July 31, 2009 8:43 am

    Oooooh ho hoooooo!!!!!!!!

  4. July 31, 2009 2:08 pm

    That is the cutest! And as Karen said, at least she was honest about it.

  5. August 1, 2009 1:15 pm

    Sweet! At least she likes her own cooking- unlike me…

Leave a Reply

